Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources (2018): May 2018

Browse Article Databases by Title

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.

Off Campus login screenshot
If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask a Librarian

Testing & Education Reference Center

Access to LearningExpress Library 3.0 will end on April 30 and it has been removed from the website.

TEL is replacing it with Gale’s Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC).  Accounts created in Learning Express will not automatically transfer, so you will need to sign up for a new account

You may view a recorded webinar on this new resource at https://cengage.webex.com/cengage/onstage/g.php?PRID=f26490aca25943e02d6f5863b7984a1e 

Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) can help guide patrons in a number of areas:

Test prep—Full-length, timed practice exams that simulate the actual testing experience for AP, ACT, SAT, PSAT, GED, HiSET, and TASC exams. Diagnostic pre-tests help students determine where they stand and how much preparation they need before taking an exam.
College planning—Intuitive searches and quick results deliver information on more than 4,000 accredited schools, including school location, tuition, academics, admission requirements, campus life, and much more.

Financial aid tools—Benefit from an undergraduate scholarship search, financial aid award analyzer, college savings calculator, tuition cost finder, and more.

Career development—The Resume Builder and Virtual Careers Library tools assist students in building essential career skills—like how to build a resume, cover letter, and interviewing tips for users at all career stages. Using the Career Module, tests help users map interests and aptitudes to the most suitable job categories, industries, and occupations.

International tools—Help individuals prepare to pass the TOEFL (iBT), TOEFL (PBT), TOEIC, and U.S. Citizenship tests with online practice tests and eBooks.

Below is a list of ebooks and practice tests included in TERC. Please note that some of the professional practice exams will not be included in TERC.  Microsoft Office computer training will be added to TERC later this summer.

Civil War Era

Access to Civil War Era has been provided by the Tennessee State Library and Archives.

ProQuest Civil War Era is a collection of pamphlets and newspapers, which document the diverse perspectives of the Civil War Era (1840-1865). It  covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties, and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.  It focuses on the entire era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War--enabling researchers to investigate not just the battles, but also the rising tensions that led the country to war.

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America (Hein Online)

Access to Gun Regulation and Legislation in America has been provided to APSU by HeinOnline for free.

In the wake of several of the deadliest mass shootings in United States history, HeinOnline is offering this new collection of materials free of charge to U.S. Core subscribers, academics, and other institutional libraries in order to provide a platform for research and promote civil discourse on the myriad issues related to gun regulation. Our goal is to help facilitate productive discussions and help to bring all sides of this argument together to effect positive change and prevent more senseless loss of life. We encourage librarians to share this resource openly with all patrons.

What’s Included:

    More than 550 titles, More than 930 volumes, More than 325,000 pages, Nearly 500 scholarly articles*,  CRS Reports,  Congressional hearings, Legislative histories, Extensive bibliography,  plus links to external resources

Important Titles Include:

    The Omnibus Anti-Crime Act: A Legislative History of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, Public Law 103-322
    Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: A Legislative History of Public Law No. 103-159
    Journal on Firearms and Public Policy
    Gun Control Act of 1968
    Briefs filed in Supreme Court Cases of gun control

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law (Hein Online)

Access to Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law has been provided to APSU by HeinOnline for free.

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.  HeinOnline  cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from it.

This collection has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it, including an expansive slavery collection of mostly pre-Civil War materials from the Buffalo Erie County Public Library. The cooperation of this institution was central to developing this collection. We have also gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than 1,450 books and pamphlets on slavery from the 18th and 19th centuries. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we will continue to locate and add to the collection.

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.

Guide to Resource Icons

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device