This is the "Get Started" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music  

This Guide will help you find scholarly resources for researching a topic in your Music courses.
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2014 URL: http://libguides.apsu.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find full-text articles, streaming videos, and e-books

Start your research by clicking on the Article Databases Tab to view a list of e-resources for this subject.

 

New Books in the Music Collection

Books in the subject of Music (call numbers beginning with M) are located on the 3rd floor.

Cover Art
Beethoven's Chamber Music in Context - Angus Watson
Call Number: ML410 .B4 W265 2012
ISBN: 9781843837169
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
DVD: The empowered choral rehearsal: a masterclass for conductors and choral singers with James Jordan and the Westminster Williamson Voices - Simon Carrington.
Call Number: MT875 .C37 2010
ISBN: 9780226768137
Publication Date: 2010
The DVD comes with a detailed printed outline of the content as well as a discussion between Simon Carrington and James Jordan regarding choral rehearsal procedure.

Cover Art
Hans Von Bulow's Letters to Johannes Brahms - Hinrichsen
Call Number: ML422.B9 A413 2012
ISBN: 9780810882157
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The Library of Children's Song Classics - Amy Appleby
Call Number: M1997 .L626 1993
ISBN: 9780825613586
An illustrated volume of storybook and holiday songs, lullabies, marches, and rounds. Easy-to-read lyrics, piano arrangements, and guitar chords.

Related Guides or Course Specific Info May Be Available

Browse APSU Research Guides
by Michael Hooper - Last Updated Feb 13, 2014
Browse guides by subject, source type, research level, or specific course
6,376 views this year

Get Writing Support

The Writing Center is located on the main floor of the Library, just past the Research Assistance Desk.

The Center provides FREE writing support to APSU students.  Tutors work one-on-one with students on any paper.

  • APSU Writing Center
    Visit the website to schedule an appointment with a tutor or submit a paper for online review.
 

Music Research Guide

MozartLouis ArmstrongAPSU choir

Welcome to the Woodward Library Research Guide for Music.  Here you will find links to databases with journal articles, a music encyclopedia, streaming audio for classical music, and online videos.  

Please contact me using the information at the right if you have questions concerning any of the resources provided in this guide.  If you have ideas about resources to add to this guide, please use the feedback form at the bottom of this page.

Tips:

  • Call numbers for books covering Music begin with M, ML, or MT and are located in the Reference Stacks and General Book Collection.
  • Most research in Music should start with books.  For specific topics, journal articles are also useful.
  • Journal articles for Music Education are also covered in the ERIC database.
  • Recordings are housed in the Music Listening Lab (MMC 236).

Mobile version availableOn the Go? Get this guide on your Mobile device.

 

Watch Todd Hill & His Orchestra perform

Todd Hill & His Orchestra performing "A Night in Tunisia" during the Clarksville Community Concert Association's 2009-2010 Community Concert Series at the APSU MMC Concert Hall.  View the CCCA website for the current concert schedule.

 

Learn about a Legendary Musician

Van Cliburn (1934-2013) is an American hero. He has been hailed as one of the most persuasive ambassadors of American culture, as well as one of the greatest pianists in the history of music. With his historic 1958 victory at the first International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, at the height of the Cold War, Van Cliburn tore down cultural barriers years ahead of glasnost and perestroika, transcending politics by demonstrating the universality of classical music.

 

What do you think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Electronic Resources Librarian

Profile Image
Michael Hooper
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Office: Library 324
Phone: 931-221-7092
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Psychology
My favorite books are:
The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings series by J. R. R. Tolkien
 

Ask A Librarian


To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options please visit the Ask A Librarian Page

 

Listen & Watch

 
Listen to Streaming Audio
Watch Streaming Video

Every two weeks, Alexander Street offers a free music download from Classical Music Library (mp3 or wma formats available).

Classical Music Library gives you the ability to save your favorite tracks in a play-list and share it with others.

Citing Sources

Research Appointment

APSU undergraduate and graduate students may schedule a consultation with a Librarian to obtain assistance with your in-depth research or thesis topic.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip