LibGuides: College of Arts and Letters (OER Hub): HIST 2020: Modern US

OER Materials for Modern U. S. History

The American Yawp Vol. II: Since 1877 by Joseph L. Locke, Ben Wright
Publication Date: 2019
In an increasingly digital world in which pedagogical trends are de-emphasizing rote learning and professors are increasingly turning toward active-learning exercises, scholars are fleeing traditional textbooks. Yet for those that still yearn for the safe tether of a synthetic text, as either narrative backbone or occasional reference material, The American Yawp offers a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses. Unchecked by profit motives or business models, and free from for-profit educational organizations, The American Yawp is by scholars, for scholars. All contributors—experienced college-level instructors—volunteer their expertise to help democratize the American past for twenty-first century classrooms.

Sage American History: A Survey of America's Past by Henry J. Sage
This text is provided to you as an Open Educational Resource (OER) which you access online. It is designed to give you a comprehensive introduction to public relations at no or very nominal cost. It contains both written and graphic text material, intra-text links to other internal material which may aid in understanding topics and concepts, intra-text links to the appendices and glossary for tables and definitions of words, and extra-text links to videos and web material that clarifies and augments topics and concepts.

U. S. History by Openstax
U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses while providing instructors the flexibility to customize curriculum for their students' unique needs. The OpenStax approach provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experiences). Complete with primary resources, historical timelines, and profiles of both historians and ordinary people who lived through historical events, the OpenStax K12 approach is designed to deepen student's understanding by covering the key forces that have shaped the American experience, with a heightened focus on issues impacting current events.

American History from Reconstruction to the Present by Caitlin Cooper, Jay Precht, Jennifer Lang, John M. Lund, Kevin McQueeney, Patrick Gibbens, Paul Vickery, P. Scott Corbett, Todd Pfannestiel, Volker Janssen,
Publication Date: 01/14/2023
American History from Reconstruction to the Present and its accompanying course materials were adapted from the 2019 edition of OpenStax’s U.S. History, from Rice University.

The Dynamics of Racial Progress by Antoine L. Joseph
ISBN: 9780765612717
Publication Date: 2005-06-30
Race relations in the United States have long been volatile - marked on the one hand by distrust and violence, but tempered on the other by periods of conciliation, integration and relative harmony. This path-breaking blend of history, sociology, political science and economics argues that the key factor determining the quality of race relations is economic: When economic equality spreads so do social and political equality. Conversely, economic downturns and widening income disparities promote political inequality, polarizing blacks and whites. To support this provocative thesis the author examines key events and eras in American history since the Reconstruction - particularly the black migration and the New Deal policies of the interwar years, the civil rights movement of the 1950s and 60s, and the rise and decline of affirmative action in the late twentieth century. He also analyzes the racial policies and politics of the major political parties and shows how they "played the race card" to win support.
Speaking History by Laurie Mercier; Sue Armitage
ISBN: 9781403977823
Publication Date: 2010-02-12
This oral history reader, designed to supplement texts on the second half of the U.S. history survey, features the words of ordinary people who describe how they shaped, viewed, and remembered American history.

Journal Of American History by Organization of American Historians
The Journal of American History is the leading scholarly publication and the journal of record in American history. Published four times a year by the Organization of American Historians, the JAH publishes scholarly articles, interchanges, states-of-the-field, and the OAH’s annual presidential address, as well as reviews of books, digital history and public history projects, and films. The Journal also publishes special issues dedicated to important topics in American history. Recent special issues include “Historians and the Carceral State” and “Immigration Restriction Then and Now: Re-Examining the Impact and Legacy of the 1921 and 1924 Immigration Acts.”
Modern American History by Cambridge: Cambridge University Press
Modern American History (MAH) showcases top-quality, emerging research on the history of the United States since the 1890s. Aiming to stimulate debate and make meaningful connections between the subfields of this vibrant and expansive field, the journal publishes compelling peer-reviewed articles as well as substantial review essays, forums, and other special features.
Journal of American Ethnic History by Editor: Suzanne Sinke
The Journal of American Ethnic History (JAEH) addresses various aspects of North American immigration history and American ethnic history, including background of emigration, ethnic and racial groups, Native Americans, race and ethnic relations, immigration policies, and the processes of incorporation, integration, and acculturation. Each issue contains articles, review essays, and single book reviews. The Journal also features occasional scholarly forums, "Research Comments" (short essays that furnish important information for the field, a guide to further research, or other significant historical items that will stimulate discussion and inquiry), and "Teaching and Outreach" essays which focus on innovative teaching methods or outreach efforts. The journal also publishes special issues grouping articles and essays on particular or specific topics or themes.

Description: The Cold War, Prohibition, the Gold Rush, the Space Race. Every part of your life - the words you speak, the ideas you share - can be traced to our history, but how well do you really know the stories that made America? We'll take you to the events, the times and the people that shaped our nation. And we'll show you how our history affected them, their families and affects you today. Hosted by Lindsay Graham (not the Senator). From Wondery, the network behind American Scandal, Tides of History, American Innovations and more.

Description: Though American history is relatively short when compared to other nations, it is still packed with so much information and valuable stories! From George Washington to Joe Bide, below are a collection of American history podcasts that cover the politics, military, and societal changes that America has undergone. Some focus exclusively on American History, while others are broader but still have episodes that deal with significant US events. We have everything from the revolution to the cold war and the space race!

Description:This week in history: June 8-14: Serena Williams wins her first French Open singles; Holy Roman Emperor Frederick I drowns in the Saleph River; Mount Pinatubo explosions; historic meeting North and South Korea; 1st transport of prisoners to Auschwitz.

The video above is provided through Alexander Street and is available to students through a subscription provided by Woodward Library. A search for modern history results in access to thousands of videos with captions included. Students will need to authenticate with their library username and password when accessing these titles off-campus. A new tool from ASP called Video Interaction Functionality is now available to faculty members. This functionality promotes student engagement by allowing professors to embed assessment and pedagogical tools within the videos.

History (U.S.) Research Guide
by Gina Nigro Last Updated Sep 26, 2024 1561 views this year
History Collection Development Guidelines
by Gina Nigro Last Updated Dec 4, 2023 24 views this year

Description: As Donald Trump takes office as the forty-fifth president of the United States, this course explores presidential elections in historical perspective, via five case studies. It tells the story of key campaigns in US history, and by doing so it investigates how politics changed over time—and how understanding the past sheds light on the current campaign. From the arrival of "dirty politics" to the impact of the "digital revolution," the course looks at the historical background to some of the key phenomena that shaped the controversy-laden campaign of 2016.

African History and Culture, 1540-1921 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History of Africa and its diverse people over nearly 400 years
*More than 1,300 books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera
*Compiled by the curators of the extraordinary Afro-Americana Imprints collection
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. history
*lists citations and full text for journal articles and books

*covers United States and Canadian historical events from prehistory to the present

*covers items published from 1910 to present
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video
*provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history

*It contains commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

*Videos in this collection can be embedded in D2L course content