LibGuides: Medical Studies Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medicine, nursing, dentistry
*Lists citations and summaries of journal articles

*Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and preclinical sciences

*Covers items published from 1966

"Search for Full-Text @ APSU" option is available from the abstract view of each citation
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing, public health, and other allied health fields
*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters
*provides full text for 1300 journals, legal cases, and clinical trials
*covers topics in nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, public health and radiology
*covers items published from 1937 to the present
eBook Collection: EBSCO (Medical Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 2,000 ebooks focusing on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas.
Designed for use in clinical settings, medical libraries and academic medical institutions, a subscription to EBSCO Health's eBook Medical Collection offers nearly 2,000 hand-selected, quality titles that focus on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas.

*Download options are available on your personal computer for transfer to a mobile device. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medicine, nutrition, fitness, public health
* lists citations and summaries of articles and entire text of some articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, and reference books

*covers fitness, medicine, nutrition, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs

*covers items published in the last four years

*included are:

health/medical journals
health care general interest publications
topical overviews from Clinical Reference Systems
PDR Family Guides
Gale encyclopedias
other reference sources

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases

Welcome to the Medical Studies Research Guide

Medical Studies Resources for Research

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON
Biological Abstracts (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological and Life Sciences
*covers biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science
*indexes over 4,200 journals from 100 countries and includes over 11.3 million records
*covers items published from 1926-present
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Biological and medical sciences
*an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research
*includes a portfolio of over 130 journals
*research articles can be browsed and viewed without registering, but if you wish to search the BioMed Central site, you do need to register
BoardVitals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Exam Question banks for United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) Step 1, Step 2, and Step 3 are available.
Board Vitals is the leading test preparation platform for the Medical Specialties. They select the best questions from three major publishers, faculty from top 10 Universities, and over 150 top-tier Physician contributors.

APSU has access to the following question banks:

USMLE Step 1
USMLE Step 1, Part 2
USMLE Step 2
USMLE Step 3
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing, public health, and other allied health fields
*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters
*provides full text for 1300 journals, legal cases, and clinical trials
*covers topics in nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, public health and radiology
*covers items published from 1937 to the present
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.

The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis

The database aggregates open content from ProQuest with content made freely availableby members of the International Association of STM Publishers. Notable publishers contributing to the Coronavirus Research Database include Public Library of Science, BioMed Central, MDPI AG, Springer Nature Publisher Group, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ. Preprint servers include arXiv.org and BioRxiv.
eBook Collection: EBSCO (Medical Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 2,000 ebooks focusing on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas.
Designed for use in clinical settings, medical libraries and academic medical institutions, a subscription to EBSCO Health's eBook Medical Collection offers nearly 2,000 hand-selected, quality titles that focus on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas.

*Download options are available on your personal computer for transfer to a mobile device. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
F1000 Research This link opens in a new window
Open Research publishing platform for life scientists, offering immediate publication of articles and other research outputs without editorial bias. All articles benefit from transparent refereeing and the inclusion of all source data
F1000Research publishes articles and other research outputs (e.g. posters and slides) reporting basic scientific, translational and clinical research within the life sciences and medicine. F1000Research is a scholarly publication platform set up for the scientific research community; each article has at least one author who is a qualified researcher or clinician actively working in the life sciences and who has made a key contribution to the article.

Articles must be original (not duplications). All research is suitable irrespective of the perceived level of interest or novelty; we welcome confirmatory and negative results, as well as null studies. F1000Research publishes different type of research, including clinical trials, systematic reviews, software tools, method articles, and many others. Reviews and Opinion articles providing a balanced and comprehensive overview of the latest discoveries in a particular field, or presenting a personal perspective on recent developments, are also welcome.

F1000Research is an Open Science platform: all articles are published open access; the publishing and peer review processes are fully transparent; and authors are asked to include detailed descriptions of methods and to provide full and easy access to source data underlying the results to improve reproducibility.

F1000 Faculty Reviews are commissioned from members of the prestigious F1000 Faculty. Peer review is fully transparent (the referees are listed on the article), but it takes place before publication and only the final version is published.

F1000Research also publishes other research outputs, collectively called documents, such as policies, guidelines, workflows and others, that vary in formats and often differ from traditional scholarly publications. They are always linked to a specific collection (see below) and published by researchers associated with a collection as a service to the wider research community.

