LibGuides: College of Arts and Letters (OER Hub): HIST 2310: Early World

OER Materials for Early World History

World History by Eugene Berger, George L. Israel, Charlotte Miller, Brian Parkinson, Andrew Reeves, Nadejda Williams
World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 offers a comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. Authored by six USG faculty members with advance degrees in History, this textbook offers up-to-date original scholarship. It covers such cultures, states, and societies as Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Israel, Dynastic Egypt, India’s Classical Age, the Dynasties of China, Archaic Greece, the Roman Empire, Islam, Medieval Africa, the Americas, and the Khanates of Central Asia. It includes 350 high-quality images and maps, chronologies, and learning questions to help guide student learning. Its digital nature allows students to follow links to applicable sources and videos, expanding their educational experience beyond the textbook. It provides a new and free alternative to traditional textbooks, making World History an invaluable resource in our modern age of technology and advancement.

Listed on 26 syllabi at U.S. institutions according to Open Syllabus - OER Metrics as of 10/4/2023.

World History Volume 1: to 1500 by Ann Kordas, Ryan J. Lynch, Brooke Nelson
Publication Date: OpenStax
World History, Volume 1: to 1500 is designed to meet the scope and sequence of a world history course to 1500 offered at both two-year and four-year institutions. Suitable for both majors and non majors World History, Volume 1: to 1500 introduces students to a global perspective of history couched in an engaging narrative. Concepts and assessments help students think critically about the issues they encounter so they can broaden their perspective of global history. A special effort has been made to introduce and juxtapose people’s experiences of history for a rich and nuanced discussion. Primary source material represents the cultures being discussed from a firsthand perspective whenever possible. World History, Volume 1: to 1500 also includes the work of diverse and underrepresented scholars to ensure a full range of perspectives.

World History, Volume 2: from 1400 by Ann Kordas, Ryan J. Lynch, Brooke Nelson
Publication Date: 2022
World History, Volume 2: from 1400 is designed to meet the scope and sequence of a world history course from 1400 offered at both two-year and four-year institutions. Suitable for both majors and non majors World History, Volume 2: from 1400 introduces students to a global perspective of history couched in an engaging narrative. Concepts and assessments help students think critically about the issues they encounter so they can broaden their perspective of global history. A special effort has been made to introduce and juxtapose people’s experiences of history for a rich and nuanced discussion. Primary source material represents the cultures being discussed from a firsthand perspective whenever possible. World History, Volume 2: from 1400 also includes the work of diverse and underrepresented scholars to ensure a full range of perspectives.

Western Civilization in World History by Peter N. Stearns
Publication Date: 2003
Cases in Public Relations Strategy, by Burton St. John III, Diana K. Martinelli, Robert S. Pritchard, and Cylor Spaulding, draws on original, real-world case studies to provide you with a strategic approach to meeting the needs of a client before, during, and beyond a campaign. Using the RACE (Research, Action Planning, Communication, and Evaluation) model, you will explore successful contemporary campaigns and evaluate best practices in all major areas of public relations activity.
The Routledge Companion to World History since 1914 by Chris Cook, John Stevenson
Publication Date: 2005
The Routledge Companion to World History since 1914 is an outstanding compendium of facts and figures on World History. Fully up-to-date, reliable and clear, this volume is the indispensable source of information on a thorough range of topics such as: the Arab-Israeli conflict anti-semitism and the Holocaust all the world's major famines and natural disasters since 1914 whether all countries of the world have a king, president, prime minister or other governance GNP of the world's major states, year by year biographies of key figures civil rights movements the Vietnam War the rise of terrorism globalization. Thematically presented, the book covers topics relevant from the First World War to the Iraq war of 2003, and from post-colonial Africa to conflicts and movements in Southeast Asia.With maps, chronologies and full bibliography, this user-friendly reference work is the essential companion for students of history, politics and international relations, and for all those with an interest in world history.
21st-Century Narratives of World History by R. Charles Weller (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319620770
Publication Date: 2017-11-20
This book makes a unique and timely contribution to world/global historical studies and related fields. It places essential world historical frameworks by top scholars in the field today in clear, direct relation to and conversation with one other, offering them opportunity to enrich, elucidate and, at times, challenge one another. It thereby aims to: (1) offer world historians opportunity to critically reflect upon and refine their essential interpretational frameworks, (2) facilitate more effective and nuanced teaching and learning in and beyond the classroom, (3) provide accessible world historical contexts for specialized areas of historical as well as other fields of research in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, and (4) promote comparative historiographical critique which (a) helps identify continuing research questions for the field of world history in particular, as well as (b) further global peace and dialogue in relation to varying views of our ever-increasingly interconnected, interdependent, multicultural, and globalized world and its shared though diverse and sometimes contested history.
World History by Steven Wallech; Touraj Daryaee; Craig Hendricks; Anne Lynne Negus; Peter P. Wan; Gordon Morris Bakken
ISBN: 9781118532669
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
World History: A Concise Thematic Analysis presents the highly anticipated second edition of the most affordable and accessible survey of world history designed for use at the college level. An engaging narrative that contextualizes history and does not drown students in a sea of facts Offers a comparative analysis of the great civilizations of Eurasia, Africa, and the Americas Addresses themes of population dynamics, food production challenges, disease history, warfare, and other major issues for civilizations Features new interior design and organization to enhance user experience Instructor's test bank available online at www.wiley.com/go/wallech

Woodward Library has full-text electronic access to current issues of the following titles (in addition to many other journals and magazines).

Journal of World History by Matthew P. Romaniello
The Journal of World History publishes research into historical questions requiring the investigation of evidence on a global, comparative, cross-cultural, or transnational scale. It is devoted to the study of phenomena that transcend the boundaries of single states, regions, or cultures, such as large-scale population movements, long-distance trade, cross-cultural technology transfers, and the transnational spread of ideas. Individual subscription is by membership in the World History Association.
World History Connected by University of Illinois Press
World History Connected, an affiliate of the World History Association since 2003, serves as a means of creating community among all those devoted to research and teaching world history. Ideally, any work in world history can be made relevant in terms of both increasing our understanding of micro- and macro-historical process and also contributing to classroom instruction and curriculum development. Not every article in the journal is so “connected,” but it has been the almost universal experience of authors who have published in WHC that their efforts have been greatly enhanced in terms of communicating their ideas and broadening their own perspectives, whether in regard to their archivally-based research or teaching methodology. This is accomplished via a peer reviews process that treats all submissions with respect and seeks to assist them to reach the highest standards for accessible writing, referencing, and formatting: the journal never sends an author a one-line letter of rejection. Peer reviewers include past presidents of both the American Historical and World History Associations and master teachers at all levels of instruction. Articles appear in the journal as Guest edited “Forums” devoted to topics such as “The American West in World History,” derived open Calls for Papers or in a section devoted to individual articles. It publishes three time a year, in Fall, Winter and Spring under the auspices of George Mason University Press.

Description: Ten years on from the ground-breaking Radio 4 series, "A History of The World in 100 Objects", former director of the British Museum Neil MacGregor looks back at the impact of the series, on how storytelling in museums has changed over a turbulent decade and asks which object from 2020 would best encapsulate our modern age.

A History of the World in 100 Objects
Full Episode List: Director of the British Museum, Neil MacGregor, narrates 100 programmes that retell humanity's history through the objects we've made.

Description: From balancing chemical reactions to analyzing famous literature, never before has one collection offered such an awe-inspiring range of content. The video above is provided through Alexander Street and is available to students through a subscription provided by Woodward Library. A search for world history results in access to thousands of videos with captions included. Students will need to authenticate with their library username and password when accessing these titles off-campus. A new tool from ASP called Video Interaction Functionality is now available to faculty members. This functionality promotes student engagement by allowing professors to embed assessment and pedagogical tools within the videos.

Studying world history from a textbook can be challenging. There are too many different stories and too many different voices to incorporate them effectively into a single narrative. This video textbook is designed to give you different perspectives on some of the big topics, events, and themes in world history.
They can be paired with primary sources and historiographical debates to introduce students to the complexity of world history and to the importance of historical thinking.

History (World) Research Guide
by Gina Nigro Last Updated Sep 26, 2024 436 views this year
History Collection Development Guidelines
by Gina Nigro Last Updated Dec 4, 2023 24 views this year

World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World History since B.C.
*Formerly titled History Resource Center: World

*Contains approximately 100,000 pages of more than 1300 primary documents

*Contains nearly 100 scholarly full-text journals, as well as citations from 180 titles

*Covers world history from B.C. to the present

*Contains approximately 1400 images and maps
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video covering events from 8000 BCE to 1980s
*Includes many hours of streaming video

*Contains more than 1,750 critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide

*Users may browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields