LibGuides: Languages Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, linguistics, and folklore
*Lists international journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies

*Covers topics in modern language, literature, linguistics and folklore

*Covers items published from 1926 to the present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary by geographic location. Listen to DARE fieldwork recordings.
The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) is a multi-volume reference work that documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another place across the United States.

Challenging the popular notion that our language has been "homogenized" by the media and our mobile population, DARE demonstrates that there are many thousands of differences that characterize the dialect regions of the U.S.

DARE is based on face-to-face interviews carried out in all 50 states between 1965 and 1970 and on a comprehensive collection of written materials (diaries, letters, novels, histories, biographies, newspapers, government documents, etc.) that cover our history from the colonial period to the present.

The entries in DARE include regional pronunciations, variant forms, some etymologies, and regional and social distributions of the words and phrases.

A striking feature of DARE is its inclusion in the text of the Dictionary of selected maps that show where words were found in the 1,002 communities investigated during the fieldwork.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Online This link opens in a new window
Latin American language, history, culture & politics
*lists journal articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works

*covers topics in Latin American language, history, culture and politics

*covers items published from 1936 to the present
Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based language learning program
APSU members will be able to use Transparent Language Online anywhere to learn over 100 different languages through the APSU Library website and the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) website will provide access to anyone in Tennessee..

Transparent Language Online :
• Builds all four core skills of a language: listening, speaking, reading, and writing
• Offers 100+ languages to choose from
• Contains English lessons for speakers of over 25 different languages
• KidSpeak has kid-friendly lessons and interface in 6 languages
• Mobile apps are available
• You may save progress on lessons completed

Transparent Language requires all users to sign up for an account with a user name and password. Email is optional but recommended to access account and reset passwords.

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Languages Resources for Research

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection (Series 1 & 2) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, culture, civil rights, religion, and politics
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. Content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.

Content Includes:
*Approximately 60,000 historical articles
*Hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides
*Complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature and culture
*Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%)
*Hundreds of rare books by Latino-Hispanic Americans
*Over 3,000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals
*Over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscript content

--Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics.

--Series 2 presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary by geographic location. Listen to DARE fieldwork recordings.
The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) is a multi-volume reference work that documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another place across the United States.

Challenging the popular notion that our language has been "homogenized" by the media and our mobile population, DARE demonstrates that there are many thousands of differences that characterize the dialect regions of the U.S.

DARE is based on face-to-face interviews carried out in all 50 states between 1965 and 1970 and on a comprehensive collection of written materials (diaries, letters, novels, histories, biographies, newspapers, government documents, etc.) that cover our history from the colonial period to the present.

The entries in DARE include regional pronunciations, variant forms, some etymologies, and regional and social distributions of the words and phrases.

A striking feature of DARE is its inclusion in the text of the Dictionary of selected maps that show where words were found in the 1,002 communities investigated during the fieldwork.
Dictionary of Old English (DOE): A to I Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language
*The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.

*The Dictionary draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.
Dictionary of Old English (DOE): Web Corpus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains at least one copy of every surviving Old English text
*The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date.

*As such, the DOE Web Corpus represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin, or almost five times the collected works of Shakespeare. Compiled as part of the Dictionary of Old English project at the University of Toronto, the texts in the Corpus are XML-encoded and are fully conformant with the Text Encoding Initiative Guidelines (TEI-P5 2007).

*The interface for the Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus was developed by the Humanities Text Initiative at the University of Michigan.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Online This link opens in a new window
Latin American language, history, culture & politics
*lists journal articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works

*covers topics in Latin American language, history, culture and politics

*covers items published from 1936 to the present
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language magazines
Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines offering a wide range of content both from and about Latin America. Provides quality reference material — not simply translations of English-language materials —on an interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.

*Lists citations and summaries of articles, and entire text of some articles in the 60 most popular Spanish-language magazines and pamphlets

*Covers items published in the last four years
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Phonetic transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts
IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 11826 titles! The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.

IPA Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. To further the comprehension and correct pronunciation of foreign language texts, IPA Source provides IPA transcriptions and literal translations for immediate download. MP3 recordings of various song and aria texts in Latin, Italian, German, and French are also included.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
Latin American Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries
Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on over 25,000 journals and book series that cover literature, language, dramatic arts, history of printing, and other topics
The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.

Each journal or series entry provides detailed information, including:

* Publication details, such as publisher, sponsoring organization, ISSN, frequency, and year of first publication

* Editorial policies, such as scope, including subject terms assigned by the directory editor; peer review; average number of readers per manuscript; publication language or languages; acceptance of book reviews, brief notes, abstracts, and advertising; copyright policy; and charges associated with publication

* Contact details for editors, including e-mail addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, and mailing addresses for manuscripts

* Submission requirements, including recommended style and format for article submission, article length, and blind-submission requirements

* Electronic availability, including URLs for article submission and links to open-access online content where available

* Subscription information with full subscription contact information, distributors, subscription rates, and circulation numbers

* Useful statistics, such as the average number of manuscripts of various types submitted to a journal each year and the number published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, linguistics, and folklore
*Lists international journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies

*Covers topics in modern language, literature, linguistics and folklore

*Covers items published from 1926 to the present
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Etymology and definitions
*The OED is the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day.

*The varieties of English covered include British English, American English, Australian English, New Zealand English, the Englishes of the Indian subcontinent, Southern Africa, and the Caribbean, among others.

*The Oxford English Dictionary is not an arbiter of proper usage, despite its widespread reputation to the contrary. The Dictionary is intended to be descriptive, not prescriptive. In other words, its content should be viewed as an objective reflection of English language usage, not a subjective collection of usage ‘dos’ and ‘don'ts’
Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based language learning program
APSU members will be able to use Transparent Language Online anywhere to learn over 100 different languages through the APSU Library website and the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) website will provide access to anyone in Tennessee..

Transparent Language Online :
• Builds all four core skills of a language: listening, speaking, reading, and writing
• Offers 100+ languages to choose from
• Contains English lessons for speakers of over 25 different languages
• KidSpeak has kid-friendly lessons and interface in 6 languages
• Mobile apps are available
• You may save progress on lessons completed

Transparent Language requires all users to sign up for an account with a user name and password. Email is optional but recommended to access account and reset passwords.

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases

Subject Guide

Stephanie Bandel

Email Me

Contact:

Felix G. Woodward Library
Room 319

(931) 221-7611

Subjects: Education, Languages, Literature

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.