LibGuides: Communication Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & mass media
*Merger of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index

*offers full text for over 200 titles

*coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals and eBooks on Communication and Mass Media
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and more.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, National, and International newspapers
*Contains full-text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers

*Contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers

*Full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Course Support Guides

COMM 2045: Public Speaking
by Christina Chester-Fangman Last Updated Sep 9, 2024 2308 views this year

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

Cabells Journal Directories

Predatory Reports
Journalytics

Cabells Journal Directories (Journalytics and Predatory Reports) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly journals with publication information, submission experience data, and peer review indicators. Also included is Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors.
Cabells Journalytics, our searchable database of information and insightful metrics for verified, reputable journals, covers 18 academic disciplines and provides intelligence on more than 11,000 international scholarly publications.

Cabells Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors, currently lists more than 13,000 deceitful publications. Through continued partnerships with major academic publishers, journal editors, scholarly societies, accreditation agencies, and other independent databases,

Cabells provides accurate, up-to-date information about academic journals to more than 750 universities worldwide.

Welcome to the Research Guide for Communication

Communication Resources for Research

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & mass media
*Merger of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index

*offers full text for over 200 titles

*coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals and eBooks on Communication and Mass Media
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and more.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current issues and news topics
CQ Researcheris an award winning publication that’s been around for more than 90 years. It provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research

*contains articles reviewing the history, statistics, and pro/con viewpoints of current-interest topics

*covers a wide variety of topics and the Issue Tracker feature allows you to track the progress of an issue through several decades

*articles published 1923 to present
Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses in full-text from universities in 88 countries
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Subject coverage
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Science
• Technology
• Agriculture
• Social Sciences
• Arts
• Humanities
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education research and information from journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.

ERIC is the largest education database in the records of the world-containing millions of journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.

ERIC lists citations and short summaries of education journal articles and documents, many which contain links to full-text.

Find out how research becomes an ERIC record at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_Records.pdf

ERIC covers all education topics and contains items published from 1966 to the present. It contains an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms.
Films On Demand (Archival Films & Newsreels Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archival films and newsreels from 1888 through the 21st century
Includes newsreels and archival films divided into browseable eras including:
Pre-World War I (1888-1913), World War I (1914-1918), Jazz Age & Depression (1919-1938), World War II (1939-1945), Postwar (1946-1968), Late 20th Century (1969-2000), and 21st Century. Each section is further subdivided into categories: Arts, Business & Economics, History & Politics, Science & Technology, and Social Sciences.
- Create and share playlists—use premade clips, full videos, or custom segments to engage students
- Add a personalized video introduction to any playlist you create
- Public performance rights and no copyright infringement
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities
*Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

*The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.

*Coverage dates: Indexing 1984+, Abstracting 1984+, “select” Full Text 1994+

*Subjects Covered:
Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
Lantern This link opens in a new window
History of cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound
Lantern is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative led by David Pierce and Eric Hoyt. The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, National, and International newspapers
*Contains full-text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers

*Contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers

*Full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple viewpoints on controversial topics
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

*Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pop culture 1980 to present
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, or liberal arts courses.

*Gale InfoTrac PowerPack collection that provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course.

*The date range for this database is 1980 to present.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to over 900 peer-reviewed, full-text journals on a variety of topics, with content dating back to 1999.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.
Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Current events, political science
*Includes descriptions and some online video of TV news broadcasts

*Covers current events, history, political science

*Includes broadcasts from 1968 to present

*In order to use this free resource, you must complete a brief registration form

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

General Resources may also contain many useful articles or other types of information on your topic.
Click the link below for a complete list of General Resources.

General Article Databases (All Subjects)
by Michael Hooper Last Updated May 22, 2024 512 views this year

Subject Librarian

Christina Chester-Fangman

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library 317, Third Floor
Phone: 931.221.1267

Subjects: Communication, Theatre and Dance

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.