This guide provides an overview of the literature review and its place in a research project and contains resources for finding the information you need at APSU Library.
This highly accessible book guides students through the production of either a traditional or a systematic literature review, clearly explaining the difference between the two types of review, the advantages and disadvantages of both, and the skills needed. It gives practical advice on reading and organizing relevant literature and critically assessing the reviewed field.
Call Number: electronic book (click above for access)
ISBN: 0335238866
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
Why do a literature review? What literature is relevant? How do I appraise my findings? How do I present my literature review? This step-by-step guide simplifies the process of reviewing published literature, provides a guide to searching, appraising and comparing literature, and offers practical tips on writing up.
From writing a review question to writing up a review, this practical book presents a useful workbook companion for students undertaking their first literature review for study or clinical practice improvement.
Find journal articles, books, and theses on any subject
Use this link to access Google Scholar and links to "Search for Full Text at APSU Library" will be available in the search results.
Features of Google Scholar:
*Search all scholarly literature from one convenient place
*Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications
*Locate the complete document through your library or on the web
*Keep up with recent developments in any area of research
*Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses in full-text from universities in 88 countries
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
Subject coverage
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Science
• Technology
• Agriculture
• Social Sciences
• Arts
• Humanities
Database of scholarly journals with publication information, submission experience data, and peer review indicators. Also included is Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors.
Cabells Journalytics, our searchable database of information and insightful metrics for verified, reputable journals, covers 18 academic disciplines and provides intelligence on more than 11,000 international scholarly publications.
Cabells Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors, currently lists more than 13,000 deceitful publications. Through continued partnerships with major academic publishers, journal editors, scholarly societies, accreditation agencies, and other independent databases,
Cabells provides accurate, up-to-date information about academic journals to more than 750 universities worldwide.
Find items to include in your literature review
Search for articles to include in your literature by using the databases in the list below. Books can be found by searching the library catalog by keyword in the box on the right.
Doing Your Literature Review by 
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by 
How to Do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing by 
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
