LibGuides: History (U.S.) Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. history
*lists citations and full text for journal articles and books

*covers United States and Canadian historical events from prehistory to the present

*covers items published from 1910 to present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. History since 900
*Formerly titled History Resource Center: U.S

*Approximately 100,000 pages of more than 1000 primary documents

*Nearly 100 scholarly full-text journals, as well as citations from 180 titles

*Contains more than 2,000 images and maps

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

WorldCat

WorldCat
Search libraries around the world

U.S. History Resources for Research

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials concerning African American social and religious life from 1829-1922.
The African American Historical Serials Collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture.

This collection features:
*Over 170 unique titles related to African American life and culture
*Approximately 60,000 pages of searchable primary source content
*Reports and annuals from various African American organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals
*Extensive coverage of African American religious organizations, churches and institutions
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American history, literature and culture
*Created from the Library Company’s acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection—an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history—this unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture.

*The Afro-Americana Imprints collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West’s discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought and racism; descriptions of African American life—slave and free—throughout the Americas; and slavery and race in fiction and drama. Also featured are printed works of African American individuals and organizations.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. history
*lists citations and full text for journal articles and books

*covers United States and Canadian historical events from prehistory to the present

*covers items published from 1910 to present
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1877) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877
*EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.

Series 1 (1691-1820)

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 presents more than 500 titles dating from 1691 through 1820. Almost every 17th- and 18th-century American title is represented in addition to the majority of works published before 1821. Subject strengths in this series include Afro-Americana, Agriculture, Children's literature, Education, Eighteenth-century imprints, Leisure and hobbies, Masonic works, Medicine, Religion, Science, Technology, The Trades, Women's literature

Series 2 (1821-1837)

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 presents over 1,000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.

Series 3 (1838-1852)

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 reveals a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities.

Series 4 (1853-1865)

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 presents over 1,200 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. While the Civil War is a key focal point of Series 4, it also features a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront is found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in Series 1-3 (e.g., science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion).

Series 5 (1866-1877)

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 contains over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Themes presented reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances—the aftermath of a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives, the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life, a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories, and much more. Series 5 coverage of broad subject areas reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, fashion, family life, politics, education and religion.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary resources on the Civil War
*knits together more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs

*includes 100,000 pages of re-keyed and indexed text

*includes 4,000 facsimile pages of previously unpublished manuscript material
American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of the Civil War and its aftermath
Based on the comprehensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, this collection contains more than 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922.

It includes printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and Union and Confederate envelopes.

Coverage extends throughout the Civil War and well beyond into the postwar period, a time in which modern interpretations of the conflict began to take shape. Key subject areas include regimental histories, troop rosters, military trials and confiscation of property; medical care, finance, taxation and aid to soldiers and their families; sermons, speeches and treatises covering many of the contemporary intellectual and ideological positions of the time; poetry and music; personal narratives that discuss battles, military life, and experiences in prisoner-of-war camps.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video
*provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history

*It contains commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

*Videos in this collection can be embedded in D2L course content
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Images of the pages of American journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century
*includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century

*chronicles the development of America across 150 years

*researchers can see all of the original typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts exactly as they were originally published
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection (Series 1 & 2) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, culture, civil rights, religion, and politics
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. Content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.

Content Includes:
*Approximately 60,000 historical articles
*Hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides
*Complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature and culture
*Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%)
*Hundreds of rare books by Latino-Hispanic Americans
*Over 3,000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals
*Over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscript content

--Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics.

--Series 2 presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
Primary documents focusing on Black Freedom movements from 1790 to 2020
This website from ProQuest contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:

Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
The Contemporary Era (1976-2000s)

The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. The databases represented in this website include American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight and Alexander Street’s Black Thought and Culture.

The goal of this website is to provide a selection of primary source documents that may be used by a wide range of students, from middle and high school students to college students and independent scholars. Examples of assignments may include National History Day projects or research papers about Black Freedom.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Texts of the renowned Cambridge Histories series
*Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960

*Covers over 15 different academic subjects

*Volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse
Civil War Primary Source Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources that capture various accounts of the Civil War as it was experienced on land and at sea
The Civil War Primary Source Documents collection, drawn from the holdings of the New-York Historical Society, is comprised of over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections, and focuses on the War as it was fought from both Northern and Southern perspectives.

