Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Simultaneously Search OER Repositories
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
The Mason OER Metafinder from The Mason Publishing Group at George Mason University Libraries is a powerful search tool that allows users to search record metadata from seventeen digital libraries and repositories, including the Digital Public Library of America, OER Commons, and AMSER-Applied Math and Science Education Repository.
Resources for Finding Open Textbooks and Free Teaching Materials
Most Open Educational Resources have Creative Commons licenses, which allow you to use the content freely. However, there may be some with additional types of restrictions, such as attribution credit requirements or no modification stipulations.
BC Campus Open Ed
Search for OER on various topics and read faculty reviews.
Free textbook downloads available (provided by sponsors)
Boundless (Lumen Learning)
This catalog contains educational content originally curated by Boundless.
Cool4Ed Course Showcase
Look up materials by course number for selected courses used across the CSU, UC and CCC systems.
eCampusOntario Open Library
Launched in 2017, the eCampusOntario Open Library curates more than 500 open-access educational resources for post-secondary educators and learners. A range of subjects are represented in the library.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials
A faculty-curated list of open textbooks from the University of Georgia.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
The HumBox Project
The HumBox is a new way of storing, managing and publishing your Humanities teaching resources on the web. Share handouts, exercises, podcasts and other materials. The HumBox website was created by the HumBox project. This project was part of a wider Open Educational Resources initiative funded by the JISC (Joint Information Systems Committee) and the HEA, to showcase UK Higher Education by encouraging teachers within HE institutions to publish excellent teaching and learning resources openly on the web.
Scientific publisher of Open Access books. Read, share and download more than
3350 peer-reviewed Open Access books
The LibreTexts libraries are a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts for STEM, Social Sciences, and the Humanities.
Lumen Learning Courses
All Lumen-supported course materials are publicly available through the catalog on our website. Anyone can access and use this content freely. In fact, many faculty members replace traditional textbooks by simply linking to the website. For a modest, $25 course support fee that replaces the cost of expensive textbooks, we provide support services designed to make using OER simple, reliable and more effective at supporting learning for students and faculty.
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Milne Open Textbooks
Formerly titled Open SUNY Textbooks, this is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.
An OCW Educator search on this site helps education professionals navigate the vast library of openly licensed MIT teaching materials available on MIT OpenCourseWare. Explore Instructor Insights to discover how MIT instructors teach with these materials on campus, and freely select and adapt their explanations, examples, and simulations to help concepts come to life in your own classroom. It contains materials from over 2500 courses.
National Academies Press
Many free read-online or free PDF download options.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Topics include: Education, Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Applied Sciences & Technology, Mathematics & Statistics
Find a meta list of 200 Free Textbooks, and check back often for new additions.
Open Geography Education
Instructors and professors of geography and related disciplines will want to take advantage of the resources made available by Open Geography Education, a website "dedicated to providing free, open curriculum and resources to anybody who is interested in our geographic world."
Free content from the Open University (UK).
OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.
Open Educational Resources Network's goal is to provide easy pathways for faculty to learn, find, use and apply OER.
Open Yale Courses
Open Yale Courses (OYC) provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge via the Internet. The courses span the full range of liberal arts disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences. Many course materials and videos are available to download. The license that covers most of the lectures and other course material on Open Yale Courses is Creative Commons' Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 license. This license permits the free use or re-purposing of the Open Yale Courses material by others.
This directory provides an index of 2,590 books published across 99 Pressbooks networks. It allows you to search by subject, type of license, and many other filters.
PRIMO is a means to promote and share peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments. The Committee hopes that publicizing selective, high quality resources will help librarians to respond to the educational challenges posed by still emerging digital technologies.
Collection of PDF versions of textbooks on various topics. HTML versions are also available.
TED Ed: Lessons Worth Sharing
Build a lesson around any TED-Ed Original, TED Talk or YouTube video
Tennessee Open Education Hub
The Tennessee Open Education Hub brings together the intellectual and creative power of faculty throughout the state, providing a place to build and share resources with the common goal of improving student learning outcomes.
Top Hat OER Marketplace
Search over 2500 interactive textbooks, question packs, presentations more. Many of these are free or low cost for students
Search for Free OER Materials Related to your Textbook
Find FREE Online Course Materials Related to a Book
Search from MERLOT
Use the ISBN of Your Current Textbook to Find Free Alternatives and supplementary materials
Try 9780077354763 as an example to search for the chemistry textbook shown below.
Publication Date: 2010-01-14
Contact For More Information