LibGuides: College of Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) (OER Hub): CHEM 1010: Introductory Chemistry I &amp; Lab (CHEM 1011)

OER Materials for Introductory Chemistry I

Chemistry
Publication Date: 2019
Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative.

The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W. Ball, John W. Hill, Rhonda J. Scott
Publication Date: Copyright 2011
The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W. Ball, John W. Hill, and Rhonda J. Scott is for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp.

In addition, The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry is written not by one chemist, but THREE chemistry professors with specific, complimentary research and teaching areas. David W. Ball's specialty is physical chemistry, John W. Hill's is organic chemistry, and finally, Rhonda J. Scott's background is in enzyme and peptide chemistry. These three authors have the expertise to identify and present only the most important material for students to learn in the GOB Chemistry course.

General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications by Bruce Averill
Publication Date: Copyright 2011
The overall goal of the authors with General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications was to produce a text that introduces the students to the relevance and excitement of chemistry.

Although much of first-year chemistry is taught as a service course, Bruce and Patricia feel there is no reason that the intrinsic excitement and potential of chemistry cannot be the focal point of the text and the course. So, they emphasize the positive aspects of chemistry and its relationship to students' lives, which requires bringing in applications early and often. In addition, the authors feel that many first year chemistry students have an enthusiasm for biologically and medically relevant topics, so they use an integrated approach in their text that includes explicit discussions of biological and environmental applications of chemistry.

Chemistry: Atoms First 2e by Paul Flowers, Edward J. Neth, William R. Robinson
Publication Date: Copyright 2019
This text is an atoms-first adaptation of OpenStax Chemistry 2e. The intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry. Additionally, it gives students a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course. It also aims to center the study of chemistry on the atomic foundation that many will expand upon in a later course covering organic chemistry, easing that transition when the time arrives.

Chemistry for the IB MYP 4 And 5 by Annie Termaat; Christopher Talbot
ISBN: 9781471841767
Publication Date: 2016-07-29
The only series for MYP 4 and 5 developed in cooperation with the International Baccalaureate (IB) Develop your skills to become an inquiring learner; ensure you navigate the MYP framework with confidence using a concept-driven and assessment-focused approach presented in global contexts. - Develop conceptual understanding with key MYP concepts and related concepts at the heart of each chapter. - Learn by asking questions with a statement of inquiry in each chapter. - Prepare for every aspect of assessment using support and tasks designed by experienced educators. - Understand how to extend your learning through research projects and interdisciplinary opportunities. This title is also available in two digital formats via Dynamic Learning. Find out more by clicking on the links at the top of the page.
General Chemistry by Rainer Roldan Fiscal
ISBN: 9781774074046
Publication Date: 2019-12-01
This book explains the major concepts associated with general chemistry. It gives an introduction of chemistry covering its importance and applications in daily lives. The book also describes periodic table and atomic properties. It then covers solutions and properties of solutions. The book then describes acids, bases and salts including its properties and its reactions. The book then covers the states of matter. It then describes in detail the concept of chemical bonding. The book then talks about the various concepts associated with electrochemistry. Finally, it describes the units of measurements used in chemistry.

Peay Search logo

Many more eBooks are available to access through PeaySearch. Try this strategy that searches for the subject keyword "Chemistry" in books that are available online.

Biochemistry by ACS Publications
Biochemistry provides an international forum for publishing exceptional, rigorous, high-impact research across all of biological chemistry. This broad scope includes studies on the chemical, physical, mechanistic, and/or structural basis of biological or cell function, and encompasses the fields of chemical biology, synthetic biology, disease biology, cell biology, nucleic acid biology, neuroscience, structural biology, and biophysics. In addition to traditional Research Articles, Biochemistry also publishes Communications, Viewpoints, and Perspectives, as well as From the Bench articles that report new methods of particular interest to the biological chemistry community.
Topics in Current Chemistry by Springer Link
This journal presents critical reviews of present and future trends spanning modern chemical research, including intersections with such disciplines as biology, medicine, physics and materials science. The issues are organized as thematic collections which offer the non-specialist reader in academe or industry a comprehensive perspective on emerging research. Each review article is a critical survey of one aspect of the issue’s topic, which places it in the context of the collection. Selected examples illustrate the most significant developments of the last 5 to 10 years. Rather than attempt an exhaustive summary of the field or include large quantities of data, each article concentrates on the methodological thinking. This allows the non-specialist reader to fully grasp the information, and conveys the prospects of potential developments to come.

Description: Atoms are composed of a central nucleus, containing positively-charged protons and neutrally-charged neutrons. Smaller, negatively-charged electrons travel around the nucleus in layered orbits called shells.

The video above is provided through Alexander Street and is available to students through a subscription provided by Woodward Library. A search for Chemistry results in access to thousands of videos with captions included. Students will need to authenticate with their library username and password when accessing these titles off-campus. A new tool from ASP called Video Interaction Functionality is now available to faculty members. This functionality promotes student engagement by allowing professors to embed assessment and pedagogical tools within the videos.

Description: Ionic and covalent bonds both involve the moving of electrons, allowing two atoms to each achieve complete outer shells. But how does this happen?

Virtual Chemistry Experiments by David N. Blauch
Publication Date: Date Added to Merlot: February 29, 2012
Virtual Chemistry Experiments (VCE) are a collection of interactive web-based chemistry tutorials. The tutorials simulate experiments or depict molecular and atomic structure. The guiding concept is to involve the reader in making observations and acquiring data, and then using this information to draw conclusions and infer chemical principles.

Virtual Lab: Chemistry Lab by Chem Collective
As a project int eh National Science Digital Library (NSDL), the ChemCollective's goals are to support a community of instructors interested in improving chemistry education through interactive and engaging online activities.

Paper-and pencil homework typically emphasizes applying formulas -- a process that can become routine and disconnected form the reality and fun of doing chemistry. In contrast, simulation-based exercises offer new ways to promote learning and motivation. Interactive exercises can allow students to explore and reinforce fundamental concepts in contexts that are increasingly complex, realistic, and engaging. Our goal is to create flexible, interactive learning environments where college and high school students can approach chemistry more like practicing scientists.

ChemSpider by Royal Society of Chemistry
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. Search by chemical names, chemical structure, and find important data.

ChemToolBox by Julien Nicolas
Publication Date: 2008 - 2009
ChemToolBox, the Swiss army knife of the lab worker, is a freeware which contains numerous scientific data very useful in a laboratory. Thanks to its own database, ChemToolBox will easily substitute to the time-consuming use of scientific books (such as handbooks) or online databases.

Interactive Periodic Table by Royal Society of Chemistry
The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table. Click tabs to explore each section. Use buttons to change views of the periodic table and view Murray Robertson's stunning Visual Elements artwork. Click on each element to read detailed informaiton.

WebSpectra: Problems in NMR and IR Spectroscopy by Craig A Merlic, Barry C. Fam
Publication Date: Copyright 1997
This site was established to provide chemistry students with a library of spectroscopy problems. Interpretation of spectra is a technique that requires practice - this site provides 1H NMR and 13C NMR, DEPT, COSY and IR spectra of various compounds for students to interpret. Hopefully, these problems will provide a useful resource to better understand spectroscopy.

Chemistry the Central Science Dr. Richard Spinney by Richard Spinney
Publication Date: 2014
Brief summary of how to get a Lewis Structure, determine formal changes and resonant structures. Now including an online test using MarvinSketch provide by ChemAxon. A brief introduction to VSEPR (Valence Shell Electron Pair Repulsion) theory and the rules including an online test. A single page with all the SEPR geometries or a single page with larger display. A series of linked questions on Lewis structures and VESPR. Structures of a large selection of inorganic, organic and biological molecules, including crystal structures. A visual guide to wavefunction and probability distribution of the Hydrogen Atomic Orbital using Jmol.

PubChem This link opens in a new window
World's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information
PubChem allows researchers to search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more. The system is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, a component of the National Library of Medicine, which is part of the United States National Institutes of Health.

PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules. Examples include chemical compounds including drugs, nucleotides including siRNAs and miRNAs, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides and chemically-modified macromolecules.