Posters, slides and documents are not peer reviewed and do not appear in bibliographic databases such as PubMed.
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medicine, nutrition, fitness, public health
* lists citations and summaries of articles and entire text of some articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, and reference books

*covers fitness, medicine, nutrition, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs

*covers items published in the last four years

*included are:

health/medical journals
health care general interest publications
topical overviews from Clinical Reference Systems
PDR Family Guides
Gale encyclopedias
other reference sources
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing and personal health
Provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics for students, consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Includes full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries to ensure that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.

*Integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books

*provides access to personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals
Health Source: Academic Nursing Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing, medical, and drug information
*provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines

*features access to the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names
Healthy People This link opens in a new window
Interactive data tool, allows users to search and explore data and technical information related to the Healthy People 2030 objectives.
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to:

-Encourage collaborations across communities and sectors.
-Empower individuals toward making informed health decisions.
-Measure the impact of prevention activities.

Introducing Healthy People 2030

Healthy People 2030 continues in this tradition with the launch on December 2, 2020 of its ambitious, yet achievable, 10-year agenda for improving the Nation’s health. Healthy People 2030 is the result of a multiyear process that reflects input from a diverse group of individuals and organizations.

Healthy People 2030 strives to:

-Identify nationwide health improvement priorities.
-Increase public awareness and understanding of the determinants of health, disease, and disability and the opportunities for progress.
- Provide measurable objectives and goals that are applicable at the national, State, and local levels.
-Engage multiple sectors to take actions to strengthen policies and improve practices that are driven by the best available evidence and knowledge.
-Identify critical research, evaluation, and data collection needs.
National Data

DATA2030 allows users to explore the latest national data and trends that are available for Healthy People 2030 objectives. Users can further examine the data that are available for demographic population groups such as race and ethnicity, sex, educational attainment, and income, as well as other groups.

Users can search the available data for Healthy People 2030 objectives by Topic Area and/or data source using the Data Search feature. Users can further refine their search to data that are available for demographic population groups of interest. Users can also choose to display Standard Error and Confidence Intervals where available in search results.

Planning is now underway for Healthy People 2040!
MedLine Plus This link opens in a new window
Health, Medicine, Diseases, Wellness, Nursing, and Treatments
*MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

*MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations.

*You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
MedPix This link opens in a new window
Medical image database with over 59,000 indexed and curated images, from over 12,000 patients.
MedPix (provided by the National Library of Medicine) is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. The primary target audience includes physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, nursing students and others interested in medical knowledge.

The content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors, and many other search options.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing, public health, and other allied health fields
*Provides full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines

*Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975

*Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals on Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
Covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine with a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology
*Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology

*May include material in related disciplines: medicine, education, and social work

*Includes articles from 1872 to present; books from 1987 to present

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Published international literature on traumatic stress and PTSD
PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.

PTSDpubs has unique features that set it apart from other databases. This database offers:

*A custom PTSD and trauma focused thesaurus to help you create a precise search. This unique thesaurus includes specific PTSD symptoms, like hypervigilance, as well as terms such as PTSD (DSM-5) and PTSD (ICD-11) to help you search by diagnostic criteria.
*A detailed listing of tests and measures. Each record in PTSDpubs lists all instruments used within the publication, and you can search for publications that use a specific test or measure.
*A comprehensive range of publication types, including journal articles, books, reports, newsletters, and dissertations.
*Cross-disciplinary coverage of all publications relevant to PTSD and psychological trauma. PTSDpubs does not limit its coverage to selected journals, but tries to include all relevant publications.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medicine, nursing, dentistry
*Lists citations and summaries of journal articles

*Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and preclinical sciences

*Covers items published from 1966

"Search for Full-Text @ APSU" option is available from the abstract view of each citation
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to over 900 peer-reviewed, full-text journals on a variety of topics, with content dating back to 1999.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.
Science Direct College Edition Journal Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals covering Social Sciences, Humanities, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Science, and Engineering
*Contains over 1800 full text, peer reviewed journals

*Provides articles from journals in Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

*Dates available include issues from the current year back to 1995 for most titles
Science Topics This link opens in a new window
Get background information on your topic.
Use this database for quick definitions and overviews of different terms. It is a cross between an encyclopedia and a dictionary. You will see snippets from related ScienceDirect books (but APSU does not own access to the full-text chapters for most of these titles).
These pages provide concept definitions and subject overviews for researchers who want to expand their knowledge about scholarly and technical terms.

