LibGuides: News & Current Events Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

Newsstream: US Southeast This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia
US Southeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Southeast Newsstream covers news sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, National, and International newspapers
*Contains full-text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers

*Contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers

*Full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
America's News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news articles from trusted newspapers and news sources from all 50 states
*America's News (2021 edition) provides browsing and searchable full-text for over 3000 newspapers and news broadcasts from across the United States

*contains the full text of articles appearing in some Tennessee newspapers and newswires

*covers local, state, and regional topics

*includes archives and current articles for most titles
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International news and perspectives on current issues and countries
*provides background information, historical context, contemporary stances, and the impact of each of the issues and news events featured

*contains more than 190 country portals that contain country and cultural information, statistics, maps, flags, images, podcasts and more

*includes multimedia elements such as images, podcasts, audio and video
Tennessee Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clarksville, Nashville, Chattanooga, Memphis, and Knoxville news
The Tennessee Newspaper Collection provides full-text access for newspapers and television news broadcasts from across the state of Tennessee.
- Chattanooga Times-Free Press - NewsBank: April 1, 1995 - present
- Commercial Appeal (Memphis) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Oct. 1, 1847 - present
- Knoxville News-Sentinel - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Feb. 1, 1887 - present
- Leaf Chronicle (Clarksville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Nov. 10, 1999 - present
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Sep. 2, 1812 - 2002
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Jan. 1, 1999 - present (text / html version of paper only)
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Jan. 1, 2010 - recent (full PDF scans of paper with several day delay for most current issues)
Several other local and regional news outlets are also available:
- List of all newspapers and newswires for Tennessee (NewsBank)
- Newspapers.com Southeast Collection (ProQuest)
- Newsstream: US Southeast (ProQuest)
Types of sources in this collection include:
- Blogs
- College/University Newspapers
- Journals
- Newspapers
- Transcripts
- Video

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Welcome to the News & Current Events Research Guide

News & Current Events Resources for Research

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects
*premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources

*covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects

*covers items published from 1980-present
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects
*contains indexing for 8,200 publications

*contains full text for more than 4,650 titles

*PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over 100 journals
America's News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news articles from trusted newspapers and news sources from all 50 states
*America's News (2021 edition) provides browsing and searchable full-text for over 3000 newspapers and news broadcasts from across the United States

*contains the full text of articles appearing in some Tennessee newspapers and newswires

*covers local, state, and regional topics

*includes archives and current articles for most titles
America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Popular magazines
*Contains the full-text of 28 popular magazines covering topics such as U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Educational news directed at college and university personnel
*contains daily news and full text for articles appearing in The Chronicle of Higher Education

*articles published from 1989 to present can be searched by keyword

*the ten most recent issues can be browsed as a complete edition through the archive
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.

The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis

The database aggregates open content from ProQuest with content made freely availableby members of the International Association of STM Publishers. Notable publishers contributing to the Coronavirus Research Database include Public Library of Science, BioMed Central, MDPI AG, Springer Nature Publisher Group, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ. Preprint servers include arXiv.org and BioRxiv.
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current issues and news topics
CQ Researcheris an award winning publication that’s been around for more than 90 years. It provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research

*contains articles reviewing the history, statistics, and pro/con viewpoints of current-interest topics

*covers a wide variety of topics and the Issue Tracker feature allows you to track the progress of an issue through several decades

*articles published 1923 to present
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles on wide range of topics
One-stop source for magazine and journal articles covering general interest topics along with reference, newspaper, and audio content. With millions of articles available, Gale General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

*General OneFile lists citations and summaries of most articles and entire text of many articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. All subjects are covered.

*Periodicals included are:

social science journals
humanities journals
science and technology journals
national news periodicals
general interest magazines
The New York Times
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International news and perspectives on current issues and countries
*provides background information, historical context, contemporary stances, and the impact of each of the issues and news events featured

*contains more than 190 country portals that contain country and cultural information, statistics, maps, flags, images, podcasts and more

*includes multimedia elements such as images, podcasts, audio and video
Leaf Chronicle This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic full-text newspaper articles
*Contains electronic full text for articles appearing in The Clarksville Leaf Chronicle

*Includes current articles and archives beginning on November 1999
New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scanned, fully searchable pages and article images of The New York Times from 1851 to 4 years from current year. Additional year of content added annually.
The most recent articles from the New York Times (up to present) are available in HTML format through Gale Academic OneFile. This database offers full-page images and article images from the New York Times dating back to 1851 (called New York daily times, 1851-1857). Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. It provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

It also allows searching using the Times Index 1851-1993. Please click on "Topics" tab within the interface.

KNOWN AS “AMERICA’S NEWSPAPER” for more than a century, The New York Times has also commanded international readership. The
world news and personal stories captured by this Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper for nearly 170 years are available online from ProQuest so
researchers anywhere can browse and search the digitized pages of this definitive record of the day.

