LibGuides: Multimedia Research Guide: Video

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Watch Veteran Interviews

Clip from video interview with World War II Veteran Forrest Gore. (Download Video)

Download this item and watch many other video interviews in the APSU Veterans' Oral History Project.

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Welcome to the Multimedia Research Guide

Multimedia

Images

Audio

Video

Video Resources

Annenberg Media
Annenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers
more...less...
*Annenberg Media's multimedia resources help teachers increase their expertise in their fields and assist them in improving their teaching method

*Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home

*All Annenberg Media videos are free and exemplify excellent teaching

*Must create an account

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON

BBC Shakespeare Plays

This link opens in a new window

Streaming video for 37 Shakespeare plays

After clicking on the access link above, click the light blue box labeled "BBC Shakespeare Plays", The " to see a drop down menu containing a list of available videos.

When the BBC first undertook this six-year project, it became the most ambitious undertaking ever attempted on film. This was the first time in the 400 years since they were written that all 37 plays would be preserved on tape. Now they are available to watch online in streaming video. Produced by Cedric Messina and Dr. Jonathan Miller, it includes performances by Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent. This resource includes performances by Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent, John Gielgud, Ben Kingsley, Claire Bloom, Anthony Hopkins, Michael York and Derek Jacobi. Closed Captions are available for each video.

Permanent links to each individual video are available below (remote access ready). Click on the title to watch the video:

ALL'S WELL THAT ENDS WELL
Michael Hordern, Pippa Guard

ANTONY AND CLEOPATRA
Jane Lapotaire

AS YOU LIKE IT
Ian Charleson, Angela Down, Celia Johnson

THE COMEDY OF ERRORS
Roger Daltry

CORIOLANUS
Alan Howard, Irene Worth

CYMBELINE
Claire Bloom, Helen Mirren

HAMLET
Derek Jacobi, Patrick Stewart, Eric Porter

HENRY IV PART I
Jon Finch, Anthony Quayle

HENRY IV PART II
Jon Finch, Anthony Quayle

HENRY V
David Gwillim

HENRY VI PART I
Peter Benson, Trevor Peacock

HENRY VI PART II
Peter Benson, Julia Foster

HENRY VI PART III
Peter Benson, Bernard Hill

HENRY VIII
John Stride, Julian Glover

JULIUS CAESAR
Richard Pasco, Keith Michell

KING JOHN
Claire Bloom, Mary Morris

KING LEAR
Michael Hodern, John Shrapnel

LOVE'S LABOUR'S LOST
David Warner, Jenny Agutter

MACBETH
Nicol Williamson, Jane Lapotaire

MEASURE FOR MEASURE
Kate Nelligan

MERCHANT OF VENICE
Warren Mitchell, Gemma Jones

THE MERRY WIVES OF WINDSOR
Ben Kingsley, Richard Griffiths

MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM
Helen Mirren, Peter McEnery

MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING
Robert Lindsay, Cherie Lunghi

OTHELLO
Anthony Hopkins, Bob Hoskins

PERICLES
Mike Gwilym, Amanda Redman

RICHARD II
Derek Jacobi, Sir John Gielgud

RICHARD III
Michael Byrne, Brian Protheroe

ROMEO AND JULIET
Alan Rickman, Sir John Gielgud

THE TAMING OF THE SHREW
John Cleese

THE TEMPEST
Christopher Guard, Michael Hordern

TIMON OF ATHENS
Jonathan Pryce, John Shrapnel

TITUS ANDRONICUS
Eileen Atkins, Trevor Peacock

TROILUS AND CRESSIDA
Anton Lesser, Suzanne Burden|

TWELFTH NIGHT
Alec McCowen, Felicity Kendall

TWO GENTLEMEN OF VERONA
John Hudson, Joanne Pearce

THE WINTER'S TALE
Jeremy Kemp, Margaret Tyzack

College (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High School and college level research on all topics with multimedia
Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Videos cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance
Contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century

Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Browse by composer, choreographer, genre, performer, ensemble, and role.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for teacher training and development
*more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750+ hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary footage of students and teachers in classrooms

*many of the videos in this collection include supplementary materials to aid in their use in classroom discussions and assignments

*Search and browse by grade level; subject; topic; educational theory; and other

FedFlix
Featurese the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.

Films On Demand (TBR Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos on various topics
*32 total videos available
*14 video titles available on various topics from American & British literature

*15 video titles available on various topics from history, religion, and theater

These titles were purchased for APSU by the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) starting in 2005.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opera performances: Music, Theatre
Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple viewpoints on controversial topics
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

*Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
psychotherapy.net Videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
50 streaming videos for training in psychotherapy & counseling
Captions, searchable transcripts, clip-making/sharing/embedding and more.

Watch clinical demonstrations and live sessions, featuring most modalities and populations, and a rich collection of theoretical orientations.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of more than 250 complete plays
*Includes more than 500 hours of streaming video

*Contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries

*Users may browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields

Veterans' Oral History Project
The Tawani Foundation in partnership with the Pritzker Military Library, Fort Campbell Historical Foundation, Austin Peay State University’s History Department, and the Woodward Library have joined together to provide access to video-taped interviews and personal narratives of U.S. Veterans.
more...less...
The interviews will provide first-hand accounts of veterans in World War II (1939-1946) and the Korean War (1950-1955). In addition, interviews will include U.S. citizen civilians who were actively involved in supporting war efforts on the home front. Use the Search or Browse features to view items in the collection.

World History in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video covering events from 8000 BCE to 1980s
*Includes many hours of streaming video

*Contains more than 1,750 critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide

*Users may browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields

Subject Librarian

Michael Hooper

Email Me

Contact:

Library 323

931-221-7092

Subjects: General (All Subjects), Geography, Geology, Multimedia, Music, Music Therapy, News and Current Events

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

View a sample video from FedFlix

Moonwalk One, ca. 1970. This film details the comprehensive coverage surrounding the July 1969 launch of Apollo 11 astronauts Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin, and Michael Collins to the moon (94 minutes). See more in FedFlix.