LibGuides: New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources (2020): February 2020

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication

The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication is now available to APSU users from both on campus and remote locations.

The ACS Guide is a great resource for best practices in scholarly communication for science, technology, and math disciplines. The guide not only covers the ACS citation style format, but deals with data, copyright issues, and details like table formatting and how to organize your research article.

Sections new to the 2020 ACS Guide include the following:

Different Ways Scientists Communicate
Communicating Safety Information
Intellectual Property
Open Access
Chemistry Preprints
Writing About Your Research: Best Practices
Selecting a Scientific Journal
Submission Procedures
Post submission Procedures
Data in the Google Era

The previous ACS Style Guide was last updated in 2012; the new ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication came out January 2020 and will be updated regularly with new content. Additional content coming out this year will cover effective PowerPoint presentations and presenting research posters. Next year, content is already planned on digital biological data, patents, and communicating research for funding.

You can get to the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication from A-Z List of Databases, the Chemistry Research Guide, and the Chemical Engineering Research Guide.

American Drama,1714–1915‎ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text of over 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth.
Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century, American Drama 1714–1915 is the largest electronic collection of American dramatic writing of its kind. It provides literary researchers and historians with a comprehensive survey of American dramaturgy from its origins up to the era of sensational melodrama and manners comedy exemplified by the work of such playwrights as David Belasco, Clyde Fitch and William Vaughn Moody.

Early landmark texts represented in the collection include Robert Hunter's satire Androboros (1714), the earliest printed American play, and Thomas Godfrey's tragedy The Prince of Parthia (1765), the first American play professionally performed on an American stage. Highlights from the nineteenth century include George Aiken's stage adaptation of Uncle Tom's Cabin, one of the most popular dramatic works of its period both in America and Europe, The Escape; or, A Leap for Freedom (1857) by William Wells Brown, and The Octoroon (1859), widely recognized as Dion Boucicault's most important American-themed play.

American Drama 1714–1915 provides exhaustive coverage of the printed record of African American drama to 1915, allowing users to cross-search plays by Ira Aldridge, William Wells Brown, F. B. Coffin, Will Marion Cook, Paul Laurence Dunbar, W. E. B. Du Bois, Pauline E. Hopkins, Jesse Shipp and Katherine Davis Chapman Tillman with the complete canon of American drama.

Frequently-studied plays by major dramatists are placed in the context provided by the dramatic writings of lesser-known contemporaries and canonical authors not primarily remembered for their dramatic works, such as Louisa May Alcott and Emma Lazarus.
English Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century - the likely date of the Shrewsbury Fragments - to the early twentieth. It offers exhaustive coverage of the prodigious dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas. In addition to works by major dramatists such as Ben Jonson, Aphra Behn, William Wycherley, Oliver Goldsmith, Richard Sheridan, Oscar Wilde and J. M. Synge, English Drama includes the dramatic writings of many more neglected writers long inaccessible in print form.
Contemporary World Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context, including 1000 contemporary plays from 2000 to present day
This collection examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. Contemporary World Drama brings together new work from our existing playwright partners alongside work from up-and-coming playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent.
Twentieth-Century Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bringing together an unparalleled collection of the most important works from the last century from the English-speaking world, Twentieth-Century Drama features plays from over 300 noted playwrights and lesser known dramatists from 1890 to 2008.
Twentieth-Century Drama contains the essential collection of published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day. The collection's contents range from canonical authors such as George Bernard Shaw, Langston Hughes, Sean O'Casey, Noël Coward, Eugene O'Neill, Harold Pinter, Neil Simon, Tom Stoppard and Thornton Wilder, to off-Broadway experimentation and South African township theatre.

No other electronic collection offers such diversity: Twentieth-Century Drama is a truly global collection, containing an extensive collection of play texts by over 300 principal authors from North America and Canada, Britain and Ireland, India, Africa, Australia and the Caribbean. The collection's breadth of content and powerful search options allow users to open up connections between classic plays such as Bernard Shaw's Saint Joan (1923), Thornton Wilder's Our Town (1938), August Wilson's Ma Rainey's Black Bottom (1984), David Mamet's Speed-the-Plow (1987), Harold Pinter's The Homecoming (1965) or Brian Friel's Dancing at Lughnasa (1990) and less well-known texts drawn from the full range of modern theatrical traditions. Areas such as postcolonial writing, women's theatre, and community theatre are given full representation, and Naturalist, Expressionist and absurdist works appear alongside popular comedies, melodramas, farces and thrillers.
Drama Texts Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource is a foundational collection of dramatic texts with full-text for over 14,000 plays that provides a search of multiple drama collections
Drama Texts Collection allows you to search the following Alexander Street Drama Collections simultaneously:

• American Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)
• Asian American Drama
• Black Drama, 3rd Edition
• Contemporary World Drama
• English Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)
• Latin American Drama
• North American Indian Drama, 2nd Edition
• North American Women’s Drama, 2nd Edition
• Twentieth Century Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)
• Twentieth Century North American Drama, 2nd Edition

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases