Skip to main content

Languages and Literature Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

Languages and Literature Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The Department of Languages and Literature promotes the value of language learning, good writing, critical thinking, and an informed appreciation of literature to their students, the university, and the community. They are dedicated to excellence in teaching, creative and scholarly achievement, and professional service that supports the language arts through lectures, readings, publications, translations, and related activities. The Department of Languages and Literature strives to produce literate men and women who understand the importance of language and literature in the history of humanity and who practice effective language use in their daily lives.

Accrediting body:

N/A

Degrees offered:

  • Bachelor of Arts: English
  • Bachelor of Science: English
  • Bachelor of Arts: Foreign Languages
  • Bachelor of Arts: Foreign Languages with Licensure
  • Master of Arts: English
  • Master of Arts: English/Creative Writing
  • Master of Arts: Linguistics

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support; (see description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • American Literature
  • British Literature
  • Classical Languages & Literature
  • Composition & Rhetoric
  • Creative Writing
  • French Language & Literature
  • German Language & Literature
  • Linguistics
  • Literary Criticism and Theory
  • Spanish Language & Literature
  • Technical Writing

Focus Areas:

  • Film Studies

Related Subject Areas

  • History
  • Theatre and Dance
  • African American Studies
  • Women and Gender Studies

Languages:

  • English
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Geographical Emphasis:

None

Chronological Emphasis:

None

Noted Publishers:

University Presses and various independent publishers.

Preferred Dates of Publication:

Various dates depending on the needs of the Department of Languages and Literature.

Types of Resources:

 Monographs, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, anthologies, videos; textbooks may be considered for information not readily obtainable elsewhere.

Notes and Other Considerations:

N/A

Review Sources:

Choice Reviews OnlineResources for College Libraries 

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges   Collection Level
  Language and Literature  
P 1-116 Philology. Linguistics  3
P 117 Sign Language 1
P 118-769 Philology. Linguistics  3
P 901 -1091 Extinct Ancient or Medieval Languages 0
PA  Classical Languages and Literature  
PA 1-199 Classical Philology 3
PA 201-899 Greek Philology and Language 3
PA 1000-1179 Medieval and Modern Greek Language 3
PA 2001-2915 Latin Philology and language 3
PA 3000‑3049 Classical Literature 3
PA 3050‑4505 Greek Literature 3
PA 5000‑5660

Byzantine and Modern Greek Literature

3
PA 6000‑6971 Roman Literature 3
PA 8001‑8595 Medieval and Modern Latin Literature 3
PB 1-3029 Modern Languages.  Celtic Languages 2
PC 1-5498 Romance Languages  
PC 1-400 General 3
PC 601-872 Romanian 0
PC 901-986 Raeto-Romance Including Romansh 0
PC 1001-1977 Italian 0
PC 1981-1984 Sardinian 0
PC 2001-3761 French 3
PC 3801-3976 Catalan 0
PC 4001-4977 Spanish 3
PC 5001-5498 Portuguese 0
PD 1-7159 Germanic Languages 0
PE  English  
PE 101-458 Anglo-Saxon.  Old English 3
PE 501-693 Middle English 3
PE 814-896 Early Modern English 3
PE 1001-1693 Modern English 3
PE 1700-3602 Dialects.  Provincialisms, etc. 3
PE 3701-3729 Slang. Argot, etc. 3
PF  West Germanic Languages  
PF 1-879 Dutch 0
PF 1001-1184 Flemish 0
PF 1401-1541 Friesian 0
PF 3001-5999 German 3
PG Slavic. Baltic (Languages and Literatures) 0
PH Uralic. Basque 0
PJ Oriental Philology and Literature 0
PK Indo-Iranian Philology and Literature 0
PL Languages of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania 0
PM Hyperborean, Indian, and Artificial Languages 0
PN 1-6790 Literature (General) 3
PQ 1-3999 French Literature 3
PR 1-9680 English Literature 3
PS 1-3626 American Literature 3
PT 1-4897 German Literature 3
PT 5001-5980 Dutch Literature 0
PT 6000-6467.36 Flemish Literature Since 1830 0
PT 6500-6593.36 Afrikaans Literature 0
PT 7001-7099 Scandinavian Literature 0
PT 7101-7338 Old Norse Literature: Old Icelandic and Old Norwegian 0
PT 7351-7550 Modern Icelandic Literature 0
PT 7581-7599 Faroese Literature 0
PT 7601-8260 Danish Literature 0
PT 8301-9155 Norwegian Literature 0
PT 9201-9999 Swedish Literature 0
PZ Juvenile Belles Lettres See Juvenile Collection

Contact Information

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

Literature Liaison

Elaine Berg's picture
Elaine Berg
Contact:
Office: Lib 222

Phone: 931-221-6405

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.