From the digitized pages of The New York Times explore the:
• Arrival of immigrants to America’s shores
• Rise and fall of global financial markets
• Introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and
medical innovations
• Causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s to the war on terrorism in
this century
• From Beijing to Bangalore, nearly 30,000 graduate works spanning 40
countries have referenced The New York Times since 2000 in the ProQuest
Dissertations & Theses Global database, citing critical findings from its pages
on topics as diverse as music, management, anthropology, computer science,
military history, and more

Curriculum Focus:
• Culture
• Economics
• History
• Human Development
• International Studies
• Journalism
• Media Studies
• Political Science
• Science and Technology
• Sports
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, National, and International newspapers
*Contains full-text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers

*Contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers

*Full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, National, and International newspapers
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Newsstream: US Southeast This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia
US Southeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Southeast Newsstream covers news sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple viewpoints on controversial topics
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

*Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals on Current events,
Sports, Science and Health.
Chosen by public library search results, titles are
compiled by what users are searching for
most. Six hundred of the more than 1,000 titles
are recommended in Bowker’s Magazines for
Libraries.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current Events
*Lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*Covers current events

*Covers items published from 1983, summaries since 1984, and full-text since 1994
Social Justice Suite (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the following sub-collections from Hein Online:
* Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
* Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
* Civil Rights and Social Justice
* Open Society Justice Initiative
* LGBTQ+ Rights
In October 2016, HeinOnline unveiled Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, a unique database released free of charge on a global scale to help librarians guide their communities and create an environment for open and positive dialogue. Less than three years later, we announced another free database, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, with the same vision. In 2020, we were proud to offer Civil Rights and Social Justice, another free research database dedicated to the fight for civil rights in America. In 2021, at a crucial moment in history, we are proud to offer the Open Society Justice Initiative, as the fourth free database within our Social Justice Suite. In 2022, LGBTQ+ Rights was the fifth database added.
Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Current events, political science
*Includes descriptions and some online video of TV news broadcasts

*Covers current events, history, political science

*Includes broadcasts from 1968 to present

*In order to use this free resource, you must complete a brief registration form
Tennessean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic newspaper articles with full scans from 1812 to 2002 and 2010 to present (with a delay of several days)
This online version of The Tennessean offers full-text coverage from 1812 to 2002 and 2010 to present (with a delay of several days). It includes the following options:

*The Tennessean is available online from 2010 to present through ProQuest Recent Newspapers. There is a delay of a few days, so they most recent issues will not be available. These issues include full scans of the physical newspaper in PDF format.

*The Nashville Tennessean is available online from 1812 to 2002 through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. The Tennessean began in publication 1907 but this service includes earlier titles such as the Nashville Whig and the Daily American. These papers reported not only Nashville-area news, but carried stories from around the state and the nation.

The default setting for this link searches both of these platforms together. To search only one option, click on the "Change Databases" link within the database interface.
Tennessee Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clarksville, Nashville, Chattanooga, Memphis, and Knoxville news
The Tennessee Newspaper Collection provides full-text access for newspapers and television news broadcasts from across the state of Tennessee.
- Chattanooga Times-Free Press - NewsBank: April 1, 1995 - present
- Commercial Appeal (Memphis) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Oct. 1, 1847 - present
- Knoxville News-Sentinel - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Feb. 1, 1887 - present
- Leaf Chronicle (Clarksville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Nov. 10, 1999 - present
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Sep. 2, 1812 - 2002
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Jan. 1, 1999 - present (text / html version of paper only)
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Jan. 1, 2010 - recent (full PDF scans of paper with several day delay for most current issues)
Several other local and regional news outlets are also available:
- List of all newspapers and newswires for Tennessee (NewsBank)
- Newspapers.com Southeast Collection (ProQuest)
- Newsstream: US Southeast (ProQuest)
Types of sources in this collection include:
- Blogs
- College/University Newspapers
- Journals
- Newspapers
- Transcripts
- Video
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current digital editions and searchable 4-year electronic archive (Log in with your APSU OneStop credentials to register for a personal account)
The APSU College of Business now sponsors access to the Wall Street Journal.

WSJ School-Sponsored Membership provides a school with a simple way to deliver individual WSJ digital memberships to students, faculty and staff. Each membership includes full WSJ.com access, WSJ mobile and tablet apps and a WSJ+ membership. Also accessible on WSJ.com is a 90-day archive of the print paper.

The school-sponsored education membership gives a 4-year archive for electronic content. In the “Advanced Search,” readers can search WSJ articles, blogs, videos and press releases. The search allows for up to a 4-year archive of results.

See https://libguides.apsu.edu/mobile for access to the WSJ mobile apps

Membership Benefits for Students:
*Unlimited access to WSJ.com
*WSJ mobile and tablet apps
*Informative podcasts, featuring interviews with WSJ editors and notable influencers
*Curated newsletters with highlights, summaries and updates on the stories that matter to you delivered straight to your inbox
*WSJ+ Premium Benefits Program, with complimentary access to an unmatched selection of events, offers and experience

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

General Resources may also contain many useful articles or other types of information on your topic.
Click the link below for a complete list of General Resources.

General Article Databases (All Subjects)
by Michael Hooper Last Updated May 22, 2024 526 views this year

Subject Librarian

Michael Hooper

Email Me

Contact:

Library 323

931-221-7092

Subjects: General (All Subjects), Geography, Geology, Multimedia, Music, Music Therapy, News and Current Events

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases