LibGuides: COUN 5640: Practicum in School Counseling: Course Resources

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 100 key psychology journals published by APA and affiliated journals
*Definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology

*Contains articles from over 100 key journals

*Coverage for most included journals goes back to volume 1, issue 1

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycINFO and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals and eBooks on Psychology
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content in all fields of psychology of interest to both researchers and general users.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology
*Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology

*May include material in related disciplines: medicine, education, and social work

*Includes articles from 1872 to present; books from 1987 to present

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education research and information from journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.

ERIC is the largest education database in the records of the world-containing millions of journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.

ERIC lists citations and short summaries of education journal articles and documents, many which contain links to full-text.

Find out how research becomes an ERIC record at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_Records.pdf

ERIC covers all education topics and contains items published from 1966 to the present. It contains an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education
*lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*covers education topics

*covers items published from 1983, summaries since 1994, and full-text since 1996

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

Key Books

Encyclopedia of Human Development by Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452265391
Publication Date: 2005-10-14
The Gale encyclopedia of psychology by Jacqueline L. Longe, editor
ISBN: 9781410317810
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology by Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452265834
Publication Date: 2008-01-17
Human Growth and Development Across the Lifespan by Mark D. Stauffer (Editor); David Capuzzi (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118984741
Publication Date: 2016-02-10

Key Electronic Journals

American Psychologist

Clinical Psychologist

Journal of Counseling and Development

Journal of Counseling Psychology

Psych Journal

Welcome to the Course Support Page for COUN 5640: Practicum in School Counseling

Useful Resources

Understanding the Accountability Component of the ASCA National Model:

The new ASCA model uses Assess instead of Accountability. ASCA National Model, 4th Edition: Assess

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

General Resources may also contain many useful articles or other types of information on your topic.
Click the link below for a complete list of General Resources.

General Article Databases (All Subjects)
by Michael Hooper Last Updated May 22, 2024 452 views this year

Health Sciences Librarian

Ross Bowron

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library 220, Main Floor

Phone: 931.221.7381

Subjects: Allied Health, Biology, Counseling, Health & Human Performance, Industrial-Organizational Psychology, Medical Studies, Nursing, Psychological Science

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

COUN 5640: Practicum in School Counseling: Course Resources

Key Electronic Resources

Browse Article Databases by Title

Key Books

Key Electronic Journals

Welcome to the Course Support Page for COUN 5640: Practicum in School Counseling

Useful Resources

Supervision:

Foundations:

Student Developmental Issues:

Understanding School Culture:

Supervision as Developmental Passage:

Understanding the Delivery System Component of the ASCA National Model:

Applying Counseling Theories:

Understanding the Management Component of the ASCA National Model: