Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Design Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

Art + Design Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The Department of Art + Design’s vision is to provide a creative environment that enables students to ask questions, think critically, and take risks as they gain the knowledge, skills, and confidence necessary for a meaningful, productive life and work as critical makers in a global society. 

Accrediting body:

All programs in the Department of Art + Design are accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design.

Degrees offered:

The program offers the Bachelor of Arts degree with the option of two concentrations: Art Education and Studio Art, as well as the Bachelor of Fine Arts degree with the option of two concentrations: Graphic Design and Studio Art. The program offers four minors (non-degree) with the options of Art History, Graphic Design, Photography, and Studio Art. Art + Design classes are also offered as part of the general education core. 

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support (see description of collecting levels)

Targeted Areas:

  • Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Sculpture
  • Drawing, Design, Illustration
  • Painting
  • Print Media
  • Decorative arts
  • Arts in general
  • Photography
  • Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts

Focus Areas:

  • Visual arts
  • Art History
  • Graphic Design
  • Illustration
  • Sculpture

Related Subject Areas

  • Classical Studies (archeology)
  • Communication (journalism, graphic design, and video)
  • Computer Information Technology (web technology)
  • Education (Art Education)
  • History (pictorial works)
  • Religious Studies (history, iconography of religions, churches, orders, and saints)

Languages:

English

Geographical Limitations:

None

Chronological Limits:

None

Noted Publishers:

ARTBOOK Distributed Art Publishers, Getty PublicationsMIT PressYale University Press

Preferred Dates of Publication:

2009 - present

Types of Resources:

monographs, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, anthologies, videos; textbooks may be considered for information not readily obtainable elsewhere

Notes and Other Considerations:

None

Review Sources:

Choice Reviews Online, Resources for College Libraries, and caa.revie

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
  Visual arts  
N 1-58 General 3
N 61-72 Theory, Philosophy, Aesthetics of the visual arts 3
N 81-390 Study and teaching, Research 3
N 400-3990 Art museums, galleries, etc. 3
N 4390-5098 Exhibitions 2
N 5198-5299 Private collections and collectors 2
N 5300-7418 History 3
N 7420-7525.8 General works 3
N 7560-8266

Special subjects of art

3
N 8350-8356 Art as a profession, Artists 3
N 8510-8553 Art studios, materials, etc. 3
N 8554-8585 Examination and conservation of works of art 3
N 8600-8675 Economics of art 3
N 8700-9165 Art and the state. Public art 3
  Architecture  
NA 1-60 General 3
NA 100-130 Architecture and the state 1
NA 190-1555.5 History 3
NA 1995 Architecture as a profession 0
NA 2000-2320 Study and teaching. Research 1
NA 2335-2360 Competitions 0
NA 2400-2460 Museums. Exhibitions 0
NA 2500-2599 General works 3
NA 2599.5-2599.9 Architectural criticism 1
NA 2695-2793 Architectural drawing and design 3
NA 2835-4050 Details and decoration 3
  Special classes of buildings  
NA 4100-4145      Classed by material 1
NA 4150-4160      Classed by form 1
NA 4170-8480      Classed by use 3
NA 4170-(7020)           Public buildings 3
NA 4590-5621                Religious architecture 3
NA 7100-7884           Domestic architecture. Houses. Dwellings 3
NA 7910-8125           Clubhouses, guild houses, etc. 0
NA 8200-8260           Farm architecture 1
NA 8300-8480           Outbuildings, gates, fences, etc. 1
NA 9000-9428 Aesthetics of cities. City planning and beautifying 3
  Sculpture  
NB 1-50 General  3
NB 60-1115 History including collective biography 3
NB 1120-1133 Study and teaching 3
NB 1134-1134.4 Competitions 0
NB 1135-1150 General works 2
NB 1160-1195 Designs and technique 2
NB 1199-1200 Restoration of sculpture 3
NB 1203-1270 Special materials 1
NB 1272-1291 Mobiles, color, sculpture gardens, etc. 2
  Special forms  
NB 1293-1310      Portrait sculpture 0
NB 1312-1313      Equestrian statues 0
NB 1330-1685      Sculptural monuments 0
NB 1750-1793      Religious monuments and shrines 0
NB 1800-1880      Sepulchral monuments 1
NB 1910-1952 Special subjects 1
  Drawing. Design. Illustration  
NC 1-45 General Including collective biography 2
NC 50-266 History of drawing 3
NC 390-670 Study and teaching 2
NC 673-677 Competitions 0
NC 703-725

General works

1
NC 730-758 Technique 3
NC 760-825 Special subjects 3
NC 845-915 Graphic art materials 3
NC 930 Conservation and restoration of drawings 0
NC 950-(996) Illustration 3
NC 997-1003 Commercial art. Advertising art 3
NC 1280-1284 Printed ephemera. Imagerie populaire 0
NC 1300-1766 Pictorial humor, caricature, etc. 3
NC 1800-1850 Posters 3
NC 1860-1896 Greeting cards, postcards, invitations, book jackets, etc. 1
NC 1920-1940 Copying, enlarging, and reduction of drawings 0
  Painting  
ND 25-(48) General 3
ND 49-813 History 3
ND 1115-1120 Study and teaching 1
ND 1130-1156 General works 3
ND 1288-1460 Special subjects 3
ND 1290-1293      Human figure 3
ND 1300-1337      Portraits 3
ND 1340-1367      Landscape painting 3
ND 1370-1375      Marine painting 1
ND 1380-1383      Animals. Birds 1
ND 1385-1388      Sports. Hunting, fishing, etc. 1
ND 1390-1393      Still life 3
ND 1400-1403      Flowers. Fruit. Trees 1
ND 1410-1460      Other subjects 2
ND 1470-1625 Technique and materials 3
ND 1630-1662 Examination and conservation of paintings 2
ND 1700-2495 Watercolor paintings 3
ND 2550-2733 Mural painting 3
ND 2889-3416 Illuminating of manuscripts and books 3
  Print media  
NE 1-978 Printmaking and engraving 3
NE 1-90      General 1
NE 218-(330)

     Engraved portraits. Self-portraits

0
NE 380      Conservation and restoration of prints 0
NE 390-395      Collected works 0
NE 400-773      History of printmaking 3
NE 830-898      General works 3
NE 951-975.4      Tradesmen's cards 1
NE 977-978      Equipment 0
NE 1000-1352 Wood engraving 3
NE 1000-1027      General 1
NE 1030-1169.3      History 1
NE 1220-1233      General works 1
NE 1310-1326.5      Japanese prints 2
NE 1330-1336      Linoleum block prints 1
NE 1340      Fish prints 0
NE 1344-1345      Potato prints 0
NE 1350-1352      Other materials used in relief printing 1
NE 1400-1879 Metal engraving 0
NE 1400-1422      General 0
NE 1620-1630      General works 1
NE 1634-1749      History 0
NE 1750-1775      Copper engraving 0
NE 1850-1879      Color prints 0
NE 1940-2232.5 Etching and aquatint 0
NE 1940-1975      General 0
NE 1980-2055.5      History 2
NE 2120-2140      General works 3
NE 2141-2149      Special subjects 1
NE 2220-2225      Dry point 1
NE 2236-2240.6 Serigraphy 1
NE 2242-2246 Monotype (Printmaking) 1
NE 2250-2570 Lithography 3
NE 2685-2685.8 Lumiprints 0
NE 2690 Engraving on glass 0
NE 2800-2880 Printing of engravings 1
NE 3000-3002 Copying art. Copying machine art  
  Decorative arts  
NK 1-570 General 1
NK 600-806 History 3
NK 1135-1149.5 Arts and crafts movement 2
NK 1160-1590 Decoration and ornament. Design 2
NK 1160-1174      General 3
NK 1175-(1498)      History 3
NK 1505-1535      General works 3
NK 1548-1590      Special subjects for design 1
NK 1648-1678 Religious art 0
NK 1700-2138 Interior decoration. House decoration 1
NK 1700-2138      General. History, etc. Including special rooms 2
NK 2140-2180      Decorative painting 0
NK 2190-2192      Church decoration 0
NK 2200-2750 Furniture 3
NK 2775-2898 Rugs and carpets 2
NK 2975-3049 Tapestries 1
NK 3175-3296.3 Upholstery. Drapery 0
NK 3375-3496.3 Wallpapers 0
NK 3600-(9990) Other arts and art industries 3
NK 3700-4695      Ceramics 3
NK 4700-4890      Costume 1
NK 5100-5440      Glass 3
NK 5500-6060      Glyptic arts 2
NK 6400-8459      Metalwork 3
NK 8800-9505.5      Textiles 2
NK 9600-9955      Woodwork 2
  Art in general  
NX 1-260      General 3
NX 280-410      Study and teaching. Research 2
NX 411-415      Competitions 0
NX 420-430      Exhibitions 1
NX 440-632      History of the arts 3
NX 650-694      Special subjects, characters, persons, religious arts, etc. 1
NX 700-750      Patronage of the arts 2
NX 760-770      Administration of the arts 1
NX 775-777      Voluntarism in the arts 0
NX 798-820      Arts centers and facilities 0
  Photography  
TR 250-265      Cameras 1
TR 287-500      Photographic processing. Darkroom technique 3
TR 504-508      Transparencies. Diapositives 0
TR 510-545      Color photography 1
TR 550-581      Studio and laboratory 1
TR 590-620      Lighting 1
TR 624-835      Applied photography Including artistic, commercial, medical photography, photocopying                                 processes 3
TR 845-899 Cinematography. Motion pictures 3
TR 925-1050 Photomechanical processes 2

 

Contact Information

Department of Art + Design

Library Liaison:
Gina Garber

Faculty Representative:
Dr. Tammy Smithers
 

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

[Department] Liaison

Gina Garber's picture
Gina Garber
Contact:
Felix G. Woodward Library

Room 320 - 3rd floor

931-221-7028
Website

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.