Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access and Free eBook Collections
There are a number of open access and free ebook collections available online. Most provide limited views and some full-text content, usually books in the public domain.
Directory of Open Access Books
A directory of academic, peer reviewed open access books.
Contains free public domain eBooks that you can download in the EPUB format.
Previews and full-text of books. Full-text books are going to be books that are out of copyright, or books in which Google received permission from the publisher to reproduce.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. The Digital Library is a repository providing access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Internet Archive: Ebooks and Texts Archive
The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
JSTOR: Open Access eBooks
Hundreds of free ebooks from respected presses, such as University of California Press and University of Michigan Press
Open Bookshelf (SimplyE app for mobile devices)
Open Bookshelf is a digital library collection of popular books free to download, formatted for modern devices, and handpicked by a Curation Corps of librarians from across the US.
Primarily a large book catalog, it is a project of the Internet Archive. The interface connects you to scanned versions of books from the Internet Archive and connects you to other places to find the books in print.
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books that are out of copyright in the United States.
Must be a patron of a public library that belongs to the Tennessee Regional Library System
Universal Digital Library
Provides access eBooks in a number of different subject areas, languages, and formats.
Contact For More Information