Skip to main content

New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources (2015): December 2015

Use the lists on this guide to find the most recent article databases and electronic resources added to the Woodward Library collection.

Browse Article Databases by Title

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.

 

 If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please contact us

American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922

 APSU now has access to the American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922.

From the comprehensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society comes this remarkable digital edition of its widely used Civil War materials.  Featuring more than 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922, this fully searchable collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War—one of the most pivotal events in American history—and its aftermath.  These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more.  Coverage extends throughout the Civil War and well beyond into the critical postwar period, a time in which modern interpretations of the conflict began to take shape.

"The AAS decision to digitize its vast and comprehensive Civil War collection is one of the best pieces of news since the war itself ended at Appomattox."
--Harold Holzer, Lincoln scholar and Senior Vice President for Public Affairs, The Metropolitan Museum of Art

JSTOR: new journal collection available

  APSU is now a participant in the new JSTOR Arts & Sciences XIV collection, providing you with access to more articles from over one hundred journals.  This new resource is added in addition to the existing JSTOR Arts & Sciences collections 1 to 13 and the Life Sciences Collection.  All collections can be searched at the JSTOR database link.

The new collection is described below (click the link to see a full description & title list):

Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
The Arts & Sciences XIV Collection brings together more than 140 journals devoted to the study of culture and communication, from civilization's earliest traces to the growth and governance of peoples.  Journals in the collection span 17 countries, 23 disciplines, and date back to 1839. They are drawn primarily from the fields of Archaeology, Language & Literature, Communications Studies, Asian Studies, Political Science, and Education.

Geography Collection: Routledge Handbooks Online

 APSU now has access to the Geography Collection: Routledge Handbooks Online.

This collection provides access to eight individual eBooks.  Routledge Handbooks Online brings together the world’s leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends.  Every title within RHO is surrounded with meaningful metadata and abstracts at a chapter level, making it fully searchable and browsable, providing a functionality of greater value to the student and researcher.

Key Features:
-Peer-reviewed content ensures quality of research
-All titles DRM-free
-Content available as HTML and PDF

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options please visit the Ask A Librarian Page.

Guide to Resource Icons

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device