Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources (2017): October 2017

Browse Article Databases by Title

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.

Off Campus login screenshot
If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask a Librarian

Cabell's Journal Directories (Whitelist and Blacklist)

Cabell's Journal Directories (Whitelist and Blacklist) is now available.  APSU now has access to the complete subject set for the “whitelist” in addition to the new "blacklist" feature.  Previously, APSU only had access to a limited amount of subject directories.  This new complete product will replace the following entries on the A-Z list and subject guides: Cabell's Directory Psychology Set , Cabell's Directory Education Set, and Cabell's Directory Business Set. The ability to link to individual directories is no longer available on the new interface.

Disciplines included in new complete set: Astronomy, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science-Business Information Systems, Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, Educational Technology & Library Science, Geology, Health Administration, Mathematics, Nursing, Oceanography, Physics, Psychology & Psychiatry

Whitelist
The Whitelist is a database of scholarly journals with publication information, submission experience data, and peer review indicators for over 11,000  journals.  In addition to the journals database, contextual metrics such as the Cabell's Classification Index, the Difficulty of Acceptance, and the Institutional Publishing Activity are powerful tools designed to help researchers search, filter and compare journals when making decisions about publication and to assist administrators in evaluating publication records.

Blacklist
The Blacklist is a searchable database of deceptive and predatory academic journals, the only one of its kind. Our specialists analyze suspected publications against over 60 behavioral indicators to keep the community abreast of the growing threats and to keep researchers protected from exploitative operations. Subscribers have access a database of detailed reports for every journal that our specialists have evaluated and flagged as a probable threat. Each report provides ways to identify the journal and enumerates the specific predatory behaviors that the evaluation revealed.

A webinar video demonstrating use of both of these features in the new interface is available.

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.

Guide to Resource Icons

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device