Civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded
At this crucial moment in history, Hein is proud to offer Civil Rights and Social Justice, a new research database created to help users understand the roots of the fight for civil rights, how far our nation has come, and how much we have yet to improve.
Hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights illuminate the storied (and still-unfinished) struggle for equality in the United States. A varied collection of books on related civil rights topics and a list of prominent civil rights organizations supplement these primary source documents and help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
Periodicals, legislative histories and government documents on topic related to gun control
This new HeinOnline collection brings together more than 550 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more.
Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles,* an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the United States v. Miller and District of Columbia v. Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.
What’s Included:
More than 550 titles
More than 930 volumes
More than 325,000 pages
Nearly 500 scholarly articles*
CRS Reports
Congressional hearings
Legislative histories
Extensive bibliography plus links to external resources
Materials relating to the gay rights movement in America from 1950 until present day, including an interactive timeline and subject-coded court cases
To continue honoring its core value of corporate citizenship, HeinOnline presents its newest addition to the Social Justice Suite, LGBTQ+ Rights. This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations. A separate subcollection, Historical Attitudes and Analysis, presents books, pamphlets, reports, and more from the 18th century through the mid-20th century. Content in this subcollection includes accounts of individuals criminally tried for their sexuality to attempts to find a medical cause for homosexuality.
This collection is rounded out by a curated list of Scholarly Articles selected by Hein editors, as well as a Bibliography of titles to launch your research outside of HeinOnline. Finally, an interactive timeline, incorporating documents from HeinOnline with other media from around the internet, plots out an overview of LGBTQ rights in America from 1950 to the present day, helping to demonstrate the relevancy of the content within the database to the real-world events to which they are connected.
Throughout the LGBTQ+ Rights database, users may encounter items and viewpoints that they find offensive. These items are included in order to properly foster dialogue and to fully understand both the progress our society has made and the inequalities that still exist today. For all the triumphs and hard-fought victories of the gay rights movement, LGBTQ individuals today still face barriers to living openly without discrimination, both in the United States and around the world.
The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society’s broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice. Beyond its publications, the Justice Initiative represents individuals before domestic and international human rights tribunals. Its advocacy work targets national and regional policymakers and governments to advance human rights and the rule of law, and it supports local, national, and international efforts to expand access to justice.
A collection of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery.
This resource includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. HeinOnline cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from it.
The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it, including an expansive slavery collection of mostly pre-Civil War materials from the Buffalo Erie County Public Library. The cooperation of this institution was central to developing this collection. We have also gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have
provided more than 1,450 books and pamphlets on slavery from the 18th and 19th centuries. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we will continue to locate and add to the collection.
Search all of these resources with others in the HeinOnline database
Retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials. Includes federal laws, regulations, case law, and reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General
The HeinOnline Academic package was specifically created so universities may replace existing resources for a fraction of the cost. The academic research package features more than 100 million pages of content and covers more than 100 subject areas. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Unveil the history of America with the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, equipped with unique tools to help users quickly locate specific content.
Includes U.S. Federal & State Case Law
HeinOnline Academic also includes Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service that features powerful “best-case-first” tools that make research faster than ever. This service provides subscribers access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels and enables users to access the full text of cases through their HeinOnline subscription without the hassle of using multiple research databases.
See https://home.heinonline.org/academic/ for a list of all collections included in the Hein Academic Package.
Subjects Include:
Political Science
History
Criminal Justice
Religious Studies
International Relations
Women’s Studies
Pre-law
Business/Economics
This link opens in a new window
