LibGuides: Art and Design Collection Development Guidelines: New Books & Videos

General eBook Collections

The resources below cover a number of subject areas and disciplines.

Cambridge eBooks and Partner Presses: Full EBA This link opens in a new window
Over 50,000 eBooks covering multiple academic subject areas
This collection of eBooks is part of an Evidence Based Acquisition (EBA) program. This means APSU will have access to over 50,000 eBooks for a one-year period ending February 14, 2026. After that date, a small amount of most-used titles will be selected for permanent access. This includes leading titles in over 30 subjects across the Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Technology and Medicine. Cambridge academic books have received over 440 awards in the past 3 years and are a key resource for your research needs.
Titles are licensed for unlimited users and individual chapters may be viewed online in HTML format or downloaded in PDF format for reading offline. Explore leading books across multiple disciplines, download multiple chapters, send to Kindle and DropBox and easily export citations.
Subject areas covered by this collection include the following:
History
Earth and Environmental Sciences with Geography
Mathematics, Statistics and Probability
Religion
Politics and International Relations
Sociology
Law
Classical Studies
Life Sciences
Language and Linguistics
Medicine
Visual & Performing Arts (Art, Drama and Theatre, Film, Media, Mass Communication, Music)
Physics & Astronomy
Computer Science
Literature
Psychology
Philosophy
Anthropology
Economics & Management
Archaeology
Engineering
eBook Collection: EBSCO (Academic Collection, TBR subject collections, and titles formerly in NetLibray COMBINED) This link opens in a new window
*This growing subscription package (EBSCO Academic collection) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 161,000 titles are included in this package, and additional titles are added to the package each month. Also included in this collection are thousands of previously purchased NetLibrary eBooks from the SoliNet shared collections. NetLibrary was purchased by EBSCO in 2010.

*Books in the Academic Collection have unlimited access and many can be downloaded for offline viewing. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
eBook Collection: EBSCO (Academic Collection ONLY) This link opens in a new window
*Search Only titles with unlimited simultaneous users and download capability
*All subjects: Over 132,000 online titles as of January 2015
*Titles added monthly
*This growing subscription package (EBSCO Academic collection) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 132,000 titles are included in this package as of November 2012, and additional titles are added to the package each month.

*Download options are available on your personal computer for transfer to a mobile device. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
Electronic Book Collection containing over 134,000 titles as of October 2016. All titles can be viewed online and most downloaded to PC, iOS, or Android.
*Formerly known as ebrary, eBook Central (Academic Complete) is a collection of around 134,000 electronic books provided by Felix G. Woodward Library. The content for this collection covers a wide variety of subject areas and all the titles within this collection can be searched simultaneously. Access is provided to these titles through the link above as well as through the Austin Library Catalog.

Most eBook Central titles include unlimited access and can be downloaded by chapter in PDF format or in full through Adobe Digital Editions or apps for iOS and Android. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebrary for more info.

Around 300 titles may have limited access and only allow 1 user to open the the book at a time (download option not available). Follow the guidelines at the bottom of this text for these titles*.

*There is no time limit for reading a limited ebrary book. However, if another user wants to use the book and places it in their queue, it will be passed on to the next user in the queue after 15 minutes of inactivity. (Being active means turning pages, doing full-text searches, making notes, etc).
Electronic Books This link opens in a new window
Catalog of online electronic books
*Electronic Books is an OCLC catalog of online electronic books cataloged by OCLC members and available through libraries worldwide

*Dates Covered: All cataloged ebooks to the present

*Titles Covered: Over 665,000 books in the database.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
All subjects (Encyclopedias & Reference)
*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.

*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource
World Book Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia
*World Book Online provides access to the following sections:

Early Learning,

World Book Kids,

World Book Discover,

World Book Student,

World Book Advanced,

World Book Timelines,

World Book EBooks,

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos