Music Therapy Research Guide: Databases

*Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology

*May include material in related disciplines: medicine, education, and social work

*Includes articles from 1872 to present; books from 1987 to present

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content in all fields of psychology of interest to both researchers and general users.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.

*Definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology

*Contains articles from over 100 key journals

*Coverage for most included journals goes back to volume 1, issue 1

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycINFO and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters
*provides full text for 1300 journals, legal cases, and clinical trials
*covers topics in nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, public health and radiology
*covers items published from 1937 to the present

*Lists citations and summaries of journal articles

*Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and preclinical sciences

*Covers items published from 1966

"Search for Full-Text @ APSU" option is available from the abstract view of each citation

Provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics for students, consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Includes full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries to ensure that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.


*Integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books

*provides access to personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals

*Provides full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines

*Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975

*Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL

* lists citations and summaries of articles and entire text of some articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, and reference books

*covers fitness, medicine, nutrition, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs

*covers items published in the last four years

*included are:

health/medical journals
health care general interest publications
topical overviews from Clinical Reference Systems
PDR Family Guides
Gale encyclopedias
other reference sources

*contains indexing for 8,200 publications

*contains full text for more than 4,650 titles

*PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over 100 journals

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Subject coverage
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Science
• Technology
• Agriculture
• Social Sciences
• Arts
• Humanities

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.

ERIC is the largest education database in the records of the world-containing millions of journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.

ERIC lists citations and short summaries of education journal articles and documents, many which contain links to full-text.

Find out how research becomes an ERIC record at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_Records.pdf

ERIC covers all education topics and contains items published from 1966 to the present. It contains an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms.

Use this link to access Google Scholar and links to "Search for Full Text at APSU Library" will be available in the search results.


Features of Google Scholar:

*Search all scholarly literature from one convenient place
*Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications
*Locate the complete document through your library or on the web
*Keep up with recent developments in any area of research
*Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile

*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics

*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.

*Contains over 1800 full text, peer reviewed journals

*Provides articles from journals in Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

*Dates available include issues from the current year back to 1995 for most titles

The Springer eJournal collection includes around 2000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.

*Lists citations for millions of articles and full-text from over 200 periodicals

*Covers science, technology, medicine, and humanities

*Contains articles from 1996 to date