Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

History Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The Department of History and Philosophy is dedicated to helping students learn about past events and ideas and develop skills in analytical thinking and expression in order to prepare students for success along a variety of academic and professional career paths, including education, public service, or postgraduate study in the humanities or social studies, or in applied fields such as law, religion, and business. 

Accrediting body:

N/A

Degrees offered:

B.A. in History, B.S. in History, B.S. in History Education, and M.A. in History

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support; (see description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • U.S. History
  • World History
  • Military History

Focus Areas:

  • Middle Eastern History
  • South Asian History
  • Prisoner of War Studies

Related Subject Areas:

  • Foreign Relations
  • Political Science
  • Military Science
  • Naval Science
  • Women and Gender Studies
  • African American Studies

Languages:

English

Geographical Emphasis:

World

Chronological Emphasis:

N/A

Noted Publishers:

American Historical AssociationUniversity of Georgia PressOxford University Press, and University of Alabama Press

Preferred Dates of Publication:

2005 - present

Types of Resources:

monographs, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, anthologies, videos; textbooks may be considered for information not readily obtainable elsewhere

Notes and Other Considerations:

N/A

Review Sources:

Choice Reviews OnlineResources for College Libraries

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
  General History  
C Auxiliary Sciences of History (General) 3
CB History of Civilization 3
CC Archeology (General) 0
CD 1-899 Diplomatics 0
CD 900-4999 Archives 0
CD 5000-6500 Seals 0
CE Technical Chronology 0
CJ Numismatics 0
CN Inscriptions 0
CR  Heraldry 0
CS Genealogy 0
CT Biography 2
D 1-24 History (General). Historiography 3
D 25-30 Military and Naval History 3
D 31-50 Political and Diplomatic History 3
D 51-100 Ancient History 3
D 101-110 Medieval and Modern History (General), 476 - 3
D 111-203 Medieval History 3
  Modern History  
D 204-219 General Works 3
D 220-241 1453-1648 3
D 242-250 1601-1715. 17th Century 3
D 251-272 Thirty Years War, 1618-1648 3
D 273-283 1648-1715 3
D 284-350 1715-1789. 18th Century 3
D 351-409 19th Century. 1801-1914/1920 3
D 410-500 20th Century 3
D 501-719 First World War (1914-1918) 3
D 720-730 Inter-War Period (1919-1939) 3
D 731-823 Second World War (1939-1945) 3
D 824-838 Reconstruction 3
D 839-860 Post-War History (1945-) 3
D 880-889 Developing Countries 3
D 890-899 Eastern Hemisphere 3
D 1050-2027 European History, 1945- 3
  Great Britain  
DA 1-19 Historiography. British Empire 3
DA 20-699 England 3
DA 700-749 Wales 1
DA 750-899 Scotland 2
DA 900-995 Ireland 2
  Central Europe  
DAW Central. History 3
  Austria  
DB Austria. Hungary 3
  France  
DC 1-20 General 3
DC 21-29 Description and Travel 0
DC 30-34 Antiquities. Social Life and Customs 1
DC 35-599 History 3
DC 600-947 Local History and Description 2
  Germany  
DD 1-21.4 General 3
DD 21.5-50 Description and Travel 0
DD 51-83 Antiquities. Social Life and Customs 1
DD 84-257 History 3
DD 258-279 West Germany 3
DD 280-300 East Germany 3
DD 301-700 Prussia 2
DD 701-901 Local History and Description 2
  Mediterranean Region. Greco-Roman World  
DE 1-21 General 3
DE 22-45 Geography 1
DE 46-79 Antiquities. Social Life and Customs 1
DE 80-100 History 3
  Greece  
DF Greece. History 3
  Italy  
DG Italy. History 2
  History of Low Countries  
DH 1-207 History. General 2
DH 401-811 Belgium 1
DH 901-925 Luxembourg 1
  Netherlands  
DJ Netherlands. History 2
  Eastern Europe  
DJK Eastern Europe. History 3
  Russia, U.S.S.R., Russian Federation  
DK 1-35 General 3
DK 36-499 History 3
DK 500-4800 Regions and Republics 2
  Northern Europe. Scandinavia  
DL Scandinavia. History 1
  Spain  
DP 1-402 Spain. History 3
DP 501-900.22 Portugal. History 2
  Switzerland  
DQ Switzerland. History 2
  Eastern Europe. Balkan Peninsula  
DR Eastern Europe. Balkan Peninsula. History 3
  Asia  
DS 1-35.2 History. General 3
DS 35.3-35.9 Islamic World 2
DS 36-40 Arab Countries 3
DS 41-66 Southwestern Asia. Ancient Orient. Near East 3
DS 67-79 Iraq (Ancient and Modern) 2
DS 80-91 Lebanon 1
DS 92-100 Syria (Ancient and Modern) 2
DS 101-152 Israel (Palestine). The Jews 3
DS 153-154 Jordan 1
DS 155-160 Asia Minor 1
DS 161-200 Armenia 1
DS 201-250 Arabian Peninsula. Saudi Arabia 1
DS 251-326 Iran (Persia). Persian Gulf 1
DS 331-349 Southern Asia. Indian Ocean Region 3
DS 350-375 Afghanistan 3
DS 376-392 Pakistan 3
DS 393-400 Bangladesh. East Pakistan 3
DS 401-487 India 3
DS 488-490 Sri Lanka 3
DS 491-492 Bhutan 3
DS 493-497 Nepal 3
DS 498-500 Goa 1
DS 501-519 Eastern Asia. Far East 3
DS 520-560 Southeastern Asia 2
DS 561-590 Thailand (Siam) 2
DS 591-607 Malay Peninsula 1
DS 608-610 Singapore 2
DS 611-649 Indonesia (Republic). Dutch East Indies 1
DS 650 Brunei 1
DS 651-700 Philippine Islands 1
DS 701-800 China 3
DS 801-900 Japan 3
DS 901-937 Korea 3
  Africa  
DT 1-16 General 3
DT 17-42 History 3
DT 43-3415 Regions 2
  Oceania (South Seas)  
DU Oceania (South Seas). History 2
  Romanies. History of Gypsies  
DX History of the Romanies. History of Gypsies 1
  America. United States  
E 11-30 General 3
E 31-50 North America 3
E 51-74 Pre-Columbian America 3
E 75-100 Indians of North America 3
E 101-150 Discovery & Early Exploration 3
  United States  
E 151-179.5 General 3
E 181-183.8 Military, Political, and Diplomatic History 3
E 185 African-Americans 3
E 186-200 Colonial History, 1607-1775 3
E 201-299 The Revolution, 1775-1783 3
E 301-455 Revolution to the Civil War, 1775-1861 3
E 456-659 Civil War Period, 1861-1865 3
E 660-739 Late Nineteenth Century, 1865-1900 3
E 740-840 Twentieth Century 3
E 841-912 1961- 3
  United States, Local History. Latin America. Canada  
F 1-105 New England 2
F 106-205 Atlantic Coast. Middle Atlantic States 2
F 206-295 The South. South Atlantic States 3
F 296-395 Gulf States 1
F 396-475 Old Southwest. Lower Mississippi Valley 3
F 476-590.2 Old Northwest. Northwest Territory 2
F 590.3-720 The West. Great Plains 2
F 721-785.2 Rocky Mountains 2
F 785.3-850.4 New Southwest 2
F 850.5-964 Pacific States. Pacific Coast 2
F 965-1000 Territories and Possessions of the U.S. 3
F 1001-1200 Canada 2
F 1201-2250 Latin America  

 

Contact Information

Department of History and Philosophy

Library Liaison:
Nicole Wood

Faculty Representative:
Dr. Cameron Sutt

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

History Liaison

Nicole Wood's picture
Nicole Wood

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.