LibGuides: Social Work Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All sub disciplines of sociology
*Features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus

*Contains informative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895

*Contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals

*Also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences
*Lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*Covers social science

*Covers items published from 1983, summaries since 1984, and full-text since 1994
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Searching Tips

Use Boolean operator AND to combine terms for narrower search

Use OR to combine terms to get more search results

Use the Thesaurus/Subject index to find additional search terms

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

Welcome to the Research Guide for Social Work

Social Work Resources for Research

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON

Annual Review of Sociology (Current Editions & Electronic Back Volume Collection)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology since 1975
more...less...
*Current editions of Annual Reviews (2009-present) are provided as well as editions from the Annual Reviews Electronic Back Volume Collection (EBVC).

*Content dates range from 1932-present

*The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, and historical sociology.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, and theses on any subject
Use this link to access Google Scholar and links to "Search for Full Text at APSU Library" will be available in the search results.

Features of Google Scholar:

*Search all scholarly literature from one convenient place
*Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications
*Locate the complete document through your library or on the web
*Keep up with recent developments in any area of research
*Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender resources
LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books.

The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.

*Full text content available includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, TANGENTS, Washington Blade, and many more
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology
*Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology

*May include material in related disciplines: medicine, education, and social work

*Includes articles from 1872 to present; books from 1987 to present

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Social Justice Suite (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the following sub-collections from Hein Online:
* Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
* Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
* Civil Rights and Social Justice
* Open Society Justice Initiative
* LGBTQ+ Rights
In October 2016, HeinOnline unveiled Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, a unique database released free of charge on a global scale to help librarians guide their communities and create an environment for open and positive dialogue. Less than three years later, we announced another free database, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, with the same vision. In 2020, we were proud to offer Civil Rights and Social Justice, another free research database dedicated to the fight for civil rights in America. In 2021, at a crucial moment in history, we are proud to offer the Open Society Justice Initiative, as the fourth free database within our Social Justice Suite. In 2022, LGBTQ+ Rights was the fifth database added.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences
*Lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*Covers social science

*Covers items published from 1983, summaries since 1984, and full-text since 1994
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All aspects of the social work field
*Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals (Produced by the National Association of Social Workers)

*Subject coverage includes Therapy, Education, Human Services, Addictions, Child and Family Welfare, Mental Health, Civil and Legal Rights

*Covers items published from 1965-present
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All sub disciplines of sociology
*Features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus

*Contains informative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895

*Contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals

*Also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers
Springer Nature Online Journals (LYRASIS Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals from science related fields, philosophy, and business
The Springer eJournal collection includes over 2500 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.
APSU is one of the 120 institutions the are participating in the transformative agreement between Springer Nature and Lyrasis. This means means that authors affiliated with APSU are eligible to publish their articles open access with fees covered in hybrid journals across the Springer Nature portfolio. See the list of APSU transformative agreements for more information.
WestlawNext (Campus Research) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legal subjects, including laws and cases
NOTE: Pop-up blockers may need to be disabled for downloading and printing

*Includes federal and state laws and court cases

*Covers laws, cases, and other legal materials

*Includes federal cases 1789 to present; Tenn cases 1945 to present

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

General Resources may also contain many useful articles or other types of information on your topic.
Click the link below for a complete list of General Resources.

General Article Databases (All Subjects)
by Michael Hooper Last Updated May 22, 2024 497 views this year

Subject Librarian

Nancy Gibson

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library 318

931-221-6166

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Law, Leadership, Political Science, Public Management, Social Work, Sociology

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases