College of Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) (OER Hub): CHEM 1020: Introductory Chemistry II & Lab (CHEM 1021)

Written in a concise and student-friendly way, this textbook focuses on the underlying principles of organic chemistry and provides the tools for understanding the nature of organic reactions. The author utilizes an integrated approach for organic chemistry, uniting in a logical manner the main reaction types and their mechanisms, compound classes and their typical reactions, organic spectroscopy and principles of structure elucidation.

This is the last of five books in the Amino Acids, Peptides and Proteins in Organic Synthesis series.  Closing a gap in the literature, this is the only series to cover this important topic in organic and biochemistry. Drawing upon the combined expertise of the international "who's who" in amino acid research, these volumes represent a real benchmark for amino acid chemistry, providing a comprehensive discussion of the occurrence, uses and applications of amino acids and, by extension, their polymeric forms, peptides and proteins. The practical value of each volume is heightened by the inclusion of experimental procedures.   The 5 volumes cover the following topics: Volume 1: Origins and Synthesis of Amino Acids Volume 2: Modified Amino Acids, Organocatalysis and Enzymes Volume 3: Building Blocks, Catalysis and Coupling Chemistry Volume 4: Protection Reactions, Medicinal Chemistry, Combinatorial Synthesis Volume 5: Analysis and Function of Amino Acids and Peptides   Volume 5 of this series presents a wealth of methods to analyze amino acids and peptides. Classical approaches are described, such as X-ray analysis, chromatographic methods, NMR, AFM, mass spectrometry and 2D-gel electrophoresis, as well as newer approaches, including Surface Plasmon Resonance and array technologies.   Originally planned as a six volume series, Amino Acids, Peptides and Proteins in Organic Chemistry now completes with five volumes but remains comprehensive in both scope and coverage. Further information about the 5 Volume Set and purchasing details can be viewed here.

Inorganic Chemistry publishes fundamental studies, both experimental and theoretical, on all topics of inorganic chemistry from across the periodic table, including but not limited to coordination chemistry, main-group chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, organometallic chemistry, solid-state/materials/nanoscale chemistry, energy and photochemistry, catalysis, and theory/computation.

The journal offers full-length articles and communications of immediate interest, as well as invited Viewpoint Articles and invited Forum Articles (see the Author Guidelines for descriptions). The journal does not publish comprehensive reviews or book reviews. Commentaries on prior work published in the journal or elsewhere will be considered if significant new results or insights are presented.

Inorganic Chemistry places emphasis on scientifically rigorous studies of the synthesis and mechanisms, structure, thermodynamics, kinetics, reactivity, spectroscopy, bonding, and functional properties of new and significant known compounds. Only those manuscript submissions that sufficiently emphasize inorganic chemistry aspects will be considered. Illustrative examples of manuscripts that will not be considered include ones that describe poorly defined or characterized compounds or materials, or that are deemed to emphasize morphological, nanoscale, or larger scale attributes of materials, biological phenomena, analytical methods, speculative or predominantly technical aspects of theory, or technological applications. Reports of routine research describing incremental additions to the scientific literature are discouraged. More detailed discussion (organized by topic) of submissions that will be considered are presented below.

Biochemistry provides an international forum for publishing exceptional, rigorous, high-impact research across all of biological chemistry. This broad scope includes studies on the chemical, physical, mechanistic, and/or structural basis of biological or cell function, and encompasses the fields of chemical biology, synthetic biology, disease biology, cell biology, nucleic acid biology, neuroscience, structural biology, and biophysics. In addition to traditional Research Articles, Biochemistry also publishes Communications, Viewpoints, and Perspectives, as well as From the Bench articles that report new methods of particular interest to the biological chemistry community.

This resource was created by Lisa Nichols (chemistry faculty at Butte Community College in Northern California) as a result of an academic sabbatical leave in the Fall-2015 to Spring 2016 term. The target audience are undergraduate students in organic chemistry.

In this resource you will find theory and procedures on the main organic lab techniques (chromatography, crystallization, extraction, distillation) as well as general concepts on how to set up and heat apparatuses (see the Table of Contents tab for a more complete listing of topics).

All procedures are accompanied by step-by-step pictures, and graphics are heavily utilized throughout the resource.

This collection of Concept Development Studies in Chemistry is presented to redirect the focus of learning. In each concept development study, a major chemical concept is developed and refined by analysis of experimental observations and careful reasoning. Each study begins with the definition of an initial Foundation of assumed knowledge, followed by a statement of questions which arise from the Foundation. Analysis of these questions is presented as a series of observations and logical deductions, followed by further questions. This detailed process is followed until the conceptual development of a model provides a reasonable answer to the stated questions.

An eTextbook designed to provide a practical, hands-on approach to learning chemistry for students taking General Chemistry I Honors courses. The manual covers fundamental principles of chemistry, including atomic structure, chemical bonding, stoichiometry, gas laws, and thermodynamics. The book is divided into chapters, each focusing on a specific topic. Each experiment in the manual is accompanied by step-by-step instructions, pre-lab questions, and post-lab questions, helping students to develop their analytical and problem-solving skills.

This glossary is a guide to the rich vocabulary of organic chemistry. It is designed primarily for undergraduate students studying chemistry and is intended to complement lectures and textbook reading.

This subject deals with the basic principles to understand the structure and reactivity of organic molecules. Emphasis is on substitution and elimination reactions and chemistry of the carbonyl group. The course also provides an introduction to the chemistry of aromatic compounds.

The problem sets provided here are similar to those found on various kinds of standardized exams such as GRE, ACS & MCAT. The questions are roughly organized by subject, and most sets have over 50 multiple choice problems. To use a problem set, click on its descriptive title. There is some overlap of topics, especially stereochemistry and spectroscopy. The difficulty of the problems varies in a random fashion, as does the organization of subject. Answers are provided after the user has made a serious effort to do a significant number of problems.

This is the second quarter of the organic chemistry series, topics covered include: fundamental concepts relating to carbon compounds with emphasis on structural theory and the nature of chemical bonding, stereochemistry, reaction mechanisms, and spectroscopic, physical, and chemical properties of the principal classes of carbon.