LibGuides: International Studies Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International news and perspectives on current issues and countries
*provides background information, historical context, contemporary stances, and the impact of each of the issues and news events featured

*contains more than 190 country portals that contain country and cultural information, statistics, maps, flags, images, podcasts and more

*includes multimedia elements such as images, podcasts, audio and video
Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based language learning program
APSU members will be able to use Transparent Language Online anywhere to learn over 100 different languages through the APSU Library website and the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) website will provide access to anyone in Tennessee..

Transparent Language Online :
• Builds all four core skills of a language: listening, speaking, reading, and writing
• Offers 100+ languages to choose from
• Contains English lessons for speakers of over 25 different languages
• KidSpeak has kid-friendly lessons and interface in 6 languages
• Mobile apps are available
• You may save progress on lessons completed

Transparent Language requires all users to sign up for an account with a user name and password. Email is optional but recommended to access account and reset passwords.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, National, and International newspapers
*Contains full-text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers

*Contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers

*Full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

Welcome to the Research Guide for International Studies

International Studies Resources for Research

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection (Series 1 & 2) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, culture, civil rights, religion, and politics
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. Content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.

Content Includes:
*Approximately 60,000 historical articles
*Hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides
*Complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature and culture
*Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%)
*Hundreds of rare books by Latino-Hispanic Americans
*Over 3,000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals
*Over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscript content

--Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics.

--Series 2 presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form.
CQ Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History, Government, Political Science (Primary Documents)
*Contains over 2,500 primary documents
*covers history, government, and political science
*includes 1972 through the present
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current issues and news topics
CQ Researcheris an award winning publication that’s been around for more than 90 years. It provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research

*contains articles reviewing the history, statistics, and pro/con viewpoints of current-interest topics

*covers a wide variety of topics and the Issue Tracker feature allows you to track the progress of an issue through several decades

*articles published 1923 to present
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International news and perspectives on current issues and countries
*provides background information, historical context, contemporary stances, and the impact of each of the issues and news events featured

*contains more than 190 country portals that contain country and cultural information, statistics, maps, flags, images, podcasts and more

*includes multimedia elements such as images, podcasts, audio and video
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Online This link opens in a new window
Latin American language, history, culture & politics
*lists journal articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works

*covers topics in Latin American language, history, culture and politics

*covers items published from 1936 to the present
Hein Online Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials. Includes federal laws, regulations, case law, and reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General
The HeinOnline Academic package was specifically created so universities may replace existing resources for a fraction of the cost. The academic research package features more than 100 million pages of content and covers more than 100 subject areas. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Unveil the history of America with the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, equipped with unique tools to help users quickly locate specific content.

Includes U.S. Federal & State Case Law

HeinOnline Academic also includes Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service that features powerful “best-case-first” tools that make research faster than ever. This service provides subscribers access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels and enables users to access the full text of cases through their HeinOnline subscription without the hassle of using multiple research databases.

See https://home.heinonline.org/academic/ for a list of all collections included in the Hein Academic Package.

Subjects Include:
Political Science
History
Criminal Justice
Religious Studies
International Relations
Women’s Studies
Pre-law
Business/Economics
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new window
Military and Security studies, Political Science
*Includes homeland security strategy, policy and research documents published by:
-Federal, state and local government agencies
-International governments and institutions
-Research institutions, universities, think tanks

*One can filter search results by topic, geographic region or event
Holocaust Studies: Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of primary sources related to the Holocaust
APSU has access to the Holocaust studies bundle within Archives Unbound. Deep and broad in its coverage, this collection incorporates anti-Semitic propaganda, correspondence from prisoners, documents from resistance groups, bank records from Nazi financiers, eyewitness accounts from concentration camps, and much more.

Available collections include:
*Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
*German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
*Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
*Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection
*Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation *Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949
*Nazism in Poland: The Diary of Governor-General Hans Frank
*Nuremburg Laws and Nazi Annulment of Jewish German Nationality
*SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries
*Testaments to the Holocaust. Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London
*The Holocaust and Records of Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
*The Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
*U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language magazines
Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines offering a wide range of content both from and about Latin America. Provides quality reference material — not simply translations of English-language materials —on an interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.

*Lists citations and summaries of articles, and entire text of some articles in the 60 most popular Spanish-language magazines and pamphlets

*Covers items published in the last four years
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, National, and International newspapers
*Contains full-text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers

*Contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers

*Full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Southeast Asian Studies: Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of primary sources related to Vietnam and Southeast Asian studies
Colonialism, Communism, military conflict in Vietnam, and more pivotal topics and events are covered extensively in primary sources providing perspectives on complex issues and ideals. Newspapers, official reports, and many other documents dating from 1910 to 1975 help researchers discover multiple facets.
Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based language learning program
APSU members will be able to use Transparent Language Online anywhere to learn over 100 different languages through the APSU Library website and the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) website will provide access to anyone in Tennessee..

Transparent Language Online :
• Builds all four core skills of a language: listening, speaking, reading, and writing
• Offers 100+ languages to choose from
• Contains English lessons for speakers of over 25 different languages
• KidSpeak has kid-friendly lessons and interface in 6 languages
• Mobile apps are available
• You may save progress on lessons completed

Transparent Language requires all users to sign up for an account with a user name and password. Email is optional but recommended to access account and reset passwords.

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

General Resources may also contain many useful articles or other types of information on your topic.
Click the link below for a complete list of General Resources.

General Article Databases (All Subjects)
by Michael Hooper Last Updated May 22, 2024 506 views this year

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases