Skip to main content

Mobile Databases: A to Z Mobile Databases

Mobile Databases, A-Z

American Chemical Society (ACS)

Access to abstracts of publications from the American Chemical Society (ACS). Full text access is only available through the RU wireless network.

Annual Reviews

Critical reviews of primary research in the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. First-time users must access this database through the APSU wireless network to allow device pairing with APSU's subscription.

ARTstor

Digital collection of over 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.  Android users will need to download the app.  Registration required for mobile access.

arXiv

E-prints in physics, mathematics, and computer science.

BioOne

Bioscience research journals covering subjects in biology, ecology, and environmental science. Full text access is available through the APSU wireless network. For remote access, pair your device with APSU's subscription.

BrowZine

View our top periodicals from your tablet! BrowZine is a browsable newsstand of the library’s top journals. Easily discover, read, and monitor the key journals in your field.  See instructions for Kindle Fire app.

DynaMed

Clinical reference tool providing evidence based medical information for doctors, nurses, and health professionals. Instructions for mobile access authentication.

Ebook Central (ebrary)

In the Ebook Central online Reader, users can download a book for offline reading on either their tablet or phone using the Bluefire Reader for mobile devices (freely available for iOS devices in the App Store and for Android devices in Google Play).  See instructions for eBook download.

EBSCO eBooks

Access thousands of eBooks in a variety of subject areas. Follow the on screen instructions within the app to authenticate and access subscribed APSU ebook titles. See instructions to download for Kindle devices

EBSCO databases and journal articles

Search for articles in over 50 EBSCOhost databases in a variety of subject areas, including Academic Search Premier, ERIC, CINAHL, Historical Abstracts, and many more. To use the app, access any EBSCOhost database via the APSU Libraries website and click the link at the bottom to email yourself the key to the app.  The EBSCO web interface should automatically switch to mobile when accessed from a mobile device (or it can be manually activated from a link at the bottom of the interface).

Gale AccessMyLibrary

Search periodicals and reference books available from many Gale databases in a variety of subjects, including Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, and more. Download the app, select Austin Peay State University from the list of schools, and enter your APSU email address to receive a password.

IOPscience Express

Search articles published in Institute of Physics (IOP) journals over the last two years. Download up to 20 articles per month.

iSSRN

Research papers in the social sciences and humanities available from the open access repository of the Social Science Research Network (SSRN).

JSTOR

​JSTOR’s interface automatically adapts to the screen size of a device without requiring a separate mobile URL or any device configuration. Just go directly to the link to the right on a smartphone or tablet, and the screen will adjust accordingly.

OvidToday

The Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins) is available for access on the iPad through an app called OvidToday.  Download the OvidToday app at the link above.  Tap “Let’s get started” and follow the on-screen instructions.  If you are using the APSU wireless network, the app should automatically recognize you.  Your first access will need to be from the APSU wireless network for authentication purposes.  If you don't have a Personal Account, OvidToday will prompt you to create one and provide easy-to-follow steps.

ProQuest

Search ProQuest databases in a variety of subject areas, including ABI/Inform , Tennessee Newspapers, and Dissertations & Theses.  The ProQuest interface will automatically optimize for any user tapping in from a phone or tablet.

PubMed

Citations and abstracts of articles in the biomedical and life sciences.

RefMobile

Mobile version of RefWorks, a Web-based bibliographic citation manager that allows you to import, organize, and store your references as well as automatically generate formatted citations and bibliographies. Create an account.

Safari Books

​ The mobile version of Safari Books Online offers all the features of the regular website, including full text of mobile-optimized e-books in computers, technology, business, and other subjects.

ScienceDirect

Abstracts and full text of scholarly literature in science, technology, and medicine.  Users of ScienceDirect accessing journal articles on a mobile device are now automatically directed to a dedicated site.

SciFinder

Citations to literature in chemistry and related fields.You must create or have an existing log-in on the SciFinder web version to be able to sign-in to the mobile version.

Springer online journals

Abstracts and full text of scholarly articles covering areas of science, technology and medicine. Full text access is only available through the APSU wireless network.

STAT!Ref medical and nursing eBooks

STAT!Ref Mobile app access takes STAT!Ref healthcare e-sources on the go.  Follow these instructions to activate your account for mobile access.

Taylor & Francis

Full text scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.  APSU has limited access to 45 subscription titles and around 100 open access titles. Taylor & Francis is a responsively designed website and will optimize for the device which you are using to view it.

WorldCat

Union catalog of library holdings worldwide.

Browse Library Journals on your iPad, iPhone, Kindle Fire, or Android tablet

Electronic Resources Librarian

EBSCOhost Mobile

All of the databases available through the popular EBSCOhost platform are available on your mobile device with the EBSCOhost app, including:

Academic Search Premier, ERIC, CINAHL, Historical Abstracts, and many more

To gain access to the EBSCOhost app, download the app below and then access any EBSCOhost database via the APSU Libraries website using your mobile device.  Click the "iPhone and Android apps"link at the bottom of the screen to email yourself the access key.

  EBSCOhost App for iPhoneEBSCOhost App for Android