Skip to main content

New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources (2017): May 2017

Browse Article Databases by Title

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.

 

 If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please contact us

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection (Series 1 & 2)

APSU now has access to Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 and 2

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960.  These collections offer a unique approach by focusing exclusively on the Latino-Hispanic history of the United States

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics – shedding new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized them from the earliest moments of this country’s history through contemporary times.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing,

Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%), but all content is indexed and searchable in both Spanish and English.  See the PDF files below for a complete title list in each series.

American Fiction, 1774-1920

APSU now has access to the digital collection American Fiction, 1774-1920

American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I, including thousands never before available online.  This landmark digital collection is based on authoritative bibliographies including Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography, widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, and Geoffrey D. Smith’s American Fiction, 1901-1925: A Bibliography, comprising nearly three-quarters of all adult fiction published in the United States during this time period.

The 17,500 titles featured in American Fiction, 1774-1920 include:

  • Adventure novels, travels and sketches
  • Tract-like tales
  • Fictitious biographies
  • Immigrant fiction
  • Works by minority writers
  • Popular genre titles
  • Politically-motivated works
  • Short stories collections
  • Poetry
  • Works from often-studied and award-winning authors
  • Local fiction
  • Romances
  • Allegories
  • Social commentaries

See a list of all titles included below.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

APSU now has access to the digital collection U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Documents contained in U.S. Declassified Documents Online come from collection editors who actively monitor the release of formerly classified documents from presidential libraries as well as numerous major releases of declassified documents from the Atomic Energy Commission, Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), Department of Defense, Department of Justice, Department of State, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), National Security Council, White House, and other executive agencies. Because the majority of the documents are presidential records and all of them were formerly classified, these records provide a unique, behind-the-scenes view of the highest level of American policy-making on the most sensitive issues of national security and foreign policy.

Materials as diverse as State Department political analyses, White House confidential file materials, National Security Council policy statements, CIA intelligence memoranda, and much more offer unique insights into the inner workings of the US government and world events in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

Materials available for review include:

  • Cabinet meeting minutes
  • CIA intelligence studies and reports
  • Correspondence
  • Diary entries
  • FBI surveillance and intelligence correspondence and memoranda
  • Full texts of letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel
  • Joint Chiefs papers
  • National Security Council policy statements
  • Presidential conferences
  • State Department political analyses
  • Technical studies
  • Trade treaties, studies and analyses
  • U.S. briefing materials for meetings with foreign heads of state and government officials
  • White House Confidential File materials
  • And much more

Resources for College Libraries (RCL)

APSU now has access to Resources for College Libraries (RCL)

 Resources for College Libraries is the premier list of core print and electronic resources for academic libraries, featuring over 85,000 titles in 117 subjects. Brought to you by ACRL’s Choice and ProQuest, RCL covers the entire two-year and four-year college curriculum and provides a list of core titles that are essential for undergraduate study. Developed by an editorial team of more than 400 subject editors, bibliographers, and referees the RCL database content is continuously updated and now features improved functionality and a new improved user-friendly interface.

Resources for College Libraries (RCL) is the essential bibliography for four-year undergraduate institutions. It covers over 80,000 works across 61 curriculum-specific subject headings, offering a recommended core collection for all academic libraries. RCL is the successor to Books for College Libraries, third edition (BCL3), and concentrates on the traditional liberal arts and sciences college curriculum. RCL’s carefully considered selections are works identified as most necessary for teaching undergraduates, including both print and electronic resources essential for academic study. Expanded coverage now includes interdisciplinary areas, with distinctive RCL subject language and hierarchies that parallel the undergraduate curriculum.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

APSU now has access to the digital collection 19th Century U.S. Newspapers.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Every aspect of society and every region of the nation is found in the archive -- rural and urban, large cities and small towns, coast to coast, etc. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists.

Tennessee papers include:
Chattanooga Daily Gazette (Chattanooga, TN)
Daily Rebel (Chattanooga, TN)
Chattanooga Advertiser (Chattanooga, TN)
Jonesborough Whig, and Independent Journal  (Jonesborough, TN)
Memphis Appeal (Memphis, TN)                                                        
Nashville Union (Nashville, TN)                                                          
Maryville Republican (Maryville, TN)

See a list of all titles included below.

Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)

APSU now has access to the Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)

The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) is a multi-volume reference work that documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another place across the United States.

Challenging the popular notion that our language has been "homogenized" by the media and our mobile population, DARE demonstrates that there are many thousands of differences that characterize the dialect regions of the U.S.

DARE is based on face-to-face interviews carried out in all 50 states between 1965 and 1970 and on a comprehensive collection of written materials (diaries, letters, novels, histories, biographies, newspapers, government documents, etc.) that cover our history from the colonial period to the present.

The entries in DARE include regional pronunciations, variant forms, some etymologies, and regional and social distributions of the words and phrases.

A striking feature of DARE is its inclusion in the text of the Dictionary of selected maps that show where words were found in the 1,002 communities investigated during the fieldwork.

Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities

APSU now has access to a collection of primary sources titled Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities

Much of history is one-sided, mainly focused on the male perspective; women's voices are not often heard. Women's Issues and Identities provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. Offering coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, Women's Issues and Identities allows for the serendipitous discovery of commonalities among a variety of archival collections.

Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.

Women's Issues and Identities spans multiple geographic regions, providing a variety of perspectives on women's experiences and cultural impact. Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options please visit the Ask A Librarian Page.

Guide to Resource Icons

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device