It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstoris a collection of nearly one million digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and the social sciences. It includes a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
Streaming audio of classical music Note:Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online: Listening.
Classical Music Library includes all major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
Artists include: Glenn Gould, Placido Domingo, Maria Callas, Claudio Abbado, Olga Borodina, Ileana Cotrubas, Hilary Hahn, Thomas Hampson, Radu Lupu, Karita Mattila, Margaret Leng Tan, Kiri Te Kanawa, Mitsuko Uchida, Pinchas Zuckerman.
*consists of over 1 million tracks and over 75,000 albums (growing daily)
*Access to full playlist functionality - create and save up to 50 playlists
Free access to over 350,000 music scores and 40,000 music recordings.
The International Music Scores Library Project (IMSLP) was created in 2006 by Edward W. Guo.
Based in Canada, the project seeks to make public domain musical scores freely available on the internet through the Petrucci Library. The digital library holds 350,000 scores, from works by well-known masters such as Sibelius and Verdi, to exciting new compositions shared by the IMSLP community; the library also holds 40,000 recordings that stream on the site.
IMSLP follows Canadian copyright laws because the two main IMSLP servers are physically hosted in Canada.
Streaming access to over 10 million music tracks from a wide variety of genres and locations across the world
Music Online: Listening combines all the Alexander Street Press streaming music resources: This includes the following resources: American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
Music Online: Listening provides coverage in breadth and depth across all the key musical genres:
Classical: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.
World: Music from 169 countries and more than 1,000 cultural groups
American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.
Popular: Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.
Here is a sample of the acclaimed artists that feature in our recordings:
Classical: Glenn Gould, Placido Domingo, Maria Callas, Claudio Abbado, Olga Borodina, Ileana Cotrubas, Hilary Hahn, Thomas Hampson, Radu Lupu, Karita Mattila, Margaret Leng Tan, Kiri Te Kanawa, Mitsuko Uchida, Pinchas Zuckerman.
Jazz: Bing Crosby, Buddy Guy, Charlie Parker, Chuck Mangione, Dinah Washington, Diana Krall, Dixie Dregs, Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James, Sonny Rollins, Dizzy Gillespie, Thelonius Monk, Stan Getz.
World: Ali Jihad Racy, Adama Dramé, Carlos Do Carmo, Parisa, Tran Quang Haï, Katrien Delavier, Hussein El Masry, Rassegna, Oedo Sukeroku Taiko, El Son Entero, Simon Shaneem, I Wayan Sadra, and Fawzy Al-Aiedy.
American: Pete Seeger, Isaac Hayes, Al Jackson, Booker T. Jones, Robert Byrd, Memphis Slim, Otis Redding, BB King, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Sweet Honey in the Rock.
Popular: Gloria Gaynor, Lou Reed, Iggy Pop, Kool & The Gang, Edith Piaf, Rod Stewart, The Sex Pistols, A Flock of Seagulls, Tanya Tucker, Naughty by Nature, Wu-Tang Clan, Liberace.
Also contains unique, rare, and exclusive recordings:
EMI: Almost 50,000 recordings featuring labels such as Blue Note, Virgin Classics, Angel Records, Capitol Records, Chrysalis, and Narada.
Universal: Nearly 10,000 recordings featuring labels like Verve, Motown, A&M, Decca, Polygram, MCA, and Island Def Jam.
Smithsonian: More than 40,000 recordings available from the Smithsonian’s archives, including the entire output of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, Folkways Records, Cook Records, Dyer-Bennet Records, Fast Folk, Monitor Records, and Paredon Records.
Archives: Unique and previously unpublished recordings from important archives including the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress, the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University in South Africa, and the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE) in India.
Specially recorded: Exclusive audio recordings of hundreds of traditional American folk songs by acclaimed folklorist/folksinger Jerry Silverman.
The National Jukebox, developed by the Library of Congress with assets provided by Sony Music Entertainment, offers free online access to 10,000 rare historic sound recordings produced in the U.S. between the years 1901 and 1925.
Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
*streaming video for 37 Shakespeare plays from the BBC
*includes performances by Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent, John Gielgud,Ben Kingsley,Claire Bloom, Anthony Hopkins, Michael York and Derek Jacobi\
*Closed Captioned available
1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries
Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
*Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print and each play is extensively indexed
Contains over 250 full-text plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century
*Brings together the full text of 200 plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century
*Many of the plays are previously unpublished or hard to find, and they represent a wealth of dramatic material that is often overlooked or inaccessible.
*Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama—melding conventional dramatic form with ancient storytelling and ritual performance elements, experimenting with traditional ideas of time and narrative, or challenging Western dramatic structure.
*Begins in the early 1930s and progresses through the 20th century
*The collection represents groups across the United States and Canada