LibGuides: College of Arts and Letters (OER Hub): ENGL 2330: World Literature

OER Materials for English 2330

Compact Anthology of World Literature by Laura Getty
ISBN: 9781940771229
Publication Date: 2016
A world literature class may be the first place that some students have encountered European works, let alone non-Western texts. The emphasis in this anthology, therefore, is on non-Western and European works, with only the British authors who were the most influential to European and non-Western authors (such as Shakespeare, whose works have influenced authors around the world to the present day). In a world literature class, there is no way that a student can be equally familiar with all of the societies, contexts, time periods, cultures, religions, and languages that they will encounter; even though the works presented here are translated, students will face issues such as unfamiliar names and parts of the story (such as puns) that may not translate well or at all. Since these stories are rooted in their cultures and time periods, it is necessary to know the basic context of each work to understand the expectations of the original audience.

Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity by Theodore L. Steinberg
Publication Date: 2014
Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity attempts to make the study of literature more than simply another school subject that students have to take. At a time when all subjects seem to be valued only for their testability, this book tries to show the value of reading and studying literature, even earlier literature. It shows students, some of whom will themselves become teachers, that literature actually has something to say to them. Furthermore, it shows that literature is meant to be enjoyed, that, as the Roman poet Horace (and his Renaissance disciple Sir Philip Sidney) said, the functions of literature are to teach and to delight. The book will also be useful to teachers who want to convey their passion for literature to their students. After an introductory chapter that offers advice on how to read (and teach) literature, the book consists of a series of chapters that examine individual literary works ranging from The Iliad to Charles Dickens' Bleak House. These chapters can not substitute for reading the actual works. Rather they are intended to help students read those works. They are attempts to demystify the act of reading and to show that these works, whether they are nearly three thousand or less than two hundred years old, still have important things to say to contemporary readers.

World Literature I: Beginnings to 1650 by Kyounghye Kwon
Publication Date: 2015
This peer-reviewedWorld Literature Ianthology includes introductory text and images before each series of readings. Sections of the text are divided by time period in three parts: the Ancient World, Middle Ages, and Renaissance, and then divided into chapters by location.

Writing and Literature: Composition as Inquiry, Learning, Thinking and Communication by Tanya Long Bennet
In the age of Buzzfeeds, hashtags, and Tweets, students are increasingly favoring conversational writing and regarding academic writing as less pertinent in their personal lives, education, and future careers. Writing and Literature: Composition as Inquiry, Learning, Thinking and Communication connects students with works and exercises and promotes student learning that is kairotic and constructive. Dr. Tanya Long Bennett, professor of English at the University of North Georgia, poses questions that encourage active rather than passive learning. Furthering ideas presented in Contribute a Verse: A Guide to First-Year Composition as a complimentary companion, Writing and Literature builds a new conversation covering various genres of literature and writing. Students learn the various writing styles appropriate for analyzing, addressing, and critiquing these genres including poetry, novels, dramas, and research writing. The text and its pairing of helpful visual aids throughout emphasizes the importance of critical reading and analysis in producing a successful composition. Writing and Literature is a refreshing textbook that links learning, literature, and life.

Compact Anthology of World Literature II: Volumes 4, 5, and 6 by Anita Turlington, Matthew Horton, Karen Dodson, Laura Getty, Kyounghye Kwon, Laura Ng
Publication Date: 2018
Texts from a variety of genres and cultures are included in each unit. Additionally, each selection or collection includes a brief introduction about the author and text(s), and each includes 3 – 5 discussion questions. Texts in the public domain--those published or translated before 1923--are replicated here. Texts published or translated after 1923 are not yet available in the public domain. In those cases, we have provided a link to a stable site that includes the text. Thus, in Part 6, most of the texts are accessible in the form of links to outside sites. In every case, we have attempted to connect to the most stable links available.

World Literature in Motion: Institution, Recognition, Location by Flair Donglai Shi, Gareth Guangming Tan
Publication Date: 2018
By bringing in different degrees of circulation in different regions and languages, this collection shows that while literary centers do exist in what Pascale Casanova calls “the international literary space”, their power does not operate unilaterally and modes of intercultural circulation do exist beyond their control. The title “World Literature in Motion” highlights the fact that world literature is always already the product of certain modes of conceptual and material mobility and mediation.
American Literature As World Literature by Jeffrey R. Di Leo
ISBN: 9780857725653
Publication Date: 12-28-2017
For better or worse, America lives in the age of "worlded" literature. Not the world literature of nations and nationalities considered from most powerful and wealthy to the least. And not the world literature found with a map. Rather, the worlded literature of individuals crossing borders, mixing stories, and speaking in dialect. Where translation struggles to be effective and background is itself another story. The "worlded" literature of the multinational corporate publishing industry where the global market is all. The essays in this collection, from some of the most distinguished figures in American studies and literature, explore what it means to consider American literature as world literature.
Reference Guide to World Literature by Sara Pendergast, Tom Pendergast
Publication Date: 2003
This book is a critical and practical guide to the aspects of public relations in the everyday business world. It explores key thematical trends and developments within the public relations and reputation management fields.
World Literature and Dissent by Lorna Burns, Katie Muth
Publication Date: September 3, 2019
World Literature and Dissent reconsiders the role of dissent in contemporary global literature. Bringing together scholars of world and postcolonial literatures, the contributors explore the aesthetics of resistance through concepts including the epistemology of ignorance, the rhetoric of innocence, the subversion of paying attention, and the radical potential of everydayness. Addressing a broad range of examples, from the Maghrebian humanist Ibn Khaldn to India's Facebook poets and examining writers such as Langston Hughes, Ben Okri, Sara Uribe, and Merle Collins, this highly relevant book reframes the field of world literature in relation to dissenting politics and aesthetic. It asks the urgent question: how critical practice might cultivate radical thought, further social justice, and value human expression?

Peay Search logo

Many more eBooks are available to access through PeaySearch. Try this strategy that searches for the subject keyword "world literature" in books that are available online.

Woodward Library has full-text electronic access to current issues of the following titles (in addition to many other music journals and magazines).

Literature by MDPI
Literature is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal on literature and cultural studies published quarterly online by MDPI.
Contemporary Literature by University of Wisconsin Press
Contemporary Literature publishes scholarly essays on contemporary writing in English, interviews with established and emerging authors, and reviews of recent critical books in the field. The journal welcomes articles on multiple genres, including poetry, the novel, drama, creative nonfiction, new media and digital literature, and graphic narrative. Contemporary Literature published the first articles on Thomas Pynchon and Susan Howe and the first interviews with Margaret Drabble and Don DeLillo; it also helped to introduce Kazuo Ishiguro, Eavan Boland, and J. M. Coetzee to American readers. As a forum for discussing issues animating the range of contemporary literary studies, Contemporary Literature features the full diversity of critical practices. The editors seek articles that frame their analysis of texts within larger literary historical, theoretical, or cultural debates.
Language and Literature by Sage Journals
Language and Literature is an invaluable international peer-reviewed journal that covers the latest research in stylistics, defined as the study of style in literary and non-literary language. We publish theoretical, empirical and experimental research that aims to make a contribution to our understanding of style and its effects on readers.

Description: The Literature and Form podcast linked above is from the University of Oxford Podcasts website, where more episodes in the series can be found.

Literature, Art and Oxford
Podcasts exploring the relationship between literary works and the artwork and Oxford. From J.R.R Tolkien to Philip Pullman, authors have been inspired by Oxford; the architecture, history and culture of the city. This podcast series includes lectures and events which celebrate and explore the literature and art inspired by Oxford

Literature, democracy and transitional justice
The colloquium, ‘Literature, democracy and transitional justice’, held in Oxford 18-20 March 2018, is part of the second phase (2017-2020) in the activities of the international research network, ‘GDRI Literature and Democracy (19th-21st centuries): Theoretical, Historical and Comparative Approaches’. It brought together participants from over a dozen countries to address specific situations of transitional justice across the globe, including Spain, Portugal, Argentina, Columbia, Tunisia, South Africa, Rwanda, Taiwan, Algeria and former Yugoslavia. The event opens dialogue between scholars working on authoritarian systems and democratic transitions in the fields of literary studies, history, philosophy and law. The colloquium features the Syrian writer Zakaria Tamer. Sponsored by St John’s College; GDRI Literature and Democracy (19th-21st centuries); Maison Française Oxford; DEMOCRACY (Casa de Velázquez, Madrid) and Oxford Comparative Criticism and Translation.
Conveners: Mohamed-Salah Omri (St John’s College, Oxford); Philippe Roussin (HESS, Paris); Agnès Delage (Aix-Marseille)

Description: The video above is provided through Alexander Street and is available to students through a subscription provided by Woodward Library. A search for world literature results in access to thousands of videos with captions included. Students will need to authenticate with their library username and password when accessing these titles off-campus. A new tool from ASP called Video Interaction Functionality is now available to faculty members. This functionality promotes student engagement by allowing professors to embed assessment and pedagogical tools within the videos.

Description: In which John Green kicks off the Crash Course Literature mini-series with a reasonable set of questions. Why do we read? What's the point of reading critically. John will argue that reading is about effectively communicating with other people. Unlike direct communication though, the writer has to communicate with a stranger, through time and space, with only "dry dead words on a page." So how's that going to work? Find out with Crash Course Literature! Also, readers are empowered during the open letter, so that's pretty cool.

LibreTexts Humanities
A plethora of resources for literature educators all accessible for free.
Modern World Literature: Compact Edition
Adapted version of Compact Anthology of World Literaure II: Volume 6, Adapted Anthology of OER World Literature readings.
CORE, the Open Access Repository for the Humanities
CORE is a full-text, interdisciplinary, non-profit social repository designed to increase the impact of work in the humanities.

English 1010
by Stephanie Bandel Last Updated May 21, 2024 209 views this year
English 1020
by Stephanie Bandel Last Updated May 21, 2024 230 views this year
English 3150
by Michael Hooper Last Updated May 21, 2024 57 views this year
Languages and Literature Collection Development Guidelines
by Stephanie Bandel Last Updated May 21, 2024 19 views this year
Literature Research Guide
by Stephanie Bandel Last Updated May 24, 2024 210 views this year

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literary Biographies
*profiles of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights

*contains Dictionary of Literary Biography (vols. 1-347) through 2009

*DLB essays outline the lives and careers of authors in addition to summarizing the critical response to their work
Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, and ebooks from the Gale Virtual Reference Library can be searched individually or simultaneously from within this database.
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.

*Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline

*Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes
LitFinder (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Poems, stories, and essays
*Contains many full text poems, short stories, and essays

*Contains author biographies, explanations of works and more
international in coverage
Understanding American Literature This link opens in a new window
Pick a text and a passage from selected works in American Literature and instantly see articles and chapters quoting that passage.
The JSTOR Understanding series is a research tool from JSTOR Labs that connects primary texts with journal articles and book chapters on JSTOR that cite those texts. Building on a previous project, Understanding Shakespeare, this beta release of the Understanding series expands the scope of the tool to include ten key works of American literature.
Understanding British Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pick a text and a passage from selected works in British Literature and instantly see articles and chapters quoting that passage.
The JSTOR Understanding series is a research tool from JSTOR Labs that connects primary texts with journal articles and book chapters on JSTOR that cite those texts. Building on a previous project, Understanding Shakespeare, this beta release of the Understanding series expands the scope of the tool to include ten key works of British literature.