Invaluable primary resources include letters, diaries, administrative records, photographs and illustrations. Personal accounts appear in various scrapbook journals and family portraits, and strategic initiatives are evident in maps featuring details of troop movements and local landmarks.

Highlights include the papers of David Cronin, a famous soldier and artist, soldiers' diaries chronicling daily life and experiences as prisoners of war, Union Defense Committee records and Confederate Army records.

Content Includes:
*Over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections
*Extensive correspondence from both the Confederate and Union troops, societies and individuals and their families
*Diaries from soldiers on the field and civilians on the home-front
*Hand-drawn illustrations, maps, and engineering notebooks
*Military content from both the army and navy, from the front lines to hospitals and prisons
*Letters and first person accounts from such well-known leaders as Ulysses S. Grant, as well as accounts from individual soldiers and sailors
CQ Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History, Government, Political Science (Primary Documents)
*Contains over 2,500 primary documents
*covers history, government, and political science
*includes 1972 through the present
Digital Library of Tennessee (DLTN) This link opens in a new window
Tennessee Digital Collections
The Digital Library of Tennessee provides access to rare and unique primary sources housed in libraries, archives, and museums in the state of Tennessee. Explore photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories, maps, original art, music, material culture, and archival material that documents the cultural heritage of the state of Tennessee from the Pre-Columbian era to the present.
Dissertations (EBSCO Open) This link opens in a new window
Over 153,000 thesis and dissertation citations published from 1902 to the present on all topics. Includes access to subset of American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955.
EBSCO Open Dissertations is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discover-ability of ETD research.

This new collaboration extends the work started in 2014, when EBSCO and the H.W. Wilson Foundation created American Doctoral Dissertations which contained indexing from the H.W. Wilson print publication, Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities, 1933-1955. In 2015, the H.W. Wilson Foundation agreed to support the expansion of the scope of the American Doctoral Dissertations database to include records for dissertations and theses from 1955 to the present.

*American Doctoral Dissertations has been expanded to offer greater coverage of 20th Century research as well as access to full text.

*The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.

*The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed such as OhioLINK.

*The subset of this database, American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955, provides electronic access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations completed during that time period, the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. Containing twenty-two years of dissertation research and amounting to nearly 100,000 citations, this index was compiled annually for the National Research Council and The American Council of Learned Societies by the Association of Research Libraries.
Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses in full-text from universities in 88 countries
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Subject coverage
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Science
• Technology
• Agriculture
• Social Sciences
• Arts
• Humanities
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History, Literature, Geography
*documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850

*collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists

*brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, letters and images of maps
eBook Collection: EBSCO (History Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 12,000 ebooks covering World and U.S. History
This collection features over 12,000 world history titles to meet the content needs of students in their research. Titles encompass a variety of subjects, including Medieval History, History of Music, History of Science, History of the World, History of the Caribbean & West Indies, History of the Holocaust, Law in History, History of Philosophy, History of Africa, Art History, History of Technology & Engineering, History of Business & Economics, History of the Middle East, History of Latin America, History of Canada, History of Asia, History of Religion, History of Europe, History of the Military and History of the United States.

*Download options are available on your personal computer for transfer to a mobile device. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized materials from the eighteenth century
*contains 26 million pages of text from more than 136,000 titles (155,000 volumes)

*contains Canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles

*contains materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
Printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750
*comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750

*derived from the seminal reference work European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.

*wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery
Films On Demand (Archival Films & Newsreels Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archival films and newsreels from 1888 through the 21st century
Includes newsreels and archival films divided into browseable eras including:
Pre-World War I (1888-1913), World War I (1914-1918), Jazz Age & Depression (1919-1938), World War II (1939-1945), Postwar (1946-1968), Late 20th Century (1969-2000), and 21st Century. Each section is further subdivided into categories: Arts, Business & Economics, History & Politics, Science & Technology, and Social Sciences.
- Create and share playlists—use premade clips, full videos, or custom segments to engage students
- Add a personalized video introduction to any playlist you create
- Public performance rights and no copyright infringement
Films On Demand (TBR Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos on various topics
*32 total videos available
*14 video titles available on various topics from American & British literature

*15 video titles available on various topics from history, religion, and theater

These titles were purchased for APSU by the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) starting in 2005.
Hein Online Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials. Includes federal laws, regulations, case law, and reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General
The HeinOnline Academic package was specifically created so universities may replace existing resources for a fraction of the cost. The academic research package features more than 100 million pages of content and covers more than 100 subject areas. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Unveil the history of America with the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, equipped with unique tools to help users quickly locate specific content.

