LibGuides: Counseling Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology
*Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology

*May include material in related disciplines: medicine, education, and social work

*Includes articles from 1872 to present; books from 1987 to present

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science, technology, and medicine
*Lists citations for millions of articles and full-text from over 200 periodicals

*Covers science, technology, medicine, and humanities

*Contains articles from 1996 to date
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing, public health, and other allied health fields
*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters
*provides full text for 1300 journals, legal cases, and clinical trials
*covers topics in nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, public health and radiology
*covers items published from 1937 to the present

Video Collections Online: Counseling & Therapy
Streaming video on the subject of Counseling

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Videos on Counseling

Videos are located on the 2nd floor near the Research Assistance Desk.

Culturally alert counseling by Garrett McAuliffe
Call Number: BF636.7 .C76 C853 2009 (6 DVDs)
ISBN: 9781412970297
Publication Date: 2009

Featured Journal

The Journal for Specialists in Group Work
As the official publication of the Association for Specialists in Group Work, The Journal for Specialists in Group Work is an indispensable resource for both practitioners and educators working with groups in clinical, organizational, educational and community settings.

Welcome to the Research Guide for Counseling

Counseling Resources for Research

Annual Reviews (Current Editions & Electronic Back Volume Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bio-medical, Physical, and Social Sciences (including Economics)
*content spans the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences (including economics)

*Recent editions of Annual Reviews (2009-2019) are provided as well as editions from the Annual Reviews Electronic Back Volume Collection (EBVC).

*Content dates range from 1932-2019
Cabells Journal Directories (Journalytics and Predatory Reports) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly journals with publication information, submission experience data, and peer review indicators. Also included is Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors.
Cabells Journalytics, our searchable database of information and insightful metrics for verified, reputable journals, covers 18 academic disciplines and provides intelligence on more than 11,000 international scholarly publications.

Cabells Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors, currently lists more than 13,000 deceitful publications. Through continued partnerships with major academic publishers, journal editors, scholarly societies, accreditation agencies, and other independent databases,

Cabells provides accurate, up-to-date information about academic journals to more than 750 universities worldwide.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing, public health, and other allied health fields
*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters
*provides full text for 1300 journals, legal cases, and clinical trials
*covers topics in nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, public health and radiology
*covers items published from 1937 to the present
Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses in full-text from universities in 88 countries
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Subject coverage
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Science
• Technology
• Agriculture
• Social Sciences
• Arts
• Humanities
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education
*lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*covers education topics

*covers items published from 1983, summaries since 1994, and full-text since 1996
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education research and information from journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.

ERIC is the largest education database in the records of the world-containing millions of journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.

ERIC lists citations and short summaries of education journal articles and documents, many which contain links to full-text.

Find out how research becomes an ERIC record at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_Records.pdf

ERIC covers all education topics and contains items published from 1966 to the present. It contains an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reviews of Psychological and educational tests
*Contains information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests

*Covers education, psychology, and other subjects

*Covers tests reviewed from 1985 to present
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 100 key psychology journals published by APA and affiliated journals
*Definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology

*Contains articles from over 100 key journals

*Coverage for most included journals goes back to volume 1, issue 1

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycINFO and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals and eBooks on Psychology
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content in all fields of psychology of interest to both researchers and general users.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.
psychotherapy.net Videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
50 streaming videos for training in psychotherapy & counseling
Captions, searchable transcripts, clip-making/sharing/embedding and more.

Watch clinical demonstrations and live sessions, featuring most modalities and populations, and a rich collection of theoretical orientations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology
*Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology

*May include material in related disciplines: medicine, education, and social work

*Includes articles from 1872 to present; books from 1987 to present

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Published international literature on traumatic stress and PTSD
PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.

PTSDpubs has unique features that set it apart from other databases. This database offers:

*A custom PTSD and trauma focused thesaurus to help you create a precise search. This unique thesaurus includes specific PTSD symptoms, like hypervigilance, as well as terms such as PTSD (DSM-5) and PTSD (ICD-11) to help you search by diagnostic criteria.
*A detailed listing of tests and measures. Each record in PTSDpubs lists all instruments used within the publication, and you can search for publications that use a specific test or measure.
*A comprehensive range of publication types, including journal articles, books, reports, newsletters, and dissertations.
*Cross-disciplinary coverage of all publications relevant to PTSD and psychological trauma. PTSDpubs does not limit its coverage to selected journals, but tries to include all relevant publications.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to over 900 peer-reviewed, full-text journals on a variety of topics, with content dating back to 1999.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.
Science Direct College Edition Journal Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals covering Social Sciences, Humanities, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Science, and Engineering
*Contains over 1800 full text, peer reviewed journals

*Provides articles from journals in Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

*Dates available include issues from the current year back to 1995 for most titles
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences
*Lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*Covers social science

*Covers items published from 1983, summaries since 1984, and full-text since 1994
Springer Nature Online Journals (LYRASIS Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals from science related fields, philosophy, and business
The Springer eJournal collection includes over 2500 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.
APSU is one of the 120 institutions the are participating in the transformative agreement between Springer Nature and Lyrasis. This means means that authors affiliated with APSU are eligible to publish their articles open access with fees covered in hybrid journals across the Springer Nature portfolio. See the list of APSU transformative agreements for more information.
Trip Database This link opens in a new window
Medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine (EBM) and clinical guidelines, including content from Cochrane and Bandolier.
Note: When APSU is selected as your institution in account settings, search for full-text links are provided underneath search results for articles.

Initially, Trip stood for Turning Research Into Practice. Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content.

As well as research evidence, Trip also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Video Collections Online: Counseling & Therapy
Streaming video on the subject of Counseling

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science, technology, and medicine
*Lists citations for millions of articles and full-text from over 200 periodicals

*Covers science, technology, medicine, and humanities

*Contains articles from 1996 to date

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

General Resources may also contain many useful articles or other types of information on your topic.
Click the link below for a complete list of General Resources.

General Article Databases (All Subjects)
by Michael Hooper Last Updated May 22, 2024 506 views this year

Health Sciences Librarian

Ross Bowron

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library 220, Main Floor

Phone: 931.221.7381

Subjects: Allied Health, Biology, Counseling, Health & Human Performance, Industrial-Organizational Psychology, Medical Studies, Nursing, Psychological Science

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request

Browse Article Databases by Title

Course Support Guides

COUN 5110: Lifespan Development

COUN 5150: Foundations of School Counseling

COUN 5640: Practicum in School Counseling

PSY 1030: Introduction to Psychology

PSY 3180: Research Methods

PSY 3330: Social Psychology

PSY 4500: Psychology Applied to Work

PSY 5500: Industrial and Organizational Psychology

PSY 6040: Military Families