Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ed.D. in Educational Leadership: Home

Search Strategies

When searching the Library's databases, plan your search strategy carefully before you begin typing words into the search box.  

Think about how you want to search. Do you want to start broad and then sift through lots of results?  Do you prefer starting with a small number of precise results, then use each article's list of references to broaden retrieval?

Broad - Use All or Full Text search which looks throughout the record and full-text article

Less Broad - Use Keyword search limiting to title, abstract and subject headings

Most Precise (fewest results) - Use Subject search limiting to subject headings

Best Databases for Education Research

Start with Education Full Text and ERIC, which are linked below.  If you still need resources, then check out the additional ones on the Education Research Guide.

NOTE: Remember to use RefWorks to capture citation information for sources that you find as you are searching a database. Citations may be exported directly into RefWorks from the database as you are researching.

Education Full Text 

Education
 
ERIC 
Education research and information
 
Dissertations and Theses: Global 
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses in full-text from universities in 88 countries
 
eBook Collection: EBSCO (Education Collection) 
Collection of over 2,800 ebooks covering Education topics

Google Scholar

Google Scholar will link to the library's full text online articles if you set up your APSU affiliation in Google Scholar following these steps:

  1. Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com)

  2. Click on More options icon in google scholar in the upper left corner, then select Settings or Settings icon in google scholar

  3. Click on Library Links in the left column.

  4. Type Austin Peay State University in the Library Links search box.

  5. Select Austin Peay State University: Felix G. Woodward Library, Austin Peay State University - ProQuest Full Text, Austin Peay State University - Cengage Gale Full Text, and Open WorldCat.

  6. Click Save.

  7. Full text links will be found in the right column of a search results page.  When no full-text link is given try clicking on the title and sometimes the full-text will be available.

NOTE: Setting up Google Scholar to link to our library holdings must be done while you are off-campus.

Education Librarian

Profile Photo
Jenny Harris
she/her/hers
Contact:
Office: Library 317 (3rd Floor)
Phone: 931-221-7914
Website

Assistance from a Librarian

Ask for Research Assistance at the Access Services Desk.  A more in-depth Research Consultation is also available.