LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 to 2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies, History
*Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life

*This resource examines perspectives on women’s social movements from colonial times to the present

*Includes primary documents, published materials, and research tools
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies
*Coverage includes more than 489,600 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present

*Covers areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education

*Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases

Women's and Gender Studies Resources for Research

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women’s lives across the globe
This database offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
Digital collections of primary sources on the history of women in the US
*simplifies access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States

*collections range from Abigail Franks' letters to her son from the 1730s to the late 20th century

*researchers can browse the database by subject (150+ entries), place (i.e., states), time period, and primary source type.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals on Diversity
Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals on Gender Studies
Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
LGBTQ+ Rights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Materials relating to the gay rights movement in America from 1950 until present day, including an interactive timeline and subject-coded court cases
To continue honoring its core value of corporate citizenship, HeinOnline presents its newest addition to the Social Justice Suite, LGBTQ+ Rights. This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations. A separate subcollection, Historical Attitudes and Analysis, presents books, pamphlets, reports, and more from the 18th century through the mid-20th century. Content in this subcollection includes accounts of individuals criminally tried for their sexuality to attempts to find a medical cause for homosexuality.

This collection is rounded out by a curated list of Scholarly Articles selected by Hein editors, as well as a Bibliography of titles to launch your research outside of HeinOnline. Finally, an interactive timeline, incorporating documents from HeinOnline with other media from around the internet, plots out an overview of LGBTQ rights in America from 1950 to the present day, helping to demonstrate the relevancy of the content within the database to the real-world events to which they are connected.

Throughout the LGBTQ+ Rights database, users may encounter items and viewpoints that they find offensive. These items are included in order to properly foster dialogue and to fully understand both the progress our society has made and the inequalities that still exist today. For all the triumphs and hard-fought victories of the gay rights movement, LGBTQ individuals today still face barriers to living openly without discrimination, both in the United States and around the world.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender resources
LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books.

The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.

*Full text content available includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, TANGENTS, Washington Blade, and many more
LGBT Studies: Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of primary sources related to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender studies
Gay and lesbian publications and the personal papers of Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin, and Donald Stewart Lucas provide the basis of an in depth study of LGBT issues and reflect activism across the US in the 20th century that led to emerging changes taking place today.
Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies, History
*Brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts

*The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society

*Spanning 1750 to 1950, the database is particularly strong in nineteenth-century material
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections for the 19th Century (All 12 archives available)
APSU Library has acquired the twelve Archives in this collection published as of 2015. They are:

1. Asia and the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange (including US State Department Consular & Diplomatic Records, British Foreign Office Political Correspondence regarding Japan, missionary journals and correspondence).

2. British Politics & Society (including coverage of major political figures, working class radicalism, the Oxford Movement, etc.)

3. British Theatre, Music & Literature: High and Popular Culture (including British Playbills, 1754-1882; Drury Lane Theatre Archive)

4. Children's Literature and Childhood (provides a wide range of primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century)

5. Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest (including Colonial, Foreign, and War Offices Papers on Africa; personal narratives of African exploration)

6. European Literature, 1790-184: The Corvey Collection (includes 18,000 volumes with a particular focus on the British Romantic Era, plus thousands of works in French and German)

7. Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature

8. Photography: The World through the Lens (including The Photographic News from 1858 to 1908 and selections from the Photographic Collection of the British Colonial Office)

9. Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform

10. Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925 (including a collection of American Medical Periodicals from 1797-1900 and a collection of 600 monographs on “Evolution and the Origin of Species”)

11. Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II

12. Women: Transnational Networks (includes manuscripts from the Mary Braddon Archive, manuscript Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and a collection of Quaker Women’s Diaries from the 18th and 19th Centuries)
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, Women's studies, History
*Provides the full text of 1,500 plays written from colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada

*Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays

*The database covers the campaign for voting rights, including propaganda plays, as well as the growing crusade for women’s access to higher education and inclusion in various professions
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's studies, History
*Includes approximately 150,000 pages of letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 7,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts

*Material is drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings

*The writings provide a detailed record of what women wore, what they ate, what they read, the conditions under which they worked, and how they amused themselves
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History, Native Americans, Sociology, Women's Studies
*Combines all of the content from Alexander Street’s seven award-winning collections of letters, diaries, and oral histories together with a growing archive of additional content

*Combined, the materials in this vast collection offer something entirely new and critically important for history research—personal, contemporaneous, first-person accounts
Brought together under a unified search interface is all the premium content from the following Alexander Street individual collections:
• North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
• Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries (from the American Antiquarian Society)
• British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries
• The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
• North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
• Black Thought and Culture
Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA) This link opens in a new window
Digital repository of Tennessee history and culture
The Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA), is a digital repository of Tennessee history and culture. The mission of the creators of this resource (Tennessee State Library & Archives) is to bring digital versions of the state's rich historical records to a wider audience. New items are added on a regular basis, including photographs, documents, maps, postcards, moving images, audio and more.
Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary sources tracing the path of women’s issues from the nineteenth to twentieth centuries
As the first in the Women’s Studies archive, this collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights.

As a comprehensive academic-level archival resource, Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities will focus on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.

Content will include approximately one million never-before-digitized pages of primary source material, all aligned with women’s studies.

Much of history is one-sided, mainly focused on the male perspective; women's voices are not often heard. Women's Issues and Identities provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. Offering coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, Women's Issues and Identities allows for the serendipitous discovery of commonalities among a variety of archival collections.

Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Women's Issues and Identities spans multiple geographic regions, providing a variety of perspectives on women's experiences and cultural impact. Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies
*Coverage includes more than 489,600 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present

*Covers areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education

*Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 to 2000 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies, History
*Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life

*This resource examines perspectives on women’s social movements from colonial times to the present

*Includes primary documents, published materials, and research tools

Subject Librarian

Jenny Harris

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library 221 (main floor)

Phone: 931-221-7914

Subjects: African American Studies, Education, Women's and Gender Studies

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.