New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources (2016): August 2016

*The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.

*The Dictionary draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.

*The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date.

*As such, the DOE Web Corpus represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin, or almost five times the collected works of Shakespeare. Compiled as part of the Dictionary of Old English project at the University of Toronto, the texts in the Corpus are XML-encoded and are fully conformant with the Text Encoding Initiative Guidelines (TEI-P5 2007).

*The interface for the Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus was developed by the Humanities Text Initiative at the University of Michigan.