Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
Provides access to three databases containing more than 6 million abstracts: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and Geophysics, and the arXiv.org preprints in Astronomy
The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through our Abstract Service query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed though our Browse Service
Click on the Journal Abbreviation List to see a full list of journals and their abbreviations.
The full-text scans available in the ADS can be browsed through the ADS Browse Service.
Database of scholarly journals with publication information, submission experience data, and peer review indicators. Also included is Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors.
Cabells Journalytics, our searchable database of information and insightful metrics for verified, reputable journals, covers 18 academic disciplines and provides intelligence on more than 11,000 international scholarly publications.
Cabells Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors, currently lists more than 13,000 deceitful publications. Through continued partnerships with major academic publishers, journal editors, scholarly societies, accreditation agencies, and other independent databases,
Cabells provides accurate, up-to-date information about academic journals to more than 750 universities worldwide.
Get background information on your topic.
Use this database for quick definitions and overviews of different terms. It is a cross between an encyclopedia and a dictionary. You will see snippets from related ScienceDirect books (but APSU does not own access to the full-text chapters for most of these titles).
These pages provide concept definitions and subject overviews for researchers who want to expand their knowledge about scholarly and technical terms.
Each synopsis provides a series of short, authoritative, excerpts from highly relevant book chapters written by subject matter experts in the field.
These topic summaries are derived from Elsevier encyclopedias, reference works and books.
*SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Network) is an abstract database provided by the American Institute of Physics. It provides the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals.
*Covers items published from 1830 to the present
Subscribed Titles: American Journal of Physics & The Physics Teacher
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.
*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON
Britannica Academic includes the combination of the insightful Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Start with the encyclopedia. Move on to the atlas, biographies, e-books, news, multimedia, and more.
Access to the World Data Analyst databases is also available here, combining detailed statistics with powerful tools for analysis and display. This resource features a unique collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create comparative charts and tables.
High School and college level research on all topics with multimedia
Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
In-depth reports on current issues and news topics
CQ Researcheris an award winning publication that’s been around for more than 90 years. It provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research
*contains articles reviewing the history, statistics, and pro/con viewpoints of current-interest topics
*covers a wide variety of topics and the Issue Tracker feature allows you to track the progress of an issue through several decades
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses in full-text from universities in 88 countries
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Social Sciences
Electronic Book Collection containing over 134,000 titles as of October 2016. All titles can be viewed online and most downloaded to PC, iOS, or Android.
*Formerly known as ebrary, eBook Central (Academic Complete) is a collection of around 134,000 electronic books provided by Felix G. Woodward Library. The content for this collection covers a wide variety of subject areas and all the titles within this collection can be searched simultaneously. Access is provided to these titles through the link above as well as through the Austin Library Catalog.
Most eBook Central titles include unlimited access and can be downloaded by chapter in PDF format or in full through Adobe Digital Editions or apps for iOS and Android. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebrary for more info.
Around 300 titles may have limited access and only allow 1 user to open the the book at a time (download option not available). Follow the guidelines at the bottom of this text for these titles*.
*There is no time limit for reading a limited ebrary book. However, if another user wants to use the book and places it in their queue, it will be passed on to the next user in the queue after 15 minutes of inactivity. (Being active means turning pages, doing full-text searches, making notes, etc).
*This growing subscription package (EBSCO Academic collection) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 161,000 titles are included in this package, and additional titles are added to the package each month. Also included in this collection are thousands of previously purchased NetLibrary eBooks from the SoliNet shared collections. NetLibrary was purchased by EBSCO in 2010.
*Books in the Academic Collection have unlimited access and many can be downloaded for offline viewing. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
Records for over 350,000 doctoral theses from UK institutions (many full text)
A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. The database contains more than 350,000 records, some dating back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.
*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.
*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.
*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource
One-stop source for magazine and journal articles covering general interest topics along with reference, newspaper, and audio content. With millions of articles available, Gale General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
*General OneFile lists citations and summaries of most articles and entire text of many articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. All subjects are covered.
*Periodicals included are:
social science journals
science and technology journals
national news periodicals
general interest magazines
The New York Times
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals
*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.
Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection
Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Teaching Children Mathematics
*Provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of sources
*Retrospective coverage as far back as 1982, full-text since 1994
*Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
*Website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all. It lists over 30,000 free books on the Web.
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Search encyclopedias and dictionaries covering all subjects simultaneously
*Oxford Reference Online contains the full text of 135 reference books from Oxford University Press. The wide range of quality sources cover all subjects.
*Oxford Reference Online is useful for looking up information you would find in encyclopedias and dictionaries (including foreign language dictionaries), as well as finding more in depth information in sources such as The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature and The Oxford Guide to the United States Government.
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, or liberal arts courses.
*Gale InfoTrac PowerPack collection that provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course.
*The date range for this database is 1980 to present.
*Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Research designed for Junior High and middle school students in grades 6-8
Gale’s Research In Context is a cross-disciplinary resource targeted to Middle Schoolers and supportive to the other ends of the K-12 spectrum spanning literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. Students in grades 6 to 8 will benefit from an interface that delivers the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users combined with the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.
Electronic access to over 900 peer-reviewed, full-text journals on a variety of topics, with content dating back to 1999.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)
*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.
*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.
*WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries near your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many kinds of digital content.
*This edition of WorldCat, provided through OCLC FirstSearch, enables users to search multiple terms in specific fields (title, author, subject, etc.) and limit by characteristics such as format, date, or audience level.
A free version is available at http://www.worldcat.org/