Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Managers: Import from Library Databases

Manual Import of Citations from a Database

Very few research databases offer a direct export option for Mendeley or Zotero. EBSCO databases do have a direct export option available for EndNote Online, but many databases do not. Most citation managers offer alternative import methods such as browser plugins or the "drag and drop" of PDF files (see tutorials below), but many times you will need to manually export your references as a text file formatted as either RIS or BibTeX. You can then import these saved files into your chosen citation manager.

In a library database:

  1. Run a search on your topic in a database and mark one or more references of interest.
  2. Look for "export" or "save" or "citation" in the database's options (the terminology varies by database).
  3. Select the "RIS Format" (sometimes called Reference Manager or Ref Man format) option as your method of export. Alternatively, you may find the "BibTeX Format" as an export option.
  4. Save the export file to your computer desktop or download folder so you can find it again.

In your chosen citation manager:

Follow the import instructions for EndNote Online, Mendeley, or Zotero.

Citation Manager Video Tutorials Showing Various Import Options

Mendeley import options

Zotero alternatives to manual import (from GSU Library)

EndNote Online methods to import citations from databases and Google Scholar (from GMIT Libraries)

Have Questions about RefWorks?

Profile Photo
Michael Hooper
he/him/his
Contact:
Library 117
931-221-7092

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.