Includes U.S. Federal & State Case Law

HeinOnline Academic also includes Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service that features powerful “best-case-first” tools that make research faster than ever. This service provides subscribers access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels and enables users to access the full text of cases through their HeinOnline subscription without the hassle of using multiple research databases.

See https://home.heinonline.org/academic/ for a list of all collections included in the Hein Academic Package.

Subjects Include:
Political Science
History
Criminal Justice
Religious Studies
International Relations
Women’s Studies
Pre-law
Business/Economics
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Genealogical and historical research, U.S. census records
*includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses

*offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories \

*provides access to more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archival collections and primary sources documenting the history of Indigenous Peoples
The wide range of material included in Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America presents a unique insight into interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North America and European colonists from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on histories of Indigenous Peoples in North America in the world.

Document types, digitized in full color, include:
-An extensive collection of manuscripts ranging from the early 16th to the mid-20th centuries
-A striking collection of artwork including rare ledger art
-Speeches and petitions
-Diaries, essays, travel journals and ledger -books from early European expeditions
-Correspondence, notes and minutes relating to important treaties
-Early linguistic studies and ethnographic accounts of life
-Thousands of photographs
-Historic maps and atlases
-Rare printed books
-newspapers from the 1960s-1990s

This rich selection of primary sources covers such important themes as:
- Indigenous Peoples and the European Powers
-Indigenous Peoples and the US Government
-Military Encounters: Conflicts, Rebellions and Alliances
-Observation, Representation and Cultural Encounters
-Indigenous Peoples of Mexico
-First Nations of Canada
-Missionaries and Education
-Trade and Indian Economies
-Civil Rights Movement
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
LGBT Studies: Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of primary sources related to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender studies
Gay and lesbian publications and the personal papers of Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin, and Donald Stewart Lucas provide the basis of an in depth study of LGBT issues and reflect activism across the US in the 20th century that led to emerging changes taking place today.
Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies, History
*Brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts

*The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society

*Spanning 1750 to 1950, the database is particularly strong in nineteenth-century material
Newspapers.com Southeast Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 2000 historical newspapers from the southeast United States
Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides online access to historical newspapers from the southeast United States including over 2000 historic and recent newspapers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides online access to historical news papers. It offers full-page images with searchable full text of newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Invaluable for researchers, historians, genealogists, educators and students, Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides enhanced opportunities for longitudinal and comparative analysis of historical events.
New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scanned, fully searchable pages and article images of The New York Times from 1851 to 4 years from current year. Additional year of content added annually.
The most recent articles from the New York Times (up to present) are available in HTML format through Gale Academic OneFile. This database offers full-page images and article images from the New York Times dating back to 1851 (called New York daily times, 1851-1857). Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. It provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

It also allows searching using the Times Index 1851-1993. Please click on "Topics" tab within the interface.

KNOWN AS “AMERICA’S NEWSPAPER” for more than a century, The New York Times has also commanded international readership. The
world news and personal stories captured by this Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper for nearly 170 years are available online from ProQuest so
researchers anywhere can browse and search the digitized pages of this definitive record of the day.

From the digitized pages of The New York Times explore the:
• Arrival of immigrants to America’s shores
• Rise and fall of global financial markets
• Introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and
medical innovations
• Causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s to the war on terrorism in
this century
• From Beijing to Bangalore, nearly 30,000 graduate works spanning 40
countries have referenced The New York Times since 2000 in the ProQuest
Dissertations & Theses Global database, citing critical findings from its pages
on topics as diverse as music, management, anthropology, computer science,
military history, and more

Curriculum Focus:
• Culture
• Economics
• History
• Human Development
• International Studies
• Journalism
• Media Studies
• Political Science
• Science and Technology
• Sports
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections for the 19th Century (All 12 archives available)
APSU Library has acquired the twelve Archives in this collection published as of 2015. They are:

1. Asia and the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange (including US State Department Consular & Diplomatic Records, British Foreign Office Political Correspondence regarding Japan, missionary journals and correspondence).

2. British Politics & Society (including coverage of major political figures, working class radicalism, the Oxford Movement, etc.)

3. British Theatre, Music & Literature: High and Popular Culture (including British Playbills, 1754-1882; Drury Lane Theatre Archive)

4. Children's Literature and Childhood (provides a wide range of primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century)

5. Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest (including Colonial, Foreign, and War Offices Papers on Africa; personal narratives of African exploration)

6. European Literature, 1790-184: The Corvey Collection (includes 18,000 volumes with a particular focus on the British Romantic Era, plus thousands of works in French and German)

7. Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature

8. Photography: The World through the Lens (including The Photographic News from 1858 to 1908 and selections from the Photographic Collection of the British Colonial Office)

9. Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform

10. Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925 (including a collection of American Medical Periodicals from 1797-1900 and a collection of 600 monographs on “Evolution and the Origin of Species”)

11. Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II

12. Women: Transnational Networks (includes manuscripts from the Mary Braddon Archive, manuscript Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and a collection of Quaker Women’s Diaries from the 18th and 19th Centuries)
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile archive of hundreds of U.S. papers
For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Every aspect of society and every region of the nation is found in the archive -- rural and urban, large cities and small towns, coast to coast, etc. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests.

Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists.

Tennessee papers include:
Chattanooga Daily Gazette (Chattanooga, TN)
Daily Rebel (Chattanooga, TN)
Chattanooga Advertiser (Chattanooga, TN)
Jonesborough Whig, and Independent Journal (Jonesborough, TN)
Memphis Appeal (Memphis, TN)
Nashville Union (Nashville, TN)
Maryville Republican (Maryville, TN)

A selection of other ewspapers included are:
New York Herald (NY)
Lynchburg Virginian (VA)
Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI)
Rocky Mountain News (CO)
Southern Illustrated News (VA)
Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago)
Milwaukee Sentinel (WI)
The Bee (OH)
The Mountaineer (SC)
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History, Sociology
*Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada.

*More than 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories

*Materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1890 to 1920
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History, American Indians
*Brings together more than 100,000 pages of personal stories, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find

*The collection presents the entire spectrum of native peoples’ experiences from their own point of view

*In addition to biographies, included is a detailed timeline of Indian events, more than 20,000 photographs, and more than 2,000 oral histories, presented in audio and transcript form.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's studies, History
*Includes approximately 150,000 pages of letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 7,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts

*Material is drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings

*The writings provide a detailed record of what women wore, what they ate, what they read, the conditions under which they worked, and how they amused themselves
Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable oral histories
*Provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world

*Provides keyword searching of almost 281,000 pages of full-text by close to 10,000 individuals from all walks of life

*Contains pointers to over 4,100 audio and video files and almost 19,000 bibliographic records
Primary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections for the 18th and 19th Century (cross-search the Gale products Sabin Americana, ECCO and NCCO)
Gale Primary Sources is a full-text primary source database that cross-searches Gale's Sabin Americana (1500-1926), Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO), and Nineteenth-Century Collections Online (NCCO).
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social sciences, arts, humanities
*Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

*Updated continually.
Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources providing accounts of both sides of the American Revolutionary War and other military units between 1748 and 1817
Orderly Books were the controlling document of day-to-day life in the military, most notably during the Revolutionary War. It offers access to Orderly Books found nowhere else and contains handwritten volumes documenting military orders, movements and engagements by brigade, regiment, company and other specific military units between 1748 and 1817. The content in Orderly Books provides detailed accounts of troops’ daily lives, documenting everything from court martial cases to the price of necessities charged by locals.

Content Includes:
*Over 30,000 pages of original primary source material from two hundred handwritten volumes
*Original images, fully transcribed and keyword-searchable

Subjects Include:
*Both sides of the American Revolutionary War
*The French and Indian War
*The War of 1812
*The early frontier
*Other various military deployments throughout the young United States
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History of Western Hemisphere (Primary Documents)
*Provides access to 29,000 titles (more than 6 million pages of text) and offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.

*Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides and documents from sermons and political tracts to legislation and literature.

*Takes works from Joseph Sabin’s Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and makes them available online
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
A collection of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery.
This resource includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. HeinOnline cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from it.

The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it, including an expansive slavery collection of mostly pre-Civil War materials from the Buffalo Erie County Public Library. The cooperation of this institution was central to developing this collection. We have also gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have
provided more than 1,450 books and pamphlets on slavery from the 18th and 19th centuries. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we will continue to locate and add to the collection.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History, Native Americans, Sociology, Women's Studies
*Combines all of the content from Alexander Street’s seven award-winning collections of letters, diaries, and oral histories together with a growing archive of additional content

*Combined, the materials in this vast collection offer something entirely new and critically important for history research—personal, contemporaneous, first-person accounts
Brought together under a unified search interface is all the premium content from the following Alexander Street individual collections:
• North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
• Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries (from the American Antiquarian Society)
• British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries
• The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
• Black Thought and Culture
Social Justice Suite (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the following sub-collections from Hein Online:
* Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
* Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
* Civil Rights and Social Justice
* Open Society Justice Initiative
* LGBTQ+ Rights
In October 2016, HeinOnline unveiled Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, a unique database released free of charge on a global scale to help librarians guide their communities and create an environment for open and positive dialogue. Less than three years later, we announced another free database, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, with the same vision. In 2020, we were proud to offer Civil Rights and Social Justice, another free research database dedicated to the fight for civil rights in America. In 2021, at a crucial moment in history, we are proud to offer the Open Society Justice Initiative, as the fourth free database within our Social Justice Suite. In 2022, LGBTQ+ Rights was the fifth database added.
Tennessean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic newspaper articles with full scans from 1812 to 2002 and 2010 to present (with a delay of several days)
This online version of The Tennessean offers full-text coverage from 1812 to 2002 and 2010 to present (with a delay of several days). It includes the following options:

*The Tennessean is available online from 2010 to present through ProQuest Recent Newspapers. There is a delay of a few days, so they most recent issues will not be available. These issues include full scans of the physical newspaper in PDF format.

*The Nashville Tennessean is available online from 1812 to 2002 through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. The Tennessean began in publication 1907 but this service includes earlier titles such as the Nashville Whig and the Daily American. These papers reported not only Nashville-area news, but carried stories from around the state and the nation.

The default setting for this link searches both of these platforms together. To search only one option, click on the "Change Databases" link within the database interface.
Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA) This link opens in a new window
Digital repository of Tennessee history and culture
The Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA), is a digital repository of Tennessee history and culture. The mission of the creators of this resource (Tennessee State Library & Archives) is to bring digital versions of the state's rich historical records to a wider audience. New items are added on a regular basis, including photographs, documents, maps, postcards, moving images, audio and more.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Previously classified government documents from 1900-2008
Documents contained in U.S. Declassified Documents Online come from collection editors who actively monitor the release of formerly classified documents from presidential libraries as well as numerous major releases of declassified documents from the Atomic Energy Commission, Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), Department of Defense, Department of Justice, Department of State, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), National Security Council, White House, and other executive agencies.

Because the majority of the documents are presidential records and all of them were formerly classified, these records provide a unique, behind-the-scenes view of the highest level of American policy-making on the most sensitive issues of national security and foreign policy.

Materials available for review include:

Cabinet meeting minutes
CIA intelligence studies and reports
Correspondence
Diary entries
FBI surveillance and intelligence correspondence and memoranda
Full texts of letters sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel
Joint Chiefs papers
National Security Council policy statements
Presidential conferences
State Department political analyses
Technical studies
Trade treaties, studies and analyses
U.S. briefing materials for meetings with foreign heads of state and officials
White House Confidential File materials
And much more
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. History since 900
*Formerly titled History Resource Center: U.S

*Approximately 100,000 pages of more than 1000 primary documents

*Nearly 100 scholarly full-text journals, as well as citations from 180 titles

*Contains more than 2,000 images and maps
U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals on US History
Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher, this collection of journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher.
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 to 2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies, History
*Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life

*This resource examines perspectives on women’s social movements from colonial times to the present

*Includes primary documents, published materials, and research tools
Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary sources tracing the path of women’s issues from the nineteenth to twentieth centuries
As the first in the Women’s Studies archive, this collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights.

As a comprehensive academic-level archival resource, Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities will focus on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.

Content will include approximately one million never-before-digitized pages of primary source material, all aligned with women’s studies.

Much of history is one-sided, mainly focused on the male perspective; women's voices are not often heard. Women's Issues and Identities provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. Offering coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, Women's Issues and Identities allows for the serendipitous discovery of commonalities among a variety of archival collections.

Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Women's Issues and Identities spans multiple geographic regions, providing a variety of perspectives on women's experiences and cultural impact. Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

General Resources may also contain many useful articles or other types of information on your topic.
Click the link below for a complete list of General Resources.

General Article Databases (All Subjects)
by Michael Hooper Last Updated May 22, 2024 526 views this year

Subject Guide

Gina Nigro

Email Me

Contact:

Felix G. Woodward Library

Room 320 - 3rd floor

931-221-7028

Subjects: Art and Design, Culinary Arts, History: U.S., History: World, Local Information, Military Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Student Success

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request