LibGuides: College of Behavioral and Health Sciences (OER Hub): PSYC 1030: Introduction to Psychology

OER Materials for Introduction to Psychology

Psychology 2e by Rose M. Spielman; William J. Jenkins; Marilyn D. Lovett
ISBN: 9781951693237
Publication Date: 2020-04-22
Psychology 2e is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe. The second edition contains detailed updates to address comments and suggestions from users. Significant improvements and additions were made in the areas of research currency, diversity and representation, and the relevance and recency of the examples. Many concepts were expanded or clarified, particularly through the judicious addition of detail and further explanation where necessary. Finally, the authors addressed the replication issues in the psychology discipline, both in the research chapter and where appropriate throughout the book.
Introduction to Psychology (1st Canadian Edition) by Charles Stangor and Jennifer Walinga
ISBN: 9781774200049
Publication Date: 2014
This book is designed to help students organize their thinking about psychology at a conceptual level. The focus on behaviour and empiricism has produced a text that is better organized, has fewer chapters, and is somewhat shorter than many of the leading books. The beginning of each section includes learning objectives; throughout the body of each section are key terms in bold followed by their definitions in italics; key takeaways, and exercises and critical thinking activities end each section.

Listed on 5 syllabi at U.S. institutions according to Open Syllabus - OER Metrics as of 4/13/2023.

General Psychology: An Introduction by Tori Kearns and Deborah Lee
Publication Date: 2015
The NOBA Project is a growing collection of expert-authored, open-licensed modules in psychology, funded by the Diener Education Fund. From these open modules, Tori Kearns and Deborah Lee created an arranged open textbook for her introductory psychology class. This textbook was created under a Round One ALG Textbook Transformation Grant.
Psychology (H5P Edition) by Rose M. Spielman
Publication Date: 2021
Psychology - H5P Edition is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by Jacqueline Longe (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028683898
Publication Date: 2022
Provides a survey of topics covering the entire spectrum of psychology, including notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information
What Is Cognitive Psychology? by Michael R. W. Dawson
ISBN: 9781771993418
Publication Date: 2023-01-16
To answer the question of what cognitive psychology is you must first understand its theoretical foundations--foundations which have often received very little attention in modern textbooks. Author Michael Dawson seeks to address this oversight by exploring the essential principles that have established and guided this unique field of psychological study. Beginning with the basics of information processing, Dawson explores what experimental psychologists infer about these processes, and considers what scientific explanations are required when we assume cognition is rule-governed symbol manipulation. From these foundations, psychologists can identify the architecture of cognition and better understand its role in debates about its true nature. What is Cognitive Psychology? asks questions that will engage both students and researchers, including: Do we need the computer metaphor? Must we assume thinking involves mental representations? Do machines--or people--or brains--actually think? What is the "cognitive" in "cognitive neuroscience" and where is the mind? By establishing cognitive psychology's foundational assumptions in its early chapters, this book places the reader in a position to critically evaluate such questions.
Getting into Psychology Courses by Konstantinos Foskolos
ISBN: 9781912943609
Publication Date: 2022
This completely revised and updated new edition of Getting into Psychology Courses includes detailed, practical advice and case studies from recent students, covering all aspects of the application process and giving you the inside track on the best route to landing your dream place.

Peay Search logo

Many more eBooks are available to access through PeaySearch. Try this strategy that searches for the subject keyword "psychology" in books that are available online.

Depending on your subfield of interest, you may also want to search using the subject keywords abnormal psychology, biopsychology, cognitive psychology, developmental psychology, educational psychology, forensic psychology, industrial-organizational psychology, personality, or social psychology.

Woodward Library has full-text electronic access to current issues of the following titles (in addition to many other music journals and magazines).

Psychological Bulletin by American Psychological Association
This journal publishes reviews and interpretations of issues in scientific psychology.
Current Directions in Psychological Science by American Psychological Society
Presents the latest advances in theory and research in scientific psychology. Covers such current topics as theory of mind, neural bases of memory, face recognition, expression of emotion, cognition and aging, and attachment and personality in mammals.
Emotion by American Psychological Association
Billboard (stylized as billboard) is an American music and entertainment magazine published weekly by Penske Media Corporation. The magazine provides music charts, news, video, opinion, reviews, events, and style related to the music industry.

The following examples are available from free video services and library subscriptions.

Description: The channel above (Psychology Subject Areas) is provided through Alexander Street and is available to students through a subscription provided by Woodward Library. It provides access to thousands of videos with captions included. Students will need to authenticate with their library username and password when accessing these titles off-campus. A new tool from ASP called Video Interaction Functionality is now available to faculty members. This functionality promotes student engagement by allowing professors to embed assessment and pedagogical tools within the videos.

Description: This playlist of over 40 videos from APA will Explore lectures, webinars, and presentations to help teachers and educators of psychology excel.

The following examples are available from free streaming services. These could be used by students for supplemental listening activities.

Description: Three licensed therapists breakdown and analyze popular movies and characters from the perspectives of an individual, child, and a marriage and family therapist.

Description: "Speaking of Psychology" is an audio podcast series highlighting some of the latest, most important and relevant psychological research being conducted today. Produced by the American Psychological Association, these podcasts will help listeners apply the science of psychology to their everyday lives.

Introduction to Psychology: The Full Noba Collection
Contains 101 learning modules covering every area of psychology commonly taught in introductory courses. This book can be modified: feel free to rearrange or remove modules to better suit your specific needs.
Introduction to Psychology (MIT Open CourseWare)
Reading and materials from this open course at MIT may be useful to review.
Discover Psychology 2.0 - A Brief Introductory Text
These 15 units cover the traditional areas of intro-to-psychology; ranging from biological aspects of psychology to psychological disorders to social psychology. This book can be modified: feel free to add or remove modules to better suit your specific needs.

Psychological Science Research Guide
by Ross Bowron Last Updated Jul 5, 2024 543 views this year
PSY 1030: Introduction to Psychology
by Ross Bowron Last Updated Jul 26, 2023 99 views this year

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology
*Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology

*May include material in related disciplines: medicine, education, and social work

*Includes articles from 1872 to present; books from 1987 to present

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 100 key psychology journals published by APA and affiliated journals
*Definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology

*Contains articles from over 100 key journals

*Coverage for most included journals goes back to volume 1, issue 1

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycINFO and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals and eBooks on Psychology
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content in all fields of psychology of interest to both researchers and general users.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.