New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources: July 2025

Dynamic Health CDS + Skills is an innovative, evidence-based resource designed to help nurses and health professionals master critical skills, obtain fast, accurate answers to clinical questions, and foster a culture of evidence-based practice and critical thinking, leading to improved patient outcomes.

The Dynamic Health app is also available to install on your mobile device.  See installation and authentication instructions.

Features available in Dynamic Health CDS + Skills:

Increase Confidence at the Point of Care

• Expertly Curated and Concise Content:
  Using CINAHL, Mosby, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, American Nursing Association, American Nurses Credentialing Center and hundreds of other resources
• Leadership Resources:
  Content covering professional development, case management, navigating workplace challenges, and more.
• Proprietary Videos & Images:
  High-quality media provide visual and practical demonstrations to better grasp essential skills and increase confidence.

Closing the Health Equity Gap
& Addressing Health Disparities

• Culturally Sensitive Care Skills:
  Ensure patients’ medical needs are met while supporting their culture and traditions.
• Identify and Reduce Implicit Bias:
  Resources to help clinicians provide more equitable and compassionate health care.
• Home Health & Hospice:
  Recommendations and guidelines from key publications.

#1 nursing Clinical Decision Support (CDS) solution available.

• MCN Solutions:
  A complete solution for healthcare organizations policy and procedure creation, upkeep, and management needs.
• HealthStream:
  Earn CE credit and access skills checklists.

JSTOR contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Journal Archive Collections:

• Arts & Sciences I Collection
• Arts & Sciences II Collection
• Arts & Sciences III Collection
• Arts & Sciences IV Collection
• Arts & Sciences V Collection
• Arts & Sciences VI Collection
• Arts & Sciences VII Collection
• Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
• Arts & Sciences IX Collection
• Arts & Sciences X Collection
• Arts & Sciences XI Collection
• Arts & Sciences XII Collection
• Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
• Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
• Arts & Sciences XV Collection
   
• Business IV
• Hebrew Journals
• Ireland
• Life Sciences
• Lives of Literature
• Public Health Journals
• Security Studies
  
  Austin Peay State University also subscribes to current issues of the following individual journals on the JSTOR platform:
   
• American Mathematical Monthly
• College Mathematics Journal
• Ethnomusicology
• Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
• Mathematics Magazine
• Mathematics Teacher
• Nineteenth-Century Literature
• Social Problems

Primary Sources (JSTOR) contains the following collections:

19th Century British Pamphlets
19th Century British Pamphlets is a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain. Created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK) with funding from the JISC Digitisation Programme, the collection is comprised of more than 26,000 important pamphlets held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
The collection consists of more than 190,000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral histories, and speeches.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
The collection links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. It includes more than 57,000 objects, including photographs, 3D models, GIS data, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, images of rock art, excavation reports, manuscripts, traveler’s accounts, historical and antiquarian maps, books, articles, and other scholarly research.

Consisting of nearly 3 million objects, Global Plants is the largest community-contributed database in which herbaria share their plant type specimens and experts determine and update plant names.

Global Plants is a database of plant type specimens, reference works, and primary sources (diaries, correspondence, illustrations, photographs) and is an essential resource for research in botany, ecology, and conservation studies. It provides access to foundational content vital to plant science - plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. 

The Global Plants database contains more than 2 million high-resolution type specimens, and this number continues to grow. Partner-contributed reference works and primary sources, such as collectors’ correspondence and diaries, paintings, drawings, and photographs, are also housed in Global Plants. Highlights include reference works and books such as The Useful Plants of West Tropical Africa and Flowering Plants of South Africa; illustrations from Curtis's Botanical Magazine; and Kew’s Directors' Correspondence comprising handwritten letters and memoranda from the senior staff of Kew from 1841 to 1928.