LibGuides: College of Arts and Letters (OER Hub): COMM 1400: Introduction to Public Relations

OER Materials for Introduction to Public Relations

Evolving World of Public Relations by NSCC and Rosemary Martinelli
Publication Date: 2021
This text is provided to you as an Open Educational Resource (OER) which you access online. It is designed to give you a comprehensive introduction to public relations at no or very nominal cost. It contains both written and graphic text material, intra-text links to other internal material which may aid in understanding topics and concepts, intra-text links to the appendices and glossary for tables and definitions of words, and extra-text links to videos and web material that clarifies and augments topics and concepts.

Mastering Public Relations by Saylor Academy
Our purpose in this volume is to introduce you to the concepts of strategic public relations. Our basic assumption is that you have some general knowledge of management and business terminology; we will help you to apply that to the discipline of public relations. Our text is based in current research and scholarly knowledge of the public relations discipline as well as years of experience in professional public relations practice.

An alternative version of Mastering Public Relations is available at LibreTexts.

Cases in Public Relations Strategy by Burton St. John (Editor); Diana Knott Martinelli (Editor); Robert S. (Scott) Pritchard (Editor); Cylor Alexander Spaulding (Editor)
ISBN: 9781506349152
Publication Date: 2018-09-06
Cases in Public Relations Strategy, by Burton St. John III, Diana K. Martinelli, Robert S. Pritchard, and Cylor Spaulding, draws on original, real-world case studies to provide you with a strategic approach to meeting the needs of a client before, during, and beyond a campaign. Using the RACE (Research, Action Planning, Communication, and Evaluation) model, you will explore successful contemporary campaigns and evaluate best practices in all major areas of public relations activity.
Journalism and PR by John Lloyd; Laura Toogood
ISBN: 9780857725653
Publication Date: 2014-11-18
Public relations and journalism have had a difficult relationship for over a century, characterised by mutual dependence and - often - mutual distrust. The two professions have vied with each other for primacy: journalists could open or close the gates, but PR had the stories, the contacts and often the budgets for extravagant campaigns. The arrival of the internet, and especially of social media, has changed much of that. These new technologies have turned the audience into players - who play an important part in making the reputation, and the brand, of everyone from heads of state to new car models vulnerable to viral tweets and social media attacks.
The Symbol and the Reason by Luke Strongman
ISBN: 9781536124873
Publication Date: 2017-09-27
This book is a critical and practical guide to the aspects of public relations in the everyday business world. It explores key thematical trends and developments within the public relations and reputation management fields.
Public Relations Ethics: How to Practice PR Without Losing Your Soul by Dick Martin; Donald K. Wright
ISBN: 9781631571473
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
This book represents a practical guide to ethical decision-making tailored specifically to the needs of those who practice and study public relations. It traces the development of ethical theory from ancient Greece through the works of Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle to modern day public relations executives.

Peay Search logo

Many more eBooks are available to access through PeaySearch. Try this strategy that searches for the subject keyword "public relations" in books that are available online.

Woodward Library has full-text electronic access to current issues of the following titles (in addition to many other music journals and magazines).

Strategies & Tactics by Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)
Strategies & Tactics is PRSA’s award-winning newspaper that helps communicators improve their job skills, stay competitive and advance their careers by providing helpful, how-to information and timely analysis of issues.
Public Relations Review
The Public Relations Review is the oldest journal devoted to articles that examine public relations in depth, and commentaries by specialists in the field. Most of the articles are based on empirical research undertaken by professionals and academics in the field.
Journal of Public Relations Research
Examines understanding of why organizations practice public relations as they do & ways to conduct public relations more effectively, as well as providing scholarly criticism, & developing the history, ethics & philosophy of public relations.

Description: The embedded playlist above from PR Week contains an interview with Catherine Frymark, EVP of corporate communications at Barbie parent company Mattel. She talks about the pinkest summer on record, how her company is transforming intellectual property into blockbuster box office hits and when Mattel knew it had a major cultural event in the making.

There is a new podcast available each week at The PR Week (simplecast.com).

Top Public Relations Podcasts for PR Professionals
The top 10 PR podcasts as recommended by 5WPR

Description: The video above is provided through Alexander Street and is available to students through a subscription provided by Woodward Library. A search for public relations results in access to thousands of videos with captions included. Students will need to authenticate with their library username and password when accessing these titles off-campus. A new tool from ASP called Video Interaction Functionality is now available to faculty members. This functionality promotes student engagement by allowing professors to embed assessment and pedagogical tools within the videos.

Description: The above playlist from YouTube contains videos published by the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) . There are many other possibilities available on YouTube.

SAGE Edge website for Introduction to Strategic Public Relations
Based on a textbook for purchase from Sage, this supplemental site features an impressive array of free tools and resources such as videos, quizzes, and journal articles.
Saylor Academy Online Course: COMM411: Public Relations
Links to many free resources that are relevant to public relations.

Communication Research Guide
by Christina Chester-Fangman Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 272 views this year
News & Current Events Research Guide
by Michael Hooper Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 101 views this year

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & mass media
*Merger of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index

*offers full text for over 200 titles

*coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals and eBooks on Communication and Mass Media
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and more.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.
America's News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news articles from trusted newspapers and news sources from all 50 states
*America's News (2021 edition) provides browsing and searchable full-text for over 3000 newspapers and news broadcasts from across the United States

*contains the full text of articles appearing in some Tennessee newspapers and newswires

*covers local, state, and regional topics

*includes archives and current articles for most titles