This is the "Get Started" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work  

Last Updated: Apr 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.apsu.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find full-text articles, streaming videos, and e-books

Start your research by clicking on the Article Databases Tab to view a list of e-resources for this subject.

 

New Books in the Social Work Collection

 

Cover Art
Children and Youth Transitions from Foster Care - Joseph A. Ferrari (Editor)
Call Number: HV863 .C45 2011
ISBN: 9781612097053
Publication Date: 2011
This new book provides an overview of the federal foster care system and provisions in federal foster care law that are intended to help prepare youth for adulthood.

Cover Art
Transgender 101 - Nicholas M. Teich
Call Number: HQ77.9 .T45 2012
ISBN: 9780231157124
Publication Date: 2012

Written by a social worker, popular educator, and member of the transgender community, this well-rounded resource combines an accessible portrait of transgenderism with a rich history of transgender life and its unique experiences of discrimination.


time

Cover Art
The Survival Guide for Newly Qualified Child and Family Social Workers - Helen Donnellan; Gordon Jack
ISBN: 9781843109891
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
This practical handbook provides a wealth of suggestions for all child and family social workers in the early stages of their new career. The book provides a 'route map' to support and guide practitioners through the transitional phase from student to employee;

 

Videos on Social Work in the Library Collection

Videos are located on the 2nd floor.

Old people driving: a film about the end of the road - Shaleece Haas, Director
Call Number: HE5620 .A24 O43 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Chronicles the adventures of 96-year-old Milton and 99-year-old Herbert as they confront the end of their driving years.

 

Social Work Research Guide

image from
Welcome to the Woodward Library Research Guide for Social Work. Here you will find links to databases with journal articles, e-books, webpages and even some online videos in the area of Social Work. For more current research information, search article databases. For older background and sometimes more in depth information, use books.

Please contact me or a librarian if you have questions concerning any of the resources provided in this guide.  Use the contact information to the right. There is a feedback form at the bottom of the page if you have ideas about resources to add to this guide



You can find social work and social work related materials throughout the library collections using the library call number ranges below.

  • HM1-1281 Sociology
  • HN1-995 Social History
  • HQ1-2044 The Family. Marriage. Women
  • HT1-1595 Communities, Classes, Races
  • HV1-9960 Social Pathology, Criminology. Social and Public Welfare

Mobile version availableOn the Go? Get this guide on your Mobile device.

 

Find Books, Articles, and more...

Quick Search:

Related Guides or Course Specific Info May Be Available

Browse APSU Research Guides
by Michael Hooper - Last Updated Feb 13, 2014
Browse guides by subject, source type, research level, or specific course
4,657 views this year
 

What do you think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Librarian

Profile Image
Sharon Johnson
Contact Info
Office: Library 317
Phone: 931-221-7914
Send Email
 

Ask A Librarian


To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options please visit the Ask A Librarian Page

Citing Sources

Research Appointment

APSU undergraduate and graduate students may schedule a consultation with a Librarian to obtain assistance with your in-depth research or thesis topic.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip