LibGuides: News & Current Events Research Guide: News

Headlines from Google News

Websites for Breaking News

ABC News
Get breaking national and world news, broadcast video coverage, and exclusive interviews.
CBS News
Headquartered in the CBS Broadcast Center in New York, CBS News includes critically acclaimed programs providing newsmaking features and interviews, investigative reports, analysis and breaking news.
CNN
CNN.com delivers the latest breaking news and information on the latest top stories, weather, business, entertainment, politics, and more.
FOX News
Fox News, is a cable and satellite television news channel owned by the Fox Entertainment Group.
NBC News
Visit NBCNEWS.com for breaking news, original journalism and videos. Stay current with the latest world news, business headlines, health, sports and more.
NPR
NPR delivers breaking national and world news. Also top stories from business, politics, health, science, technology, music, arts and culture.
PBS News & Public Affairs
Watch full-length video episodes and explore in-depth interactive features from PBS NewsHour, Frontline, Need to Know, Washington Week and more.
Drudge Report
The Drudge Report is a news aggregation website. Run by Matt Drudge, the site consists mainly of links to stories from the media about politics, entertainment, and current events.
Huffington Post
Offers syndicated columnists, blogs and news stories with moderated comments.
AJZ – Al Jazeera in English
English version of the Arabic-language news network. Breaking news and features plus background material including profiles and global reactions.
BBC World News
Get the latest BBC World News: international news, features and analysis from Africa, the Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, South Asia, and more.
CBC News
Canadian and international headlines, articles, wireless services, e-mail digests, and live internet radio. (English or French)
Pravda in English
Russian news and analysis
Reuters
Reuters.com brings you the latest news from around the world, covering breaking news in business, politics, entertainment, technology, and more.
World News Network
Provides breaking news from all over the world in 50 languages.

Watch PBS News Hour

Watch PBS News Hour Live Monday-Friday at 5pm Central Time

Director of Library Services

Michael Hooper

Email Me

Contact:

Library 323

931-221-7092

Subjects: General (All Subjects), Geography, Geology, Multimedia, Music, Music Therapy, News and Current Events

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Read Local and Regional Newspapers Online

Leaf Chronicle This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic full-text newspaper articles
*Contains electronic full text for articles appearing in The Clarksville Leaf Chronicle

*Includes current articles and archives beginning on November 1999
Tennessean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic newspaper articles with full scans from 1812 to 2002 and 2010 to present (with a delay of several days)
This online version of The Tennessean offers full-text coverage from 1812 to 2002 and 2010 to present (with a delay of several days). It includes the following options:

*The Tennessean is available online from 2010 to present through ProQuest Recent Newspapers. There is a delay of a few days, so they most recent issues will not be available. These issues include full scans of the physical newspaper in PDF format.

*The Nashville Tennessean is available online from 1812 to 2002 through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. The Tennessean began in publication 1907 but this service includes earlier titles such as the Nashville Whig and the Daily American. These papers reported not only Nashville-area news, but carried stories from around the state and the nation.

The default setting for this link searches both of these platforms together. To search only one option, click on the "Change Databases" link within the database interface.
Tennessee Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clarksville, Nashville, Chattanooga, Memphis, and Knoxville news
The Tennessee Newspaper Collection provides full-text access for newspapers and television news broadcasts from across the state of Tennessee.
- Chattanooga Times-Free Press - NewsBank: April 1, 1995 - present
- Commercial Appeal (Memphis) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Oct. 1, 1847 - present
- Knoxville News-Sentinel - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Feb. 1, 1887 - present
- Leaf Chronicle (Clarksville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Nov. 10, 1999 - present
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Sep. 2, 1812 - 2002
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Jan. 1, 1999 - present (text / html version of paper only)
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Jan. 1, 2010 - recent (full PDF scans of paper with several day delay for most current issues)
Several other local and regional news outlets are also available:
- List of all newspapers and newswires for Tennessee (NewsBank)
- Newspapers.com Southeast Collection (ProQuest)
- Newsstream: US Southeast (ProQuest)
Types of sources in this collection include:
- Blogs
- College/University Newspapers
- Journals
- Newspapers
- Transcripts
- Video