Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources (2017): July 2017

Browse Article Databases by Title

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.

Off Campus login screenshot
If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask a Librarian

African American Historical Serials Collection

APSU now has access to the African American Historical Serials Collection.

This collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture.

Now compiled and accessible to researchers in one digital collection, this unique resource documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.

Collection content includes:

  • More than 170 unique titles related to African American life and culture
  • Approximately 60,000 pages of searchable primary source content
  • Reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals
  • Extensive coverage of African American religious organizations, churches and institutions

BioOne Complete

APSU now has access to the BioOne Complete database.

BioOne Complete is an online database of 200 high quality, full-text, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Nearly 1,500 academic libraries, research institutions, governmental bodies, nonprofit organizations and corporations around the world subscribe to BioOne Complete. A valuable resource for students, faculty, and researchers, featuring new knowledge and advancing scientific understanding on topics related to climate change, species and habitat conservation, ecosystem services, and biodiversity.  BioOne Complete features include: Full-text for 200 titles from more than 149 publishers, 151 ISI-ranked titles, 67 titles available online only in BioOne Complete, Over 150,000 full-text articles, and mobile access.

Guides and tutorials are available for help with searching BioOne.  A complete list of 2017 titles can be found at BioOne Title Lists.

Watch the video below to see how to conduct advanced search techniques within BioOne Complete.

Civil War Primary Source Documents

APSU now has access to the Civil War Primary Source Documents collection.

The Civil War Primary Source Documents collection, drawn from the holdings of the New-York Historical Society, is comprised of over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections, and focuses on the War as it was fought from both Northern and Southern perspectives.

Collection content includes:

  • Over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections
  • Extensive correspondence from both the Confederate and Union troops, societies and individuals and their families
  • Diaries from soldiers on the field and civilians on the homefront
  • Hand-drawn illustrations, maps, and engineering notebooks
  • Military content from both the army and navy, from the front lines to hospitals and prisons
  • Letters and first person accounts from such well-known leaders as Ulysses S. Grant, as well as accounts from individual soldiers and sailors

Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books

APSU now has access to the online archive Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society.

Orderly Books were the controlling document of day-to-day life in the military, most notably during the Revolutionary War. This one-of-a-kind collection – developed in conjunction with the New-York Historical Society – offers access to Orderly Books found nowhere else and contains handwritten volumes documenting military orders, movements and engagements by brigade, regiment, company and other specific military units between 1748 and 1817.  The content in Orderly Books provides detailed accounts of troops’ daily lives, documenting everything from court martial cases to the price of necessities charged by locals.

"This is an excellent resource for collections specializing in Colonial era history." – Choice Magazine, January 2015

Collection content includes:

  • Over 30,000 pages of original primary source material from two hundred handwritten volumes
  • Original images, fully transcribed and keyword-searchable

Subjects include:

  • Both sides of the American Revolutionary War
  • The French and Indian War
  • The War of 1812
  • The early frontier
  • Other various military deployments throughout the young United States

LGBT Studies: Archives Unbound

APSU now has access to the digital collection LGBT Studies: Archives Unbound.

Gay and lesbian publications and the personal papers of Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin, and Donald Stewart Lucas provide the basis of an in depth study of LGBT issues and reflect activism across the US in the 20th century that led to emerging changes taking place today.

Click the link below for a detailed description of each archive available in this collection.

Watch the video below to see how to get details and search within a specific collection from the Southeast Asian Studies bundle:

Southeast Asian Studies: Archives Unbound

APSU now has access to the digital collection Southeast Asian Studies: Archives Unbound.

Colonialism, Communism, military conflict in Vietnam, and more pivotal topics and events are covered extensively in primary sources providing perspectives on complex issues and ideals. Newspapers, official reports, and many other documents dating from 1910 to 1975 help researchers discover multiple facets.

Click the link below for a detailed description of each archive available in this collection.

Watch the video below to see how to get details and search within a specific collection from the Southeast Asian Studies bundle:

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.

Guide to Resource Icons

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device