New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources 2023: July 2023

In addition to proprietary essays, photographs, graphs and charts, Exploring Race in Society includes:
* Thousands of full-text articles from academic journals
* Government agency reports curated and provided by HeinOnline
* Full-text articles, primary source documents and speeches from BlackPast, a leading source on African American history and experience
*Journal content covering issues related to race, including those of Indigenous communities

Designed for high school and undergraduate students, Exploring Race in Society provides context and solutions-oriented points of view within a scholarly collection of proprietary and licensed content on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Proprietary essays are written by a diverse group of writers representing the fields of academia, journalism, medicine, and other disciplines working to address issues related to race. These essays, which are reviewed by third-party subject-matter experts, provide today’s students with a deeper understanding of how current issues stem from actions and policies of the past.

Researchers will also find valuable related content from scholarly academic journals, government agencies and nonprofit organizations that are conducting research, creating educational materials, and/or providing programs related to solving issues.

Topics Include:

Affirmative Action
Black Lives Matter Movement
COVID-19 and Communities of Color
Digital Divide
Environmental Racism and Environmental Justice
Food Insecurity
Neighborhood Gentrification
Police Use of Force
School-to-Prison Pipeline
Sports Team Branding Changes
Voting Rights and Voter Suppression
Wealth Gap

The most recent articles from the New York Times (up to present) are available in HTML format through Gale Academic OneFile. This database offers full-page images and article images from the New York Times dating back to 1851 (called New York daily times, 1851-1857). Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. It provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

It also allows searching using the Times Index 1851-1993. Please click on "Topics" tab within the interface.

KNOWN AS “AMERICA’S NEWSPAPER” for more than a century, The New York Times has also commanded international readership. The
world news and personal stories captured by this Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper for nearly 170 years are available online from ProQuest so
researchers anywhere can browse and search the digitized pages of this definitive record of the day.

From the digitized pages of The New York Times explore the:
• Arrival of immigrants to America’s shores
• Rise and fall of global financial markets
• Introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and
medical innovations
• Causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s to the war on terrorism in
this century
• From Beijing to Bangalore, nearly 30,000 graduate works spanning 40
countries have referenced The New York Times since 2000 in the ProQuest
Dissertations & Theses Global database, citing critical findings from its pages
on topics as diverse as music, management, anthropology, computer science,
military history, and more

Curriculum Focus:
• Culture
• Economics
• History
• Human Development
• International Studies
• Journalism
• Media Studies
• Political Science
• Science and Technology
• Sports

*America's News (2021 edition) provides browsing and searchable full-text for over 3000 newspapers and news broadcasts from across the United States

*contains the full text of articles appearing in some Tennessee newspapers and newswires

*covers local, state, and regional topics

*includes archives and current articles for most titles