It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comprehensive Business Database with Full-text Journals
*ABI/INFORM Complete is the most comprehensive business database on the market. Offering much more than journal content, this diverse solution provides the right mix of content types to meet the needs of any business researcher. It provides over 6,800 journals (nearly 80% of which are in full-text).
*ABI/INFORM Complete covers key disciplines such as: Accounting, Economics, Finance, Information Technology, Management, Marketing, Operations, Real Estate, Risk Management, and Supply Chain. ABI/INFORM also offers coverage on hundreds of industries and focus areas such as oil, gas, mining, energy, environment, and healthcare management, and has an ever growing range of content from around the globe.
*Among the key titles included in ABI/INFORM Complete are: The Wall Street Journal (exclusive), Financial Times (exclusive), The Economist, Barron’s, Advertising Age, SSRN Working Papers, MIT Sloan Management Review (exclusive), The China Quarterly (exclusive), Management Decision (exclusive), Journal of International Business Studies (exclusive), and thousands more!
*Business Insights: Essentials features a completely updated, intuitive user interface that makes it easy for users to access in-depth information on U.S. and international businesses, industries and products. Users will be able to:
*Easily research companies, industries and business topics in the context of timely news and reports (See Company Finder)
*Instantly analyze and compare financial and statistical data with interactive charting tools (See Comparison Charts)
*Utilize data from Gale staple publications, including International Directory of Company Histories, Market Share Reporter, Business Rankings Annual, Encyclopedia of American Industries and many others
*Access company profiles and industry rankings, as well as brand and product information (See Industries)
*Access SWOT reports, fi nancial analysis tools, business associations, investment reports and market research reports
Subsumes content from General Business File ASAP and Business Index ASAP
Coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, business theory and practice
Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Gale will merge PROMT, European Business ASAP, Business Index ASAP, Business & Company ASAP, General Business File, Business International & Company Profiles into a single database called InfoTrac Business Collection.
This new consolidated database will comprise nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications from international, US and regional news sources.
Get insights, tips, strategies, and success stories from academic journals and magazines, including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, and more.
*Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
*The Small Business Collection is just a subset of magazines and journals available through Academic OneFile, but for those just seeking sources related to small business, this smaller collection may be easier to search because it will provide more focused results.
Find journal articles, books, and theses on any subject
Use this link to access Google Scholar and links to "Search for Full Text at APSU Library" will be available in the search results.
Features of Google Scholar:
*Search all scholarly literature from one convenient place
*Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications
*Locate the complete document through your library or on the web
*Keep up with recent developments in any area of research
*Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile
Article about using a theoretical framework for your research.
Plan Your Search Strategy before Searching
Plan your search strategy carefully before you begin typing words.
Do you want to start broad and then sift through lots of results? Do you prefer starting with a small number of precise results, then use each article's list of article references to broaden retrieval?
Broad - Use All or Full Text search which looks throughout the record and full-text article
Less Broad - Use Keyword search limiting to title, abstract and subject headings
Most Precise - (fewest results) Use Subject search limiting to subject headings
Tips for Finding Resources
Start with a specific topic & broaden or narrow as necessary
Use different words/synonyms to describe your topic (different finding tools may use different words/phrases to describe your topic)
Keep a list of keywords and phrases used in each database. When possible, print a copy of your search history from each database
Check the database thesaurus or subject terms to find the terms peculiar to that database
Search by keyword
Use quotation marks " " for a specific phrase: "literature review"
Truncate your search term (famil* finds family, families, familial)
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR) to combine concepts
Limit sources by format and material type
Use subjects assigned to one source to find other sources
Use the references at the end of an article to find other articles
Use the term “Literature Reviews” combined with your topic
Find Secondary Sources (Books and Journal Articles)
Use the Business Research Guide to find, access, manage, and organize your sources. Under the Article Database tab you will find business-related databases (e.g., ABI/INFORM Complete) to search. There are several tabs in the Electronic Resources section if you need company, financial, or statistical information for your research.
NOTE: Remember to use a citation manager like EndNote, Zotero, or Mendeley to capture citation information for sources that you find as you are searching a database. Citations may be exported into citation managers from the database as you are conducting your search.