Each synopsis provides a series of short, authoritative, excerpts from highly relevant book chapters written by subject matter experts in the field.

These topic summaries are derived from Elsevier encyclopedias, reference works and books.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online videos in fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and more
*Developed through an exclusive partnership with Healthy Learning, the world's leading producer of sports medicine videos, the collection features an array of internationally renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dieticians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine.

*Titles in the collection have been approved for educational use by several prestigious professional organizations, including the American College of Sports Medicine, the National Athletic Trainers Association, the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, the American Council on Exercise, the National Strength and Conditioning Association, and the Medical Fitness Association.
Springer Nature Online Journals (LYRASIS Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals from science related fields, philosophy, and business
The Springer eJournal collection includes over 2500 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.
APSU is one of the 120 institutions the are participating in the transformative agreement between Springer Nature and Lyrasis. This means means that authors affiliated with APSU are eligible to publish their articles open access with fees covered in hybrid journals across the Springer Nature portfolio. See the list of APSU transformative agreements for more information.
STAT!Ref Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical dictionaries, manuals, textbooks
*Full text electronic version of medical dictionaries, manuals and textbooks focused on the subject of nursing.

Title List:
AACN Procedure Manual for High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care - 7th Ed. (2017)
AAFP Conditions A-Z (2020)
Access Device Standards of Practice for Oncology Nursing (2017)
Complementary and Alternative Therapies in Nursing - 8th Ed. (2018)
Cultural and Religious Sensitivity: A Pocket Guide for Health Care Professionals - 3rd Ed. (2018)
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications - 8th Ed. (2019)
Davis's Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual - 6th Ed. (2019)
Davis's Drug Guide For Nurses® - 17th Ed. (2021)
EBMcalc Complete Edition
Essentials of Perioperative Nursing - 6th Ed. (2017)
Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education - 6th Ed. (2021)
Evidence Alerts
Fundamental & Advanced Nursing Skills - 3rd Ed. (2010)
High-Risk & Critical Care Obstetrics - 4th Ed. (2019)
ICD-10-CM: Clinical Modification (2020)
ICD-10-PCS: Procedure Coding System (2020)
Integration of Palliative Care in Chronic Conditions: An Interdisciplinary Approach (2017)
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice - 11th Ed. (2019)
Lippincott Nursing Procedures - 8th Ed. (2019)
Maternal Newborn Nursing Care Plans - 3rd Ed. (2016)
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research - 5th Ed. (2017)
Merck Manual Consumer Version
Nurse's Pocket Guide: Diagnoses, Prioritized Interventions, and Rationales - 14th Ed. (2016)
Nursing Care Plans: Transitional Patient & Family Centered Care - 7th Ed (2017)
Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual, Sparks & Taylor's - 10th Ed. (2017)
Outcome Assessment in Advanced Practice Nursing - 4th Ed. (2017)
Pediatric Nursing: Caring for Children and Their Families - 3rd Ed. (2012)
Perinatal Nursing - 5th Ed. (2021)
Psychiatric Nursing: Assessment, Care Plans, and Medications - 9th Ed. (2015)
Stedman's Medical Dictionary (2016)
Thomson Reuters News Alerts
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care - 3rd Ed. (2021)
Trip Database This link opens in a new window
Medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine (EBM) and clinical guidelines, including content from Cochrane and Bandolier.
Note: When APSU is selected as your institution in account settings, search for full-text links are provided underneath search results for articles.

Initially, Trip stood for Turning Research Into Practice. Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content.

As well as research evidence, Trip also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science, technology, and medicine
*Lists citations for millions of articles and full-text from over 200 periodicals

*Covers science, technology, medicine, and humanities

*Contains articles from 1996 to date

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

General Resources may also contain many useful articles or other types of information on your topic.
Click the link below for a complete list of General Resources.

General Article Databases (All Subjects)
by Michael Hooper Last Updated May 22, 2024 526 views this year

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.