It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: Digital Version from Gale American Fiction archive
Publication Date: 1850
After Poe's death in 1849, "The Works of the Late Edgar Allan Poe" was the first authorized collection of his writing. Permission was granted to Rufus Griswold (editor) and J.S Redfield (printer) to publish the collection. The works were first printed in two volumes in early 1850, with a third volume released in late 1850. The fourth volume was not released until 1856.
Off Campus Access
When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.
If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask a Librarian.
Literature Primary Source Resources (subscribed by APSU)
Fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century
American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I, including thousands never before available online. This landmark digital collection is based on authoritative bibliographies including Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography, widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, and Geoffrey D. Smith’s American Fiction, 1901-1925: A Bibliography, comprising nearly three-quarters of all adult fiction published in the United States during this time period.
The 17,500 titles featured in American Fiction, 1774-1920 include:
Adventure novels, travels and sketches
Works by minority writers
Popular genre titles
Short stories collections
Works from often-studied and award-winning authors
Archive of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, culture, civil rights, religion, and politics
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. Content indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
*Approximately 60,000 historical articles
*Hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides
*Complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature and culture
*Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%)
*Hundreds of rare books by Latino-Hispanic Americans
*Over 3,000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals
*Over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscript content
--Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics.
--Series 2 presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form.
*brings together 80,000 pages and an estimated 6,200 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present
*materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors
*Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before
Comprehensive collection of reference materials related to Shakespeare, including his complete works, historical and contextual information, guides and annotated editions, and multimedia resources.
Cambridge Shakespeare includes:
*The complete bestselling New Cambridge Shakespeare series (41 volumes)
*The New Cambridge Shakespeare: The Early Quartos series (7 volumes)
Shakespeare in Production (14 volumes)
*The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare; over 300 transhistorical, international and interdisciplinary essays on Shakespeare and contexts
*A new version of Emma Smith’s The Cambridge Shakespeare Guide, exclusive to Cambridge Shakespeare
*Multimedia resources for each work, curated by the Folger Shakespeare Library
*The platform will be updated with new content as soon as it is published for no additional cost, ensuring access to the most up-to-date editions
Features & Functionality:
*A curated resource page for each of Shakespeare's works, including:
*A concise guide to the work by Emma Smith
*Annotated edition(s) of the text (New Cambridge Shakespeare, Shakespeare in Production, The Early Quartos)
*Relevant critical essays
*Resources from the Folger Shakespeare Library
*Ability to switch between explanatory, performance-based and textual notes
*User friendly navigation and full-text search
*Ability to toggle notes on and off, presenting an uncluttered and customizable reading experience
*Ability to view and download content in both HTML and PDF formats
*Extensive cross-referencing within and between Shakespeare’s works
Primary source collections for the 18th and 19th Century (cross-search the Gale products Sabin Americana, ECCO and NCCO)
Gale Primary Sources is a full-text primary source database that cross-searches Gale's Sabin Americana (1500-1926), Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO), and Nineteenth-Century Collections Online (NCCO).
*English, with selected works of particular importance (approximately 25% of the collection) presented in Spanish
*Draws from three major sources: the world of Aztlán, the mythical homeland of the Aztecs prior to Cortez; the Spanish heritage of the national homelands of the writers; and the intersection of these two with Anglo culture
*Contains approximately 200 novels and many hundreds of short stories; 20,000 pages of poetry; and 400 plays.
*Provides access to 29,000 titles (more than 6 million pages of text) and offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.
*Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides and documents from sermons and political tracts to legislation and literature.
*Takes works from Joseph Sabin’s Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and makes them available online
An online image database of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, or manuscripts made in the tradition of books before printing. As of September 2012, the DS website held records for 5,300 manuscripts and for 24,300 images.
MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books with 19th century imprints.
VWWP is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.