Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources (2018): October 2018

Browse Article Databases by Title

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.

Off Campus login screenshot
If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask a Librarian

The Tennessean (Historical Archive: 1812 to 2002)

APSU now has access to The Tennessean from 1812 to current

The Tennessee State Library and Archives is pleased to announce that starting October 1st, Tennesseans will have free online access to the full run of The Tennessean (1812 to today) through the Tennessean Electronic Library (TEL).
Previously, Tennesseans were only able to access full-text articles from The Tennessean back to 2002. With the addition of the historical Tennessean ,Tennessee residents will be able to search and view news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries and cartoons from 1812 to 2002.

*The Tennessean is available online from Nov. 7, 2002 to present through ProQuest. HTML full-text is available, but these recent issues do not include full scans of the physical newspaper in PDF format.

*The Nashville Tennessean is available online from 1812 to 2002 through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. The Tennessean began in publication 1907 but this service includes earlier titles such as the Nashville Whig and the Daily American. These papers reported not only Nashville-area news, but carried stories from around the state and the nation.

The default setting searches both of these platforms together. To search only one option, click on the "Databases" link in the gray menu-bar within the database interface.

Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition)

The APSU College of Business now sponsors access to The Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition).

WSJ School-Sponsored Membership provides a school with a simple way to deliver individual WSJ digital memberships to students, faculty and staff. Each membership includes full WSJ.com access, WSJ mobile and tablet apps and a WSJ+ membership. Also accessible on WSJ.com is a 90-day archive of the print paper.

The school-sponsored education membership gives a 4-year archive for electronic content.  In the “Advanced Search,” readers can search WSJ articles, blogs, videos and press releases. The search allows for up to a 4-year archive of results.

See https://libguides.apsu.edu/mobile for access to the WJS mobile apps

Membership Benefits for Students:

  • Unlimited access to WSJ.com
  • WSJ mobile and tablet apps
  • Informative podcasts, featuring interviews with WSJ editors and notable influencers
  • Curated newsletters with highlights, summaries and updates on the stories that matter to you delivered straight to your inbox
  • WSJ+ Premium Benefits Program, with complimentary access to an unmatched selection of events, offers and experience

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.

Guide to Resource Icons

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device