LibGuides: Music Therapy Research Guide: Books & eBooks

Music Therapy Locations: Library of Congress Classification (LCC) Call Numbers

Try these call numbers when browsing the library shelves for music therapy titles:

Call Numbers for Music Therapy Materials
Call Number	Subject Area
ML 3820	Physiological aspects of music
ML 3830	Psychology of music
ML 3920	Music therapy
MT 17	Music in special education
RC 480	Therapeutics. Psychotherapy

Find Books and Videos

Interested in physically browsing our book collection for books on music? Go to the General Collection, Reference Collection, Video Collection, or New Books Shelf (2nd & 3rd floors) of Woodward Library and look up the following call number ranges.

Please Note: this list does not represent all titles or subjects of interest available for research in music. Consult the library's online catalog, Austin, for additional areas of interest.

Library of Congress (LC) Call Numbers

CLASS M : MUSIC SCORES

M1 - M4 MISC. COLLECTIONS

M3 - M3.1 Coll. wks of individual composers

M5 - M1490 INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC

M6 - M175.5 Solo instruments

M6 - M39 Keyboard

M40 - M59 Strings

M60 - M111 Winds

M115 - M142 Plucked

M142 - M175.5 Percussion, other

M177- M990 Two or more solo instruments

M180 - M298 Duets

M300 - M386 Trios

M400, M500, etc. Quartets, quintets, etc.

M1000 - M1075 Orchestra

M1100 - M1160 String orchestra

M1200 - M1366 Bands, jazz & other ensembles

M1375 - M1490 Misc. types, ensembles

M1495 - M2199 VOCAL MUSIC

M1497 - M1998 Secular vocal music

M1500 - M1527 Operas, ballets, etc.

M1528 - M1610 Part songs, choruses

M1611 - M1624 Songs, lieder, etc. *

M1627 - M1853 National/world music *

M1900 - M1985 Misc. secular vocal *

M1990 - M1998 Sacred vocal music

M2000 - M2017 Oratorios, masses, etc.

M2020 - M2101 Choruses, part songs, etc.

M2102 - M2114 Sacred songs

M2115 - M2199 Hymnals, liturgical works *

CLASS ML : BOOKS ON MUSIC (selections)

ML47 - ML54 Librettos, song/choral texts

ML159 - ML360 History, by period or country

ML410 Biographies of composers

ML459 - ML1380 Instruments and instr. music

ML1400 - ML3275 Vocal music

ML3544 - ML3775 National/world music

ML3800 - ML3923 social aspects, physics, physiological

CLASS MT : MUSICAL INSTRUCTION AND STUDY

MT1 - MT5 General music education

MT5.5 - MT7 Music theory

MT40 - MT67 Composition, musical forms

MT90 - MT146 Analysis, appreciation

MT170 -MT810 Instrumental techniques *

MT180 - MT255 Keyboard

MT259 - MT338 Strings

MT339 - MT533 Winds

MT539 - MT654 Plucked

MT655 - MT725 Percussion, other

MT728 - MT733 Ensembles, orchestra

MT740 - MT810 Techniques for children

MT820 - MT915 Singing and vocal techniques

MT918 - MT948 School music

MT955 - MT956 Musical theater

For a complete listing of all LC Call Numbers, go to the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search libraries around the world
*WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries near your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many kinds of digital content.

*This edition of WorldCat, provided through OCLC FirstSearch, enables users to search multiple terms in specific fields (title, author, subject, etc.) and limit by characteristics such as format, date, or audience level.

A free version is available at http://www.worldcat.org/

Resources with Electronic Books

Many of the books in these collections will appear in search results from the catalog search above. They may also be searched individually using the links provided below.

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of Electronic Books on various subjects
*The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection is comprised of all the electronic titles from the publisher ABC-CLIO for which Austin Peay State University has purchased access.

*The "Search" option in the upper-left enables you to search through the text in all the listed volumes.

*You can also can click on any individual title to browse the contents or conduct a search.
eBook Collection: EBSCO (Academic Collection, TBR subject collections, and titles formerly in NetLibray COMBINED) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*This growing subscription package (EBSCO Academic collection) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 161,000 titles are included in this package, and additional titles are added to the package each month. Also included in this collection are thousands of previously purchased NetLibrary eBooks from the SoliNet shared collections. NetLibrary was purchased by EBSCO in 2010.

*Books in the Academic Collection have unlimited access and many can be downloaded for offline viewing. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic Book Collection containing over 134,000 titles as of October 2016. All titles can be viewed online and most downloaded to PC, iOS, or Android.
*Formerly known as ebrary, eBook Central (Academic Complete) is a collection of around 134,000 electronic books provided by Felix G. Woodward Library. The content for this collection covers a wide variety of subject areas and all the titles within this collection can be searched simultaneously. Access is provided to these titles through the link above as well as through the Austin Library Catalog.

Most eBook Central titles include unlimited access and can be downloaded by chapter in PDF format or in full through Adobe Digital Editions or apps for iOS and Android. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebrary for more info.

Around 300 titles may have limited access and only allow 1 user to open the the book at a time (download option not available). Follow the guidelines at the bottom of this text for these titles*.

*There is no time limit for reading a limited ebrary book. However, if another user wants to use the book and places it in their queue, it will be passed on to the next user in the queue after 15 minutes of inactivity. (Being active means turning pages, doing full-text searches, making notes, etc).
Education Collection (ASCD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education and Professional Development eBooks from ASCD
*Collection of 66 electronic books from the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD)

*covers titles that address the ongoing professional development needs of today's educators

*individual chapters can be printed, downloaded, and e-mailed

*citations can be exported in MLA and APA format
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America from 1473-1700
*contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America

*Date range for publications is 1473-1700.

*includes prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources

*Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Electronic Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of online electronic books
*Electronic Books is an OCLC catalog of online electronic books cataloged by OCLC members and available through libraries worldwide

*Dates Covered: All cataloged ebooks to the present

*Titles Covered: Over 665,000 books in the database.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects (Encyclopedias & Reference)
*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.

*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource
Online Books Page This link opens in a new window
All subjects
*Website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all. It lists over 30,000 free books on the Web.
World Book Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia
*World Book Online provides access to the following sections:

Early Learning,

World Book Kids,

World Book Discover,

World Book Student,

World Book Advanced,

World Book Timelines,

World Book EBooks,

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos