LibGuides: Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) Databases: TEL Databases

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Related Guides or Course Specific Info May Be Available

Browse APSU Research Guides
by Michael Hooper Last Updated Feb 21, 2025 5382 views this year

List of TEL Resources

The items in the list below require authentication as an APSU student, staff or faculty member. TEL resources are also available free of charge to any Tennessee resident when accessed directly form the TEL website.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
All subjects
*premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources

*covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects

*covers items published from 1980-present
Books & Authors (Gale)
Book suggestions, reviews, and author biographies
*Book suggestions for more than 146,000 titles in a continually growing list
*54,000 authors are represented via biographies and other resources
*Locate and read book reviews or see lists of Award Winners in various categories for each year
Business (Gale OneFile)
Coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, business theory and practice
Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Gale will merge PROMT, European Business ASAP, Business Index ASAP, Business & Company ASAP, General Business File, Business International & Company Profiles into a single database called InfoTrac Business Collection.

This new consolidated database will comprise nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications from international, US and regional news sources.
Business: Insights (Gale)
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports.
Gale Business: Insights has a new interface, but users will continue to have access to all of the same popular Gale and third-party content, including:
• Over 450,000 company profiles
• International Directory of Company Histories
• Market Share Reporter
• Encyclopedia of Global Industries
• GlobalData SWOT reports
• MarketLine industry profiles
• Thomson Reuters financials
• Plunkett reports

Users will also enjoy new functionality and added material allowing them to compare countries on numerous World Bank Indicators including GDP, GNI, and Population. Plus, more than 500 new titles, as well as Gale’s case study collection and country overviews, have been added to the resource.

Plus, users will now have access to additional tools and functionality, such as:
*Updated language translation and citation tools
*Google Drive and Microsoft OneDrive integration
*Easy integration into discovery services, courseware, and management systems

The database subsumed content from General Business File ASAP and Business Index ASAP.
Career Prep (Peterson's)
Learn about careers, receive personalized career recommendations, create resumes and cover letters, search for jobs, explore schools and training programs, and get advice to help find a job or advance your career.
Choosing a career path doesn't come easy. Whether you're heading straight into the workforce or you're entering college first, our career tools help you get a handle on what you're interested in, the skills and training you'll need, and what you can expect from your career path. Discover which careers suit you best, research potential career options, and explore the requirements and outlooks for the occupations you're interested in.
College (Gale In Context)
High School and college level research on all topics with multimedia
Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Digital Library of Tennessee (DLTN)
Tennessee Digital Collections
The Digital Library of Tennessee provides access to rare and unique primary sources housed in libraries, archives, and museums in the state of Tennessee. Explore photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories, maps, original art, music, material culture, and archival material that documents the cultural heritage of the state of Tennessee from the Pre-Columbian era to the present.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)
Covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college
*Educator's Reference Complete provides access to more than 1,100 periodicals as well as 200 reports from the United States Department of Education.

*In addition, Educator’s Reference Complete provides full-text results for nearly half of the titles cited in ERIC.

*This comprehensive resource covers multiple levels of education
from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such
as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing.

*The resource also includes information on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.
Elementary (Gale in Context)
Kindergarten through Grade Five research
*Gale in Context: Elementary targets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine and reference content. The previous name for this resource was Kids InfoBits.

*Gale Elementary features:
-A drilldown subject topic tree for users who need helping identifying a particular topic
-A simple and visually appealing graphic interface on the GaleNet platform
-Full-text proprietary reference content from Blackbirch Press that supports the K-5 curriculum
-Approximately 75 full-text, age appropriate magazines
-Over 3,000 searchable, indexed images
-A 5-year backfile that offers relevant and manageable results lists
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business)
Resource for entrepreneurs and small business owners
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, taxes and more. Startups, established businesses, and business students can find answers in an easy-to-browse interface mapped to four key stages—plan, fund, start, and manage—to fit the research needs at any point in a business's development.

*Small Business Resource Center provides entrepreneurs and small business owners with a one-stop source for all the key information needs, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning and more.

*You'll find current topics, overviews, and tips and strategies from a combination of content, including full text periodicals and news sources, reference books, and links to websites that focus exclusively on small business topics.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile)
Insights, tips, strategies, and success stories
Get insights, tips, strategies, and success stories from academic journals and magazines, including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, and more.

*Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

*The Small Business Collection is just a subset of magazines and journals available through Academic OneFile, but for those just seeking sources related to small business, this smaller collection may be easier to search because it will provide more focused results.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
All subjects (Encyclopedias & Reference)
*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.

*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource
General OneFile (Gale)
Millions of articles on wide range of topics
One-stop source for magazine and journal articles covering general interest topics along with reference, newspaper, and audio content. With millions of articles available, Gale General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

*General OneFile lists citations and summaries of most articles and entire text of many articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. All subjects are covered.

*Periodicals included are:

social science journals
humanities journals
science and technology journals
national news periodicals
general interest magazines
The New York Times
Health & Wellness (Gale)
Medicine, nutrition, fitness, public health
* lists citations and summaries of articles and entire text of some articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, and reference books

*covers fitness, medicine, nutrition, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs

*covers items published in the last four years

*included are:

health/medical journals
health care general interest publications
topical overviews from Clinical Reference Systems
PDR Family Guides
Gale encyclopedias
other reference sources
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Nursing and personal health
Provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics for students, consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Includes full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries to ensure that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.

*Integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books

*provides access to personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals
HeritageQuest Online
Genealogical and historical research, U.S. census records
*includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses

*offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories \

*provides access to more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more
Information Science (Gale OneFile)
Information science and libraries
*The Information Science and Library Issues Collection, comprised of content from nearly 100 leading industry journals, provides current and accurate information for this fast-moving field.

*Includes such topics as information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more

*The Information Science and Library Issues Collection is just a subset of magazines and journals available through Academic OneFile, but for those just seeking sources related to information science, this smaller collection may be easier to search because it will provide more focused results.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile)
Spanish-language magazines
Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines offering a wide range of content both from and about Latin America. Provides quality reference material — not simply translations of English-language materials —on an interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.

*Lists citations and summaries of articles, and entire text of some articles in the 60 most popular Spanish-language magazines and pamphlets

*Covers items published in the last four years
Leadership and Management (Gale OneFile)
InfoTrac Journals for professional educators
A collection of educational journals covering topics as diverse as 21st century skills, learning disorders, standardized testing, home schooling and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional educator interested in professional development.

*Custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily

*Offers balanced coverage for any professional educator

*Covers health and fitness, school law, drug and alcohol abuse, learning disabilities, sports, arts and humanities, social sciences, and psychology
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Literature biography, criticism, and journal articles
*Information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more

*Access to full text articles and abstracts published in more than 260 academic literary journals

*Provides access to literary criticism once contained in the Contemporary Literary Criticism database

*5000+ Work Overviews, consisting of plot summaries and explications of prominent works
LitFinder (Gale Literature)
Poems, stories, and essays
*Contains many full text poems, short stories, and essays

*Contains author biographies, explanations of works and more
international in coverage
Middle School (Gale In Context)
Research designed for Junior High and middle school students in grades 6-8
Gale’s Research In Context is a cross-disciplinary resource targeted to Middle Schoolers and supportive to the other ends of the K-12 spectrum spanning literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. Students in grades 6 to 8 will benefit from an interface that delivers the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users combined with the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.
Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile)
Military and political science, defense and current affairs
*Contains more than 500 titles and more than 7 million articles (80% full-text)

*Includes some basic reference materials such as The Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia and The World Almanac and Book of Facts

*Periodical list has been hand-selected by Gale editors to meet the content needs of libraries serving military personnel
News (Gale OneFile)
Regional, National, and International newspapers
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Newspapers.com Southeast Collection
Online access to over 2000 historical newspapers from the southeast United States
Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides online access to historical newspapers from the southeast United States including over 2000 historic and recent newspapers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides online access to historical news papers. It offers full-page images with searchable full text of newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Invaluable for researchers, historians, genealogists, educators and students, Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides enhanced opportunities for longitudinal and comparative analysis of historical events.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Multiple viewpoints on controversial topics
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

*Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Power Search (Gale)
Search multiple Gale / InfoTrac databases simultaneously
*Databases available for cross-searching include:

General OneFile

Academic OneFile

Health Reference Center Academic

Religion & Philosophy Collection

Military & Intelligence Database

Gale Virtual Reference Library

many other Gale resources
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)
Religion and Philosophy
Covers religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology. Researchers can use this database not only to study theological approaches to social issues, but also to learn about the impact that religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.

*Lists citations and summaries of most articles and entire text of some articles in journals and magazines

*Covers items published from 1980-present
Science (Gale OneFile)
Large collection of scientific journals
*With the General Science Collection, researchers can stay current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology and hundreds of other areas.

*More than 200 journals are covered.

*Updated daily, the General Science Collection includes more than 1.6 million articles
Tennessean
Electronic newspaper articles with an archive of full scans (PDF) from 1812 to 2009 and current full-text (HTML) content from 1999 to present
This online version of The Tennessean offers full-text coverage (complete PDF scans) from 1812 to 2009 and full-text in textual format from 1999 to present. It includes the following options:

*The Tennessean is available online from 1999 to present through ProQuest in text format (no full-scans are available).

*The Nashville Tennessean is available online from 1812 to 2002 through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. The Tennessean began in publication 1907 but this service includes earlier titles such as the Nashville Whig and the Daily American. These papers reported not only Nashville-area news, but carried stories from around the state and the nation.

The default setting for this link searches both of these platforms together. To search only one option, click on the "Change Databases" link within the database interface.
Tennessee Newspaper Collection
Clarksville, Nashville, Chattanooga, Memphis, and Knoxville news
The Tennessee Newspaper Collection provides full-text access for newspapers and television news broadcasts from across the state of Tennessee.
- Chattanooga Times-Free Press - NewsBank: April 1, 1995 - present
- Commercial Appeal (Memphis) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Oct. 1, 1847 - present
- Knoxville News-Sentinel - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Feb. 1, 1887 - present
- Leaf Chronicle (Clarksville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Nov. 10, 1999 - present
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Sep. 2, 1812 - 2009 (full scans available in PDF format)
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Jan. 1, 1999 - present (text / html version of paper only)
Several other local and regional news outlets are also available:
- List of all newspapers and newswires for Tennessee (NewsBank)
- Newspapers.com Southeast Collection (ProQuest)
- Newsstream: US Southeast (ProQuest)
Types of sources in this collection include:
- Blogs
- College/University Newspapers
- Journals
- Newspapers
- Transcripts
- Video
Test Prep (Peterson's)
Examination preparation and study materials for a variety of standardized tests. Also contains college planning, financial aid, international citizenship tests, and career development tools.
Formerly known as Testing & Education Reference Center, this online tool offers users standardized test preparation, including practice tests, eBooks, and online courses. Ideal for researching undergraduate and graduate programs, finding tuition assistance, exploring and preparing for careers. Gale Presents: Peterson's Test Prep features:

Test prep—Full-length, timed practice exams that simulate the actual testing experience for AP, ACT, SAT, PSAT, GED, HiSET, and TASC exams. Diagnostic pre-tests help students determine where they stand and how much preparation they need before taking an exam.

College planning—Intuitive searches and quick results deliver information on more than 4,000 accredited schools, including school location, tuition, academics, admission requirements, campus life, and much more.

Financial aid tools—Benefit from an undergraduate scholarship search, financial aid award analyzer, college savings calculator, tuition cost finder, and more.

Career development—The Resume Builder and Virtual Careers Library tools assist students in building essential career skills—like how to build a resume, cover letter, and interviewing tips for users at all career stages. Using the Career Module, tests help users map interests and aptitudes to the most suitable job categories, industries, and occupations.

International tools—Help individuals prepare to pass the TOEFL (iBT), TOEFL (PBT), TOEIC, and U.S. Citizenship tests with online practice tests and eBooks.
Transparent Language Online
Web-based language learning program
APSU members will be able to use Transparent Language Online anywhere to learn over 100 different languages through the APSU Library website and the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) website will provide access to anyone in Tennessee..

Transparent Language Online :
• Builds all four core skills of a language: listening, speaking, reading, and writing
• Offers 100+ languages to choose from
• Contains English lessons for speakers of over 25 different languages
• KidSpeak has kid-friendly lessons and interface in 6 languages
• Mobile apps are available
• You may save progress on lessons completed

Transparent Language requires all users to sign up for an account with a user name and password. Email is optional but recommended to access account and reset passwords.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)
Vocations and technical education
*Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

*Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

The Vocations, Careers, and Technical Education Collection is just a subset of magazines and journals available through Academic OneFile, but for those just seeking sources related to careers and vocations, this smaller collection may be easier to search because it will provide more focused results.
World Book Online
Encyclopedia
*World Book Online provides access to the following sections:

Early Learning,

World Book Kids,

World Book Discover,

World Book Student,

World Book Advanced,

World Book Timelines,

World Book EBooks,

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases