A new, online version of the ACS Style Guide for reference formatting that also addresses best practices for scholarly communication in the science, technology, and math disciplines
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication is always up-to-date: digital-first, and updated and expanded biannually.
Given the rapidly changing publishing landscape, the new version of the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication will be a digital-first resource, with regular and timely updates. New topics will be added to (1) expand scientific communication beyond the scientific journal, including patents, communicating science to the public, and communicating science to decision-makers; (2) expand data conventions beyond chemistry; and (3) broaden our reach beyond ethics in scientific publications to ethics in scientific research.
Now in a digital-first format, the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication. It contains:
*New content to help authors navigate modern challenges in publishing
*A library of real-world examples to help users create engaging tables, charts, and references
*A multidisciplinary author and editor team to ensure the needs of the student, the library, the education, the investigator, and even the corporate reader are supported
*Always up-to-date with digital format
*Video best practices for authoring scholarly communication, brought to life through annotated published examples
With over 1.3 million digital downloads of the current edition, the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication is recognized as the most comprehensive and authoritative guide to best practices for scientists across the STM disciplines.
Health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis
The database aggregates open content from ProQuest with content made freely availableby members of the International Association of STM Publishers. Notable publishers contributing to the Coronavirus Research Database include Public Library of Science, BioMed Central, MDPI AG, Springer Nature Publisher Group, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ. Preprint servers include arXiv.org and BioRxiv.
Streaming access to over 10 million music tracks from a wide variety of genres and locations across the world
Music Online: Listening combines all the Alexander Street Press streaming music resources: This includes the following resources: American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
Music Online: Listening provides coverage in breadth and depth across all the key musical genres:
Classical: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.
World: Music from 169 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups
American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.
Popular: Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.
Here is a sample of the acclaimed artists that feature in our recordings:
Classical: Glenn Gould, Placido Domingo, Maria Callas, Claudio Abbado, Olga Borodina, Ileana Cotrubas, Hilary Hahn, Thomas Hampson, Radu Lupu, Karita Mattila, Margaret Leng Tan, Kiri Te Kanawa, Mitsuko Uchida, Pinchas Zuckerman.
Jazz: Bing Crosby, Buddy Guy, Charlie Parker, Chuck Mangione, Dinah Washington, Diana Krall, Dixie Dregs, Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James, Sonny Rollins, Dizzy Gillespie, Thelonius Monk, Stan Getz.
World: Ali Jihad Racy, Adama Dramé, Carlos Do Carmo, Parisa, Tran Quang Haï, Katrien Delavier, Hussein El Masry, Rassegna, Oedo Sukeroku Taiko, El Son Entero, Simon Shaneem, I Wayan Sadra, and Fawzy Al-Aiedy.
American: Pete Seeger, Isaac Hayes, Al Jackson, Booker T. Jones, Robert Byrd, Memphis Slim, Otis Redding, BB King, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Sweet Honey in the Rock.
Popular: Gloria Gaynor, Lou Reed, Iggy Pop, Kool & The Gang, Edith Piaf, Rod Stewart, The Sex Pistols, A Flock of Seagulls, Tanya Tucker, Naughty by Nature, Wu-Tang Clan, Liberace.
Also contains unique, rare, and exclusive recordings:
EMI: Almost 50,000 recordings featuring labels such as Blue Note, Virgin Classics, Angel Records, Capitol Records, Chrysalis, and Narada.
Universal: Nearly 10,000 recordings featuring labels like Verve, Motown, A&M, Decca, Polygram, MCA, and Island Def Jam.
Smithsonian: More than 40,000 recordings available from the Smithsonian’s archives, including the entire output of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, Folkways Records, Cook Records, Dyer-Bennet Records, Fast Folk, Monitor Records, and Paredon Records.
Archives: Unique and previously unpublished recordings from important archives including the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress, the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University in South Africa, and the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE) in India.
Specially recorded: Exclusive audio recordings of hundreds of traditional American folk songs by acclaimed folklorist/folksinger Jerry